We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Llandudno”
Review of Elsinore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elsinore Hotel
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Llandudno”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Basic room but value for money got what I paid for a room with ensuite, can't complain for £35 per night for double room would.book again and right on the beach but parking around the hotel can be difficult

Room Tip: Cheaper if you don't have a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlknott2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    86
    105
    60
    220
See reviews for
86
232
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Well I could start by saying that, we expected a Red Carpet to be rolled out on our arrival, butler service and our beds turned down at night!! Along with a champagne breakfast.
But I`am guessing if you have read any of the other reviews then you would guess I was lying, but hey for £100 for 3 adults and 1 child in 2 rooms for 1 night, we got what we expected, if you are expecting the Ritz you are going to be disappointed but if you are planning on walking around Llandudno getting in late and leaving early then I don`t see a problem the room was a small white (whitish!!) box, it was warm, had a shower and toilet and the bedding was clean, we got in around a 11pm could not get the TV to work (but that was probably me being a bit tipsy!) so read a book instead no problem, fell asleep woke up in the morning got ready had breakfast (which was on par with most budget hotels) and left, when we saw staff they seemed friendly, in all probably spent all of 2 hours awake in the hotel.
The point i am trying to make is for a 1 night stay its fine if you are not planning on hanging around in the hotel if you need a base and are staying longer then I suggest more than 1 night might be uncomfortable, has they say you pay your money you take your choice! Message to the hotel if you want better reviews and people staying longer than 1 night re-decorate put in wifi make more comfortable ho and get rid of the carpets!! But otherwise thank you for a nice cheap break

Room Tip: Go in sober and ask to see the rooms, I doubt there is a good one so pop next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickastral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night thank god not any longer. The rooms were dirty and very dated and shabby. The only plus point was the location but the whole guest house should be demolished and rebuilt. The breakfast was inedible served by staff who spoke very little English. I think the egg came from the local joke shop made of rubber. It was cheap but far from cheerful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue_wilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

carpets filthy throughtout, someone had been sick on the stairs and the skirting board and no one had bothered to clean it up must have been there ages, room very very small for a double bed was right up against the wall, windows wouldn't open, and it was a terribly hot night,couldnt shower as it was filthy with hair and grime round plug hole, iron burn on carpet, no chairs to sit on . Bar shuts at 9 pm,not at all suitable if you have walking difficulties because of the stairs, breakfast was terrible using the cheapest possible ingedients and tea..overall the scruffiest place we have ever stopped at . And will certainly never stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35BernieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Shabby (e.g. my single glazed windows wouldn't close fully and rattled in the breeze), tired-looking (e.g. stained, tread-bare carpets), basic (forget wif-fi!), and lacking in many of the most basic comforts. However, it reasonably cheap (for a popular resort) and very well located (on the waterfront).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Excellent location on the promenade and the room had a sea view. The bed linen was clean and ironed...that's all I can say on a positive note. The whole hotel looked as though it had not seen a hoover in months - really dirty carpets everywhere with stains in the room and on the stair cases. Mould growing in the shower cubicle and broken fittings. Poor shoddy furniture in the rooms. Service very poor from reception. Do yourself a favour and don't stay here no matter how cheap! I have photographs to show how bad this place is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Lancashire.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here on Saturday night - a last minute booking, as we were going to a party in nearby Deganwy.

First the good points, which won't take long - it was cheap and the location, right on the seafront, is very good. The 'attic box room' had a lovely view of the wind farm out to sea, through the narrow gap between the stuck window and the guttering - and the breakfast was edible. Oh, and to be fair, the staff we encountered were pleasant enough.

BUT, the room was tiny, the bed was about 6 inches off the floor and you could feel the individual bedsprings in your back. The shower was from the Jurassic period and although the bathroom didn't appear dirty it did have a slightly suspect smell about it and was very dingy. All the furniture was ill fitting, sub MFI flatpack and it obviously hadn't been decorated since the war - that's the Boer war.

Needless to say, we won't be darkening the (H)Elsinore doors ever again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsinore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinore Hotel

Property: Elsinore Hotel
Address: Main Promenade St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elsinore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elsinore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsinore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing