We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap hotel”
Review of Elsinore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elsinore Hotel
Ranked #60 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cheap hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we arrived at the hotel to be greeted to wonderful frontage building on sea front we went to reception to be greeted we was given our room key 208 we looked at the room we was expecting the worse after reading previous reviews but price was £30 per room for a couple.
room was outdated fixtures and fittings not really clean.no lift in building for anyone with walking or climbing stairs disabilities staff where friendly now breakfast was very basic pensioner portions do not expect alot

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielsbourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    81
    104
    60
    219
See reviews for
84
231
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What do people expect for £35 for a night bed and breakfast for two. The hotel does need updating but was clean and in a great location. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Breakfast was pretty good for the money with unlimited toast that you helped yourself to.You get what you pay for at the end of the day. If you want better you have to pay more. Would have no problem going back. This hotel is fine for one night it was just somewhere to sleep. How much time do you spend in the rooms anyway?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnecharlie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is in a good location on the promenade(next to The George Hotel) It is in dire need of a major refurbishment.The floor boards creaked and seemed to be loose in the corridor,the lock to the room wasn't very secure and the room needed decorating.The staff seemed friendly enough,and the breakfast wasn't bad either. I was surprised that the bar closed so early at 9pm.....All in all though it suited my requirements for somewhere cheap to put my head down for the night.At £19 I can't really complain too much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrfussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We always use budget hotels wherever we go as we only sleep in them but we have never, until now, found one we refused to sleep in.
My wife and I arrived at the Elsinore with fairly low expectations due to the price we paid but were totally unprepared for what we were offered. On arrival the hotel looked old but tidy although the front garden was a little unkempt. That was all though for as soon as we opened the front door we were greeted with the awful smell of decay and damp. The lobby carpet was badly stained and the fish tank water was so murky I was surprised that the fish could see where they were swimming and didn't keep bumping into each other!
We were greeted by a very pleasant, east European girl whom, I later found out, was named Karolina. I was a little concerned that she required payment right away but thought no more of it.
She handed me a key with 108 hand written on it. I waited until eventually she said, "first floor".
Then pointed to the stairs and said "up there".
We went up the stairs and along a narrow corridor, also covered with a very stained and dirty carpet and found room 108. The sight that greeted us as the tatty door swung open was shocking to say the least. The room was so small there wasn't even room for a chair. The double bed looked clean and comfortable with a single towel and two shampoo bottles laid neatly at the foot and the sheets looked fresh and clean and that was it!
There was a very tatty wardrobe and chest of drawers, which we didn't dare touch in case they fell apart, and a large TV which took up the whole of the drawer unit.
The one big sash window was jammed closed and had frosted glass in it so not only did we not have a sea view, we had no view at all. The curtains were hanging off the rails and the walls were splashed with something unimaginable.
The shower room appeared clean and had been left with some kind of scented cleaner around the bowl but this room too was untidy with broken and missing tiles and, again, the walls were stained and, being the toilet room, we dare not consider what the stains were!. The window would open here but as there were no ropes on the sash pullies, it would not stay open! The whole room smelled of a mixture of damp and toilet bleach.
The two of us looked at each other and just said, "No!"
Returning to the reception we asked for a refund as we were not prepared to stay in such a disgusting room. We were not offered an alternative room or even an apology but were asked to fill in a form as she could not authorise a refund and the manager was not there. I got the impression she had given out a great many of these forms as she went through it as quickly and efficiently as she had the check-in slip and without protest.
I was a little sad as I got the impression that they were trying to run a decent service but the hotel is a dump and in dire need of refurbishment. In the mean time the lobby and outside area should be cleaned, tidied and decorated. First impressions are the most important after all.
Sadly, as it is, this hotel is unfit even for squatters!

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MG180man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 1 night on arriving we were given room keys for room 205 we went into the room and walked straight back out it was filthy,damp on walls,window didn't close,cigarette burns in sink, about 10 years of dust under the bed, no mirrors at all, turned bathroom lights on only shaving light working fan broken making a high pitched squeaking noise.
We were given room 105 we had a mirror still very scruffy sheets looked clean, decided to stay as only 1 night, we stayed but didn't sleep I itched
All night we had a cold shower and left we didn't risk eating the breakfast as the dining room looked dirty. I wouldn't stay at elsinore again even if it was free of charge AWFUL!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pros: Very cheap. Great location. Breakfast was decent enough with real bacon! Clean.

Cons: Rooms small and very basic. Very run down. Some beds not that comfy. Some showers didn't work. Some windows don't open or close properly. No parking, nightmare to find spot on sea front. Walls thin...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Elsinore is situated in a fantastic location on Llandudno seafront, and comes with Wi-Fi in the rooms and tea and coffee making facilities. Sounds great! But.......

The communal areas and narrow hallways are poorly furnished, have dirty stained carpets and are badly in need of redecoration. A plethora of strange and indescribable smells greet you as you walk around the building.

The room I stayed in was a good size for the price, but again was poorly furnished. The beds were very old and the mattresses were filthy and badly stained, although the bedding was clean. The walls desperately need a coat of paint. The room doors need replacing and the locks are not secure. Definitely not a place to leave your valuables.

Sure you get what you pay for, but I would still expect a decent bed with a clean mattress!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaisyBrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Ash
The Grand Ash
#59 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsinore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinore Hotel

Property: Elsinore Hotel
Address: Main Promenade St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elsinore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elsinore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsinore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing