We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant believe we stayed here!”
Review of Elsinore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elsinore Hotel
Ranked #60 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 1 October 2013

it is nothing like the pictures on the internet! once you have booked in its too late to get your money back. Here are a few things not included in your room - dressing table, chair, no hairdryer,no glasses in the bathroom, no bath mat, no hand towels, no towel rail. The bathroom was far too small, if you stood at the sink your back was touching the door! the shower was taped up with silver tape and the door had been replaced by a curtain which only pushed halfway back and the toilet didnt flush properly.
I had seen five rooms at this hotel and they were all pretty much the same- very shabby. On a plus side the breakfast was ok and so was the bed. One last thing the receptionist/bar person was not very helpful when asked for 4 glasses so we could have a drink with our friends i was given 2 only and told they were needed for the bar, but when i asked her for 2 glasses for the bathroom she gave me 2.!!! Needless to say we will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosalind a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

needs complete refurb,and visit by health and safety.bathroom needs cleaning.no bath mats.shower very difficult to access as room is so small.toilet didnt flush properly.cold tap not working.lift out of order.was told when booking lift available.on the whole everything was shabby.one good point bed linen clean.wrong photos shown of hotel,totally differant hotel.wont be back.

Room Tip: no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we arrived at the hotel to be greeted to wonderful frontage building on sea front we went to reception to be greeted we was given our room key 208 we looked at the room we was expecting the worse after reading previous reviews but price was £30 per room for a couple.
room was outdated fixtures and fittings not really clean.no lift in building for anyone with walking or climbing stairs disabilities staff where friendly now breakfast was very basic pensioner portions do not expect alot

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielsbourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What do people expect for £35 for a night bed and breakfast for two. The hotel does need updating but was clean and in a great location. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Breakfast was pretty good for the money with unlimited toast that you helped yourself to.You get what you pay for at the end of the day. If you want better you have to pay more. Would have no problem going back. This hotel is fine for one night it was just somewhere to sleep. How much time do you spend in the rooms anyway?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champagnecharlie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is in a good location on the promenade(next to The George Hotel) It is in dire need of a major refurbishment.The floor boards creaked and seemed to be loose in the corridor,the lock to the room wasn't very secure and the room needed decorating.The staff seemed friendly enough,and the breakfast wasn't bad either. I was surprised that the bar closed so early at 9pm.....All in all though it suited my requirements for somewhere cheap to put my head down for the night.At £19 I can't really complain too much!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We always use budget hotels wherever we go as we only sleep in them but we have never, until now, found one we refused to sleep in.
My wife and I arrived at the Elsinore with fairly low expectations due to the price we paid but were totally unprepared for what we were offered. On arrival the hotel looked old but tidy although the front garden was a little unkempt. That was all though for as soon as we opened the front door we were greeted with the awful smell of decay and damp. The lobby carpet was badly stained and the fish tank water was so murky I was surprised that the fish could see where they were swimming and didn't keep bumping into each other!
We were greeted by a very pleasant, east European girl whom, I later found out, was named Karolina. I was a little concerned that she required payment right away but thought no more of it.
She handed me a key with 108 hand written on it. I waited until eventually she said, "first floor".
Then pointed to the stairs and said "up there".
We went up the stairs and along a narrow corridor, also covered with a very stained and dirty carpet and found room 108. The sight that greeted us as the tatty door swung open was shocking to say the least. The room was so small there wasn't even room for a chair. The double bed looked clean and comfortable with a single towel and two shampoo bottles laid neatly at the foot and the sheets looked fresh and clean and that was it!
There was a very tatty wardrobe and chest of drawers, which we didn't dare touch in case they fell apart, and a large TV which took up the whole of the drawer unit.
The one big sash window was jammed closed and had frosted glass in it so not only did we not have a sea view, we had no view at all. The curtains were hanging off the rails and the walls were splashed with something unimaginable.
The shower room appeared clean and had been left with some kind of scented cleaner around the bowl but this room too was untidy with broken and missing tiles and, again, the walls were stained and, being the toilet room, we dare not consider what the stains were!. The window would open here but as there were no ropes on the sash pullies, it would not stay open! The whole room smelled of a mixture of damp and toilet bleach.
The two of us looked at each other and just said, "No!"
Returning to the reception we asked for a refund as we were not prepared to stay in such a disgusting room. We were not offered an alternative room or even an apology but were asked to fill in a form as she could not authorise a refund and the manager was not there. I got the impression she had given out a great many of these forms as she went through it as quickly and efficiently as she had the check-in slip and without protest.
I was a little sad as I got the impression that they were trying to run a decent service but the hotel is a dump and in dire need of refurbishment. In the mean time the lobby and outside area should be cleaned, tidied and decorated. First impressions are the most important after all.
Sadly, as it is, this hotel is unfit even for squatters!

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MG180man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 1 night on arriving we were given room keys for room 205 we went into the room and walked straight back out it was filthy,damp on walls,window didn't close,cigarette burns in sink, about 10 years of dust under the bed, no mirrors at all, turned bathroom lights on only shaving light working fan broken making a high pitched squeaking noise.
We were given room 105 we had a mirror still very scruffy sheets looked clean, decided to stay as only 1 night, we stayed but didn't sleep I itched
All night we had a cold shower and left we didn't risk eating the breakfast as the dining room looked dirty. I wouldn't stay at elsinore again even if it was free of charge AWFUL!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#57 of 60 in Llandudno
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsinore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinore Hotel

Address: Main Promenade St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £33 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elsinore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Elsinore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsinore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing