We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teething problems, but excellent food”
Review of Mr B's - CLOSED

Mr B's
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Mr B's Cafe/Bistro is one of Llandundo best known places to eat, from a BIG full breakfast, coffee/tea,along with a selection of cakes and home made scones,and of course our freshly made sandwiches with our famous hand cut chunky chips(and we mean chunky), lite food for lunch with our daily freshly made soups. Our daily special popular with offerings from around the world,from an authentic Malaysian beef Rendang curry, through to hearty game casserole. Sunday lunch is fantastic using locally sourced topside of beef, and Welsh lamb along with giant home made yorkies,gravy and all the trimmings With a full bar service, and a wine list that will not break the bank. See you soon
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Teething problems, but excellent food”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We took friends to Mr B'S on Saturday night after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We booked but didn't need to as the bistro was only half full. We were met with a very attentive and knowledgeable waiter, in fact he was the only person working front of house. The menu was very confusing, no set out starters, mains etc. We were told we could choose what we wanted from the menu as a starter and they would adjust the price accordingly. We were assured that a new easier menu would be available the following week. The menu is very varied, but the only steak choice was rib eye. The food we chose was all excellent, hot and very fresh. The prices are ridiculously cheap, most of the mains priced at £7.95 and decent portions. In total 4 starters, 4 mains and 3 bottle of wine came to £60.00. if they can sort the menu format this place will become a goldmine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was okay”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My friend and I decided to try this new place for lunch. We walked in out of the cold to a warm and nicely decorated place. It was empty when we arrive. We sat down and the friendly waitress brought us the menu. I ordered I think it was called a french bake, of potatoes, onions, ham, and chorizo with a fried egg on top. My friend ordered the ham egg and chips and peas. While waiting for our food a delivery arrived for the restaurant at the front door. We were sat next to it. The delivery was brought into the restaurant in stages of emptying the boot of a car, which took several trips in and out, with the cold blasting in each time they came in and went out again to get more stock. Wondering if they have a a tradesmen entrance or not? Anyway we just shivered each time the door opened and closed several times and shivered a little until they finished. When our meals were brought to us, my friends did not have any peas on the plate, the waitress apologised and said that they had dropped the portion of peas on the floor in kitchen and would be bringing some freshly cooked peas out shortly, which took at least approx 10 mins. Not a good start. The potatoes in my food were very dry and and I couldn't see or taste any onions in it. The yolk in the fried egg was over cooked and hard. It was a bit disappointing. We didn't want a dessert, but its just aswell, as we weren't even asked if we wanted a dessert menu. We paid up, and after waiting for the waitress to sort out a problem with operating the card machine we left slightly disappointed. We will give the restaurant another chance for an evening meal, but are apprehensive. The staff did seem friendly in there though and I like the ambience so for that I'll give another chance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieKG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyserth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast Experiance”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After cycling round the Great Orme, we decided to try this recently renovated restaurant. We were warmly welcomed and the owner and staff went out of the way to make sure that we were comfortable and the general service standards was first class. We ordered two full English breakfasts. All the local ingredients were cooked from fresh and the standard of food was excellent. Before leaving, we used there services and whilst paying the bill we had clear view into the kitchen area. It was nice to see spotlessly clean facilities and a continuation of the high standards witnessed at the front of house. We would highly recommend this restaurant and we will be returning in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FOOD , GLORIOUS FOOD.”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Wonderful.Greeted by friendly,welcoming and efficient staff.A warm and cosy interior.Loved the decor especially the lighting and the backround music gives a very chilled vibe to the place.The food tantalizes every taste bud and along with been delicious was presented beautifully.Mr.B's feeds the eyes first and then the stomach.Would highly recommend trying the Seafood Chowder and Eggs Flamenco as starters.They make your stomach smile.Game Casserole and Sea Bream as mains was a party in the mouth.Fabulous Fresh Veg accompanied the mains.Just when you think that you can't possibly taste anything more glorious, we finished the meal with a Spiced Chocolate Mousse that was to die for and a Brioche Pudding with Orange Liquor that is addictive to say the least.An Irish Coffee to finish that would make any Irishman proud of.A WONDERFUL experience in every sense and to top it all at a wonderful affordable price.All in all a visit to Mr.B's is an experience that you will definetly want to repeat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llandudno
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice for a good price”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We came for lunch and I had the game stew, it was very nice with a variety of meats which was very tasty. It's nice to have a different variation of dishes instead of the traditional pub food you tend to get in llandudno. I will be recommending it to my friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank EVZI-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr B's also viewed

 
Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing