We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond among rocks”
Review of Mr B's - CLOSED

Mr B's
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Mr B's Cafe/Bistro is one of Llandundo best known places to eat, from a BIG full breakfast, coffee/tea,along with a selection of cakes and home made scones,and of course our freshly made sandwiches with our famous hand cut chunky chips(and we mean chunky), lite food for lunch with our daily freshly made soups. Our daily special popular with offerings from around the world,from an authentic Malaysian beef Rendang curry, through to hearty game casserole. Sunday lunch is fantastic using locally sourced topside of beef, and Welsh lamb along with giant home made yorkies,gravy and all the trimmings With a full bar service, and a wine list that will not break the bank. See you soon
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had wandered around Llandudno for about an hour looking at menus in restaurant windows becoming more and more disheartened by the same repeated "pub grub" menus , we wanted to try new and interesting food but nowhere seemed to fit the bill. Then , to our delight we stumbled upon Mr B's and the menu offered food that was new to us. In we marched and were immediately greeted and a table was offered . The staff were extremely friendly and the full menu was just too interesting , we wanted to savour every meal on it . Eventually we settled , me for beef flambade (excuse the spelling ) and my partner for the fabada ( or something like that) , both meals were delicious and satisfying and the staff faultless . To cap it all the bill arrived with a rose made from serviettes, a tiny thing ,but it just completed an excellent experience. Thank you Mr B ,more power to you

1  Thank pipps1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshiredavid45, Owner at Mr B's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for your shing review

Praise indeed for all at Mr B's Bistro

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

The menu was excellent with a wide range of English and international dishes. We had a lovely chat to Dave the owner who guarded my friends wheelchair and a big thank you for the special coffees. Staff were excellent

Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshiredavid45, Owner at Mr B's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

So glad you enjoyed our Asian menu, we try and offer an international menu.

Again so glad you all enjoyed your visit

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Title says it all! Great range of dishes, something to suit everyone. Beef Rendang superb, as was the Thai Green Curry, Butter Chicken and Singapore Noodles. Starters and Desserts great too, especially the Chocolate Mousse - no calories apparently ha ha! Service was excellent and the waiter so personable. Paper roses a lovely touch at the end of the meal! Will definately return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheCannons2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshiredavid45, Owner at Mr B's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
Judging by your food selection you took advantage of our Asin selection, having lived in the Far East we try and keep to local recipes and use fresh spices, but that goes for all ourdishes, be it a French meal, a Spanish casserole, or something more traditional.

Again thank you

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Kind of an unusual selection of food, dishes from all around the world really. All very tasty. Salads lovely and fresh and the garlic bread is super yum, girlfriend went for fish chowder and really enjoyed it.

Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshiredavid45, Owner at Mr B's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Yes we do try and give a varied selection of dishes from around the world, but diners seem to like our choices of food on offer.

we all hope to see you again soon

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Popped in here after being left frustrated somewhere else. The restaurant was busy and possibly under staffed, which concerned me as it was late and we were hungry. However my concerns were quickly dashed. We were seen pretty quickly and our order taken promptly. I had the Singapore noodles which when arrived were very nice and just what I needed. My wife had fish which was tasty and my daughter had the kids spaghetti bolognaise with homemade meat balls which she really enjoyed (as did I). All in all a nice little restaurant, good service and would return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hugo-Balentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshiredavid45, Owner at Mr B's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review, its nice to know our efforts are appreciated, from the kitchen to front of house we all work together to hopefully make your visit enjoyable.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr B's also viewed

Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing