We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Grafton stay”
Review of The Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grafton
Ranked #31 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great Grafton stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at The Grafton after traveling back from Ireland and we wouldn't get there before their latest advertised booking in time but a very pleasant phone call to them put our minds at rest. The bed and breakfast is on the front at the far end of the promenade away from the town but convenient for the theatre so is quite quiet. On street parking was no problem outside The Grafton. Everywhere was very clean and inviting. We were given a friendly greeting and shown to our room which was cosy and clean with a comfortable bed, usual tea/coffee tray (with biscuits) and Freeview lcd tv mounted on the wall in front of the bed which made for comfortable viewing.. The bathroom was clean with walk-in shower, sink and toilet in, what must be said,quite a compact area so if you are on the larger side this might cause a problem, but other rooms may be different. We had a great undisturbed sleep and in the morning went for breakfast which could be had between 08.15 and 09.00 which suited us. Breakfast was cereals, fruit juice, tea or coffee, an excellent full English fry of which there was plenty and cooked to perfection and toast to finish, all served by a very nice young lady who checked that we were okay with everything. We will definitely use The Grafton again when we stay in Llandudno, especially when the price of our stay is considered. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalopLadandLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
62
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Spotlessly clean and sweet smelling rooms and stairwells,a bit of a walk to the town centre but we needed it to walk off the breakfeast,the bed in our room was a firm mattress but that suited us well, we slept like logs and from lying on my bed I could see the sea,what a view! My wife enjoyed the tea and coffee and biccys in the room.Family ran B. & B. so it's important for them to get it right and they are,well done you guys.Thank you Steve & Jane Harvey,Stafford.

Room Tip: Get a seaview(room 14)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a top floor room with a sea view - absolutely stunning views. Good size room with large bathroom all spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice. It is a fairly long walk into the centre but you can drive and park easily enough if the walk bothers you (it didn't bother us) and there is a fantastic Italian restaurant Mama Rosa just two minutes walk away. Good value for money - strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - stunning views across the bay to Great and Little Orme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Went to Llandudno for a short conference. The Conference centre is a short walk along the Promenade. We stayed at the Grafton which is a cute little B&B. When we arrived we found the staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the morning, which was nice. Very home cooked food. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The ensuite was spotless. It was a bit on the small side so not good if you are large! But other than that The Grafton is a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubble76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at The Grafton for a two night stay last weekend and must say it was a very decent bed and breakfast. As a small family run business we could find no fault with the warm, friendly and efficient service provided with a good breakfast choice and clean room. There is only one detail that marked down our score from excellent and that is that the bed was much too firm and quite uncomfortable but on the whole a very pleasant place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

We booked this Bed & Breakfast as a mini break for my Wife's 30th birthday. We were very happy with our room, view and able to book in earlier than first advised. Staff were very helpful, cooked breakfast was alot better than other places we have stayed at. Being located away from the centre didn't bother us. Can't complain at all. The just wish the room had a mini fridge available to keep our drinks cool.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geesara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at The Grafton in Sep '11 with my partner and we had a great time!
The room was lovely, the bed was really comfortable, the bath was amazing - really roomy and deep. The rooms were keet spotless!
We had a sea view which was amazing to wake up to! In the room were tea and coffe making facilities, which included some amazing hot chocolate and gorgeous cookies!
The staff were really friendly and so helpful! When our car broke down at the end of the week and had to go to the local garage to be fixed (leaving us not a lot of money to go out) they brought us up some DVDs.
Breakfast was really good, great coffee, orange juice, plenty of choice from toast with jams and marmalade, cereals, full English, vege breakfast, kippers on toast.

The negatives would be:
Breakfast times could be better - after a long day walking up Snowdon it would have been nice to be able to have breakfast up until 10am the morning after.

If you have trouble with stairs then make sure you request a lower floor - we were on the top floor. I'm not sure if there are lifts but then we didn't ask!

The views are great but there is a main road that the hotel is situated on. Although it did not pose a problem. If I had known beforehand maybe I wouldby have booked. However now I know it's not a busy road and didn't restrict sea view in anyway I would book again.
The hotel is in a great location. To explore the local area. Also only 45 mins from Snowdonia. Hiking up Snowdon is a must! You will have to set aside the whole day for as it takes around 6 hours. If you're not fit enough for it (although unless you had extreme health problems anyone can do it) there is a train that takes you to the top and back down.
That bath is amazing after a day up Snowdon :-)
Great Orme is just up the road and you can either walk up or take the scenic drive (for which the is a small charge £1 I think). There is a cute little cafe at the top!
I have to recommend 'fish tram chips' the do great fish and chips and are just across from the trap station (which you can also take up Great Orme).
The shopping is really good in Llandudno and all within walking distance from The Grafton.
Another minor negative is that The Grafton is one the hotels further away from the pier, shops and restaurants. HOWEVER, a trip or two to fish tram chips and all those breakfast you will be glad burn a few extra pounds :-)
Also I am assuming that the further up the promenade you go, the more expensive the hotels become. So a few more mins will save you those kind of pounds as well!

All in all I would definately reccomend The Grafton! I am planning to go back again in May!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchick1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kendrick Guest House
The Kendrick Guest House
#7 of 144 in Llandudno
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Britannia Guest House
Britannia Guest House
#32 of 144 in Llandudno
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Hilary Guest House
St. Hilary Guest House
#13 of 144 in Llandudno
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glan y Mor Hotel
Glan y Mor Hotel
#35 of 144 in Llandudno
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pebble House
Pebble House
#12 of 144 in Llandudno
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Property: The Grafton
Address: 14 Craig y Don Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grafton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton is a Grade II listed building and dates back to the 1860's. We are a small family run business situated on the promenade in the popular Victorian town of Llandudno. We have various types of rooms (double, twin and family rooms). We have some ground floor rooms and two family interconnecting suites. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, many of them have breath taking sea views over looking the promenade and Great Orme. Your stay will include a hearty full cooked breakfast served in our sea view breakfast room. Phone us for special offers, discounts or special requirements). The Grafton is conveniently placed within walking distance to the Venue Cymru conference centre / Theatre, shopping, local attractions, bowling, sailing, fishing, and is an ideal base for golf, walking, cycling and exploring the area of North Wales coast of castles, Snowdonia park, Conwy valley, Betws-y-Coed, Anglesey, Portmeirion, and surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Llandudno
The Grafton Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing