We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic well run B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grafton
Ranked #41 of 152 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classic well run B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for three nights and it was a pleasure and would stay again..

Cost - great value for money
Rooms - clean, cosy and fit for purpose... Not ultra modern but lovely
Locations - fantastic views of bay from the front....do bear in mind its a good stroll around the bay to the pier
Staff - helpful and very friendly
Bonus - there is parking around the back or free parking on the street in front of the grafton

Value for money

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
51
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Grafton was recommended to us by sister-in-law for a cheaper alternative to where we normally stay in Llandudno. At really does exactly what it says on the tin. It is spotlessly clean, with a great view of the sea and the manager was very friendly and helpful. Although the rooms are not ultra-modern they are cute and cosy. There were tea/coffee making facilities, nice clean en-suite, comfy beds, a basic TV with a variety of channels. Its biggest seeling points are that it is very reasonably priced which includes a nice breakfast (could do with being a little bigger but Im a piggy!) and very clean. It is a bit of a walk to the promonade and pubs/shops etc but gentle stroll along the beach front shouldnt be too much of a complaint for any normal human. Not sure why other people seemed to think there was a bar, I didnt see any adverts for one and so didnt expect one.
Would stay again and can recommend.
Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, but others are still nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Wonderful stay at the Grafton. It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary and we had gone away for a 3 night break. So glad we chose the Grafton. The room was on the top floor, so a bit of a climb for my husband with arthritis, but couldn't have wished for anything better once we were inside. Wonderful view over the bay, very comfortable, clean room and a large bathroom with all facilities. The breakfast was very good, and filling, although we soon walked it off on the prom. A lovely stay with friendly hosts, couldn't have wished for better service. Thank you, Jenny, Ellen and Rob

Room Tip: Unfit travellers should think about stairs, that is the only negative for top floor so ask for 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortunatefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We (myself, husband, sister in law and 2 year old son) stayed for 2 nights over weekend. I researched where to stay following the reviews and we weren't disappointed. Excellent service from arrival to leaving. Rooms were good and clean, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was also very nice. The only negative is that they weren't able to do a boiled egg (2 year olds favourite). Views from double seaview were fantastic. The inland double only had a shower, but ours had bath with shower. The location is great, free parking on the road outside and a good walk into the main town, which we didn't mind. The hotel were very helpful in recommending child friendly places to eat (The Albert pub, great food) and also,sandy beach to make sandcastles we were lucky with the weather! Great stay, we would recommend and if we were to return to Llandudno we would stay here again. We we very impressed with Llandudno, great resort, lots to do, very friendly and affordable.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cornishbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We booked this 2 night stay as a break over the weekend.Little did we know that the weather was going to be very very cold but the welcome from the owners of this made up for the freezing conditions.We had one of the top floor rooms facing the sea, a very nice room with good sized bathroom.The hallways and stairs are very warm and nicely furnished.Jenny and Amy were lovley ladies and so helpful to us. We didnt want to go far at night for our meal and they recommmended the italian restaurant 5 mins walk away.They even booked the table for us.This is a good hotel for an excellent price with a good location and we will most certainly return at a future date.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakawayHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at The Grafton after traveling back from Ireland and we wouldn't get there before their latest advertised booking in time but a very pleasant phone call to them put our minds at rest. The bed and breakfast is on the front at the far end of the promenade away from the town but convenient for the theatre so is quite quiet. On street parking was no problem outside The Grafton. Everywhere was very clean and inviting. We were given a friendly greeting and shown to our room which was cosy and clean with a comfortable bed, usual tea/coffee tray (with biscuits) and Freeview lcd tv mounted on the wall in front of the bed which made for comfortable viewing.. The bathroom was clean with walk-in shower, sink and toilet in, what must be said,quite a compact area so if you are on the larger side this might cause a problem, but other rooms may be different. We had a great undisturbed sleep and in the morning went for breakfast which could be had between 08.15 and 09.00 which suited us. Breakfast was cereals, fruit juice, tea or coffee, an excellent full English fry of which there was plenty and cooked to perfection and toast to finish, all served by a very nice young lady who checked that we were okay with everything. We will definitely use The Grafton again when we stay in Llandudno, especially when the price of our stay is considered. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalopLadandLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Spotlessly clean and sweet smelling rooms and stairwells,a bit of a walk to the town centre but we needed it to walk off the breakfeast,the bed in our room was a firm mattress but that suited us well, we slept like logs and from lying on my bed I could see the sea,what a view! My wife enjoyed the tea and coffee and biccys in the room.Family ran B. & B. so it's important for them to get it right and they are,well done you guys.Thank you Steve & Jane Harvey,Stafford.

Room Tip: Get a seaview(room 14)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Britannia Guest House
Britannia Guest House
#34 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kendrick Guest House
The Kendrick Guest House
#7 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glan y Mor Hotel
Glan y Mor Hotel
#37 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pebble House
Pebble House
#11 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Hilary Guest House
St. Hilary Guest House
#13 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glascoed Guest House
Glascoed Guest House
#9 of 152 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Property: The Grafton
Address: 14 Craig y Don Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grafton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton is a Grade II listed building and dates back to the 1860's. We are a small family run business situated on the promenade in the popular Victorian town of Llandudno. We have various types of rooms (double, twin and family rooms). We have some ground floor rooms and two family interconnecting suites. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, many of them have breath taking sea views over looking the promenade and Great Orme. Your stay will include a hearty full cooked breakfast served in our sea view breakfast room. Phone us for special offers, discounts or special requirements). The Grafton is conveniently placed within walking distance to the Venue Cymru conference centre / Theatre, shopping, local attractions, bowling, sailing, fishing, and is an ideal base for golf, walking, cycling and exploring the area of North Wales coast of castles, Snowdonia park, Conwy valley, Betws-y-Coed, Anglesey, Portmeirion, and surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Llandudno
The Grafton Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing