We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, clean room and scrummy breakfast”
Review of Karden House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karden House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value, clean room and scrummy breakfast”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while in north Wales for business.
Was greeted on arrival and directed to my room. Room was small, but well equipped and very clean. En-suite again was a little small but clean and well maintained.
I thought the tv was broken, but it just needed re-tuning (energy conscious owners switch things off at the wall which earns them brownie points in my book!).
Breakfast was lovely with an excellent range of non-cooked items to chose from as well as the Full English. If you're not a fan of breakfast, they offer a packed lunch alternative!
In short, a great value b&b in a convenient location. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Raisinmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    60
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
69
131
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for one night and I must say what an excellent establishment. Very warm welcome,spotless clean, great breakfast at a realistic price, well done Karden House. Thanks Don and Janet very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

In a word... faultless. After a long drive from London to Llandudno, we were greeted courteously by the owner and shown to our comfortable en-suite double room. The following morning we enjoyed a hearty home-cooked breakfast with the rather novel option of a packed lunch instead, if we preferred. The hotel is in a quiet avenue just moments from Llandudno’s shopping centre and restaurants in one direction, and its impressive promenade in the other. Parking is easy. Perfect in every way; thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spotlessly clean and comfortable - this is not an ultramodern hotel however it is furnished and decorated to a very high standard with some modern fittings. Bedrooms are en suite and come in a range of doubles, twins and family rooms.
A comfortable downstairs guest lounge (with large flat screen TV) is spacious enough for everyone to meet in in before dinner. Breakfast was everything you would expect of a high quality establishment.

The best thing about staying at the Karden was the unobtrusive and yet thoughtful service from its owners. There is no sea view however the town center is literally round the corner and the sea front a two minute walk.

Highly recommended - you really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the house are quite a way up - don't pick if you struggle with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock-me-Amadeus-Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've stayed here twice and would return. It's a great place, very convenient for travel, nice fresh breakfasts and it runs like clockwork. Nice attention to detail with everywhere perfectly clean. A pleasure to stay here, thank you Janet and Don for all your hard work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stockportcountynil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm / Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent 2 days in a single room. Checked in at 2pm, fast and efficient. Spotlessly clean, decent size, great location and lovely breakfast. Would return again in a heartbeat. Owners very friendly and price very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked a triple room in this hotel through a booking agent and provided the details of 3 guests (all females). On arrival, we were greeted in a cold manner (no smile or hello, just a sharp ‘what?!’) and after informing the hotelier that we had a booking, we were told that we ‘didn’t have a booking here, as a single sex party’. We explained that we were a family and only 3 ladies sharing a family room. He was very dismissive and only retained the door open a crack to talk through the gap.
The man was adament that we couldn’t stay there that night and should take the issue up with the booking agent, even after we stated that the booking shouldn’t have been allowed to progress this far, as we had provided our personal details months in advance.
Aware that we couldn’t check in before 4pm, we turned up there just before 5pm. Tired after a long day and not fancying the long drive home or looking around for an available family room in another hotel, we tried to establish what the policy was and if we could alleviate his concerns. The man clearly stated that single sex parties were not allowed (no explanation given) and left us feeling uncomfortable with comments such as ‘if you were a married couple I’d hope you’d be opposite sexes’ and ‘yes, I would allow 2 males and 1 female teenager to share this same triple room’.
We were left with little option but to return home a day early.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ABT4934687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward S, Owner at Karden House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We are sorry you felt this way. The booking agency you used clearly states we do not accept all male/female groups. When you made your reservation you were asked to accept our terms and conditions, on the print out of your reservation it again tells you this, as you were in breach of this clause, the booking agent cancelled your booking whilst we were on the phone to them. Your card was refunded with the full amount. This is our home, and after a horrendous time with both all male and female groups we took the difficult decision not to accept groups again. We have to consider the comfort of our other guests, On the night in question we were expecting a family not a female group this was explained politely to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karden House Hotel

Property: Karden House Hotel
Address: 16 Charlton Street | Off Trinity Square, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#5 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, Family-owned small Hotel set in the heart of North Wales' premier resort Town. Open all year. Standing in a tree lined avenue which is lparticularly lovely in the Autumn. Award winning establishment. Large enough to ensure your enjoyment yet small enough to care. As listed in "Hidden places of Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karden Hotel Llandudno
Karden House Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing