We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tatty room, otherwise OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatsworth House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chatsworth House Hotel
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Tatty room, otherwise OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Going by other reviews, it looks as if the Chatsworth has some good rooms, others not so good. Mine was in the latter category.

Stained and matted carpet, ugly 70s wallpaper peeling in places, wonky wardrobe, mastic parting company with the sink, ciggy burns on ageing lino, screeching extractor fan, TV with a decent picture but horrible tinny sound...

The shower was not what I expected. The usual problem in hotels is lack of pressure but this went off like a fire hose, a jet of water so fierce that the displaced air sent the nasty plastic shower curtain flying when it wasn't stuck to your body like clingfilm to a leg of chicken. Not so bad if you can swing out of its path but the cubicle was so small I could barely turn around. At least you could get a decent shower once everything had been adjusted.

That said, the staff were generally pleasant and the waitresses/waiters very attentive. The food prepared for our conference party was more than adequate.

OK for coach parties of pensioners and conferences on a budget, but not my idea of a holiday treat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
predz, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your review.
Just an update to let you know that we have a continuing programme of refurbishment in place. Being one of the larger hotels in Llandudno and operating at full capacity most of the year this takes time and planning . Our swimming pool upgrade has been completed and we have newly decorated guest rooms in use and more planned to be reopen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    255
    156
    87
    102
See reviews for
190
263
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

cannot fault this hotel , staff great from the owner down.food very good and great entertainment.very well cared for hotel room we had was large and clean with sea view. had a very good driver named martin who worked for SHERWOOD TRAVEL, driving on behalf of travel style who was very kind and could not do enough for all people on coach.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidjohnNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel was ideally situated right on the prom, centre of North Bay. The en-suite room we had didn't enjoy a sea view but was clean, warm and tastefully decorated, colour co-ordinated and comfortable, providing basic facilities: tea, coffee, TV, hairdryer, and ample storage.
The pool looked newly decorated too; very nice (though lockers would be a welcome addition, and we booked the jaccuzi but couldn't get many bubbles.)
Breakfast was adequate if not ample, and food well-cooked and hot. Evening meal was very nice, with a good choice of starters, mains and puds, and generous portions. Food was waitress served, and service was brisk and very good. Mealtimes a bit late for us, but hotel was busy with two full sittings so we weren't given any option.
We went with Travel Style self-drive holidays, and the weekend represented excellent value for money! Would be happy to recommend the hotel and would definitely go again!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank brad4d_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Another great weekend in one of our favourite hotels. We've been going there for long weekends twice a year for the last five years, and have never been dissappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NunkyNo-no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was a friendly hotel with helpful staff who would do anything for you. Not the Ritz but there was clean bedding,curtains carpets etc. They had homely touches and it was comfortable.The location is fantastic - facing the seafront overlooking the Orme where you can go for a nice walk. In the summer I am told there is always sideshows and events on the road leading to the end of the pier. The Hotel staff were very nice (some people will moan about ANY place.) The sitting areas were plentiful and the communal toilets clean. The beer was pricey at £3.40 a pint so we had to be careful with our pennies.
The food was beautifully cooked and delicious with good choices on the menu. Most days had a fish dish, a salad and a cooked dinner with plenty of veg. Fruit salad was available and icecream always on the menu if wanted. If you asked for extra gravy, milk, water, toast, custard or anything it was delivered quickly and with a smile. The staff were very obliging and kind. The very best thing besides the food was the top class entertainment - singers and comedians who gave us a good laugh and some fun. They sang requests, but they were GOOD SINGERS - better than the majority of hotels I have visited! The only downside was the cleaning of the loos in the room - as you sat in the bath you would see black stains under the toilet rim - come on cleaners - do your stuff properly - that is not pleasant! It would be easily remedied with some bleach and harpic and a good brush. Good pleasant hotel with a lot going for it. I would recommend if they clean under the loo rims!

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyBMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Great food, friendly staff

Nice room,spacious, warm and clean - nice seaview.

Has a lift.

Plenty of public parking spaces nearby

Really enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAH4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

The reception was awful not friendly at all. However, the rooms were clean but in much need of a make over. The pool was very good and clean. However in our room there was no shower so we luckily had a family member in a different room who had a shower which was either boiling or freezing. The food was edible but bland, tasteless and very very poor. The timetable wasn't very flexible 8:30 the latest for breakfast and 6 for dinner. The waiters and waitresses lacked people skills and plates were cleared as soon as you had finished eating. However the entertainment was ok and the location was good. However I would not go back.

Room Tip: I would go out for dinner and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#57 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth House Hotel

Property: Chatsworth House Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chatsworth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Victorian hotel situated in the centre of the promenade. The beach is opposite the hotel and the main shopping street is directly behind and only minutes away from the theatre. We have a very limited spaced free car park within the hotel, the majority of parking is on street on the promenade (£1.50 per day low season £3.00 per day high season (correct at time of posting this message)). Badge holders have free unrestricted parking, except in the coach bays. Please feel free to contact the hotel for any further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chatsworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Llandudno
Chatsworth House Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing