We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chatsworth House Hotel
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I with two friends went up for a two night stay on 30th / 31st March it was supposed to be a 60s theme but was'nt, the staff were lovely the room was good but not 4star, it must have been one that was on the list for refurbishing there was a large damp patch on the ceiling above the window and wallpaper needed replacing, the rooms and beds were clean and tidy. We went to the lounge for a cup of coffee each at 1.30 pm they said not available go to the Queens Hotel on corner or cafe around corner where we could get one, good for 4, 70+ year olds, also at 2.30am Sunday morning there was a fire evacuation which was badly handled there were numerous guests who did not hear it and slept through luckily it was a faulse alarm, there was no roll call taken and no information given to as to what was happening it was total chaos, sad for such a large hotel, don't know who actually owns it but it should be looked into.

Room Tip: No tips, only don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

We do not advertise any 60's theme breaks , the only themed break we do at the moment are around Christmas.

The tour company you booked through have removed the incorrect advertised online details at our request, however some printed brochures are still in circulation.

Thank you for mentioning that our members of staff were friendly, it's important as a family run hotel that this is passed on to our guests.

Without knowing which room you are refering to we cant say where on the list it is for refurbishment, but we are working on redecorating rooms as quickly as possible and our housekeeping team work very hard to maintain all rooms to a high standard.

At the time of your visit our coffee shop was closed, so information about alternatives were offered. We have listened to your comments on this and hope to have a solution soon.

In contrast to your account of the fire alarm sounding, we had many comments about how well it was handled from guests and coach drivers. It was a false alarm and the system we have identifies the area affected so that it can be quickly checked by our trained staff.

All evacuation procedures are clearly posted in every room and every alarm point throughout the building which gives clear instructions about leaving the building and the assembly point.

All guests who may have hearing problems are asked to inform reception in case of the alarm sounding, this is posted on our in house information channel regarding the weekly alarm testing .

Every Monday the alarm is tested from various points in the hotel to ensure the system is working correctly.

The morning after this false alarm we had one guest at reception apologising for the fact that she had not told us that she was hard of hearing.

Thankfully in this case all guests were allowed to return to the hotel within minutes. We take all alarms very seriously and thank everyones cooperation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

I returned from this fabulous break last week. I was a little concerned about some of the reviews that I had read but was totally satisfied with my stay. The food was really good and my room was freshly decorated and had a lovely en-suite with a stand-in corner shower unit and lovely hot water. The en-suite was also fully tiled. My bedroom window overlooked a fire escape but I hadn't gone away to sit and look out of a window so that was no problem. The entertainment was brilliant and was left rolling with laughter one night - a very good tonic as I have had a rather stressful time lately. The only down side to my stay was being woken by seagulls about 5 in the morning, but that is no fault of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending anyone to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank marianhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your great response about the fabulous stay with us and we hope that you will return soon.

On the subject of the reviews here.
Everyone is of course entitled to voice an opinion. We are aware that guests no longer seem to approach us at the reception desk about any problems that may arise and prefer to write anonymously a review after leaving. As you are probably realise when this is done we are totally unable to rectify any issues.

Thank you once again and we hope you had a pleasant jouney home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A wonderful location on the seafront, great view.
Food was served hot (my companion very fussy about this) and I especially enjoyed breakfast.

The exterior of the hotel looked freshly painted and the bar/entertainment/lounge areas were refurbished to a high standard and very pleasant. We stayed in for the entertainment on the Sat night which was excellent.

Most of the staff were pleasant and polite. There were small details in the room that needed attention but I was glad to see that the TV was modern and worked properly, the bathroom was nice and warm and it was comfortable. on the whole it was very good and I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank hundi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

A big thank you from all of us for your review.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

party 12 friends and family.rooms very nice hotel nice and clean.staff very friendly .staff couldnt do enough for us.food great.entertainment very good,its up to yourselfs how good u wont your weekend to be.you get 6 tokens every night of your stay for your drinks which saves u some money.we had 2 trips out on saturday,then on the way home we had 3 hours in chester.what more do you wont for £119.00. march 16th 2012
irene and the gang.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Irenemac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you very much for posting such a great review.

Your comments have been passed on and we are so glad you had a great stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

(and if you dont pay a lot you dont get a lot!)

just stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend and I was not impressed, the hotel is like a elderly lady trying to hark back to her former days.

the room (362) looked like it was the former broom closet with a sink actually in the corner of the bedroom as there was no room for the sink in the bathroom, the floor sloped and there is no actual window, just a emergency exit door with a clear glass panel.

the food is edible though of poor quality and invariably cold

the drinks were expensive but dont worry there is a nice wetherspoons about 400 yards away

the staff were nice and friendly

would I go back, maybe as its bearable for a couple of days and who knows with a nicer room it might have put a different slant on my judgement.

Room Tip: if you are allocated room 362, just say no
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yorkshirelad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

We are sorry that you didn't approach us about the points you raised as we would have spent time with you to resolve and explain the points you mention.

The hotel is under constant 24 hour a day supervision for any problems that may arise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in a very large clean family room with sea view.
Food was ok but plenty of it. Brekie excellent. Staff were efficient and very helpful.
As long as you are not expecting 5* for £99 for all inclusive, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MamaKettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Love the title of your review " A weekend of fun"

Thank you very much.

We are sometimes able to place some incredible offers and obviously you enjoyed your stay which is very important.

We hope you left your contact details so that we may inform you of any upcoming special breaks if not keep in touch to find out about any further offers or join our "Holiday Club" which we will send you a letter or email of breaks which offer great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 'Jazz' weekend spent at Chatsworth. We have been before to this hotel but not over the last couple of years due to ill health. I looked up the previous reviews before going (after we had booked) and thought things must have changed for the worse. Definitely NOT in our experience. The staff were very, very, pleasant and helpful from the minute we entered, Reception staff were pleasant, smiling and very efficient. We were allocated a lovely, clean, pleasantly decorated room,, very adequate for our needs with tons of hot water, lovely clean white towels, tea and coffee facilities, replenished each day. All the staff, whatever part of the hotel, had smiles and a nice word and the food was well cooked, 3 different choices each course with execllent service. The only down side, if there was one, was the price of the wine sold in the hotel. Way out of the usual price range, even allowing for profit. Perhaps the owners should negotiate a better deal with an alternative supplier at a more realistic rate. A quarter bottle of of wine at £4.50 is way over the top and a full bottle at £17.95 (need I say more)..But would return again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wanderer74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad you had a very enjoyable stay, after all that’s why we have been here as an independent family run hotel for 20 successful years and we look forward to you returning soon.

A few negative reviews can be posted for personal reasons/preferences but that can’t be helped, we have been in contact with Trip advisor about these, the important thing is that you had a great holiday and that’s the most important part.

Pricing is always in the for front of our minds and we are constantly striving to provide the best value for our guests and we will continue to do so and with this in mind it will always where possible be passed on to you .

Thank you once again.


Just a little update

Our outside furniture is being repainted, the sea air plays havoc with it, many of the tables have already been completed the and chairs are next on the list.

Our ground floor ladies toilets have been redecorated and the carpet on one of our main staircases has been replaced as part of our ongoing maintenance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
433 reviews
0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth House Hotel

Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £49 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chatsworth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Victorian hotel situated in the centre of the promenade. The beach is opposite the hotel and the main shopping street is directly behind and only minutes away from the theatre. We have a very limited spaced free car park within the hotel, the majority of parking is on street on the promenade (£1.50 per day low season £3.00 per day high season (correct at time of posting this message)). Badge holders have free unrestricted parking, except in the coach bays. Please feel free to contact the hotel for any further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chatsworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Llandudno
Chatsworth House Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing