We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chatsworth House Hotel
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Altrincham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Chatsworth House Hotel with National Holidays. First the good bit, the hotel is situated in a favorable seafront location in close proximity to the amenities of Llandudno.
Now for the not no good bit, once you step through the door it is like entering a time warp - the decor is from the late seventies and has a feel that the place is unkempt with peeling wallpaper and paint.
The food was very bland and portion size is best suited to what appears to be their core customer base - elderly folk. We were very disappointed with the room which had huge cracks in the walls breaking through the wallpaper - though the room was reasonably clean the crude wooden shelf supporting the tv, the 3cm gap under the door and the general poor condition of the decor left a lot to be desired.
Would we use the hotel again? No, not unless some major improvements are made - this hotel needs an urgent visit from the hotel inspector (Alex Pollitzi)!

Room Tip: Try other hotels availability first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WendyGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    267
    164
    97
    108
See reviews for
200
281
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Entry into the house, gardens and farms isn't cheap, but actually it's pretty good value if you have a full day to spend here (and you get half price entry on a second day if you buy the combined ticket). The restaurant serves a really excellent roast dinner in massive portions.

The only downside is that you can't take a pushchair or carrier into the house (and frankly there is not much they could possibly do to change this) and it's quite a trek from where you leave the house to where you pick up the pushchair (there isn't a whole lot they can do about this either!), so it's probably not the best day out for smaller kids and older babies - for everyone else though it's fabulous, well thought out and entertaining!

Helpful?
3 Thank mikki_hache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed with my 13 year old daughter was a little apprehensive but whole weekend turned out to be fantastic. The room was very clean and bathroom spotless. A litttle dated but its only for sleeping in. Coffee and tea was replaced every day. Couldnt fault the food (there was plenty). The swimming pool again was very clean. Found management and staff more than friendly, on the whole had a great time. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I was another member of the party complaining about this Hotel and have just seen Mr P. Jones reply, and would like to correct a few of his comments. We did NOT dismantle the shower hose , the marks were on the outside of the shower head and I dont know where the house keeper deep cleaned but we saw no evidence of it. It was NOT 7.15 when we caled night security, it was just breaking dawn about 4.30 night security gave us access to another room to be able to use the facillites we couldnt accept that room on permant basis as my friend suffers from arthritis and has to have a shower. The water was such a small amount it went through to the dining room.I think rather than making out we were telling lies ,an apology would not go amiss.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank dorothyw186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Chatsworth last month and also found it excellent. We had a beautiful room (i rang to upgrade before we went). It was spotless, huge, lovely big bay window with comfy arm chairs and a sea view, a big flat screen television, one of the nicest rooms ive stayed in. All the staff were lovely. I had a swim each morning in the lovely heated pool, luxury. (Although the changing room is very sad). The entertainment was very good, comedian, singer each night. Couldnt complain about the food, we always have a couple of meals out when we.re away but the meals we did have were nice, if you want scrambelled eggs or porrege ask them. You have a slip of paper at breakfast with 3 choices for evening meal and you tick the one you want, there not huge portions and i think its all plated up ready before you go into the dining room so its quick getting served but myself, i prefare the help yourself buffet style like in the Grand because i always find theres more choice. The majority of the clients who were at the Chatsworth while we were there were elderly from coach trips (ourselves included) My mum is 88 but very lively so we had a couple of nights out for a change of scenery. All in all i,d recomend this hotel for older guests and make sure you ring before you go to ask for a nice room with a sea view or you could end up in one of the very small ones.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room with sea view on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank disc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I went here for 3 nights with National Holidays and it turned out to be a really fun weekend.

Yes, the hotel is dated but it's clean, smells nice and is in the perfect location. All the staff were so friendly and the manager was even in the dining room at night lending a hand to all the waiting staff which I thought was very nice.

The food is great, I really can't complain about that whatsoever. The food comes to you on a serving dish so you can help yourself to what you want to eat.The hotel is right on the front so shops and attractions are easy to reach.

The best part of the trip was going out for a couple of hours to browse the shops and coming back to our room being cleaned and towels being replaced even though they weren't dirty.

The Chatsworth is the perfect hotel to stay in, and I recommend it to everyone, young and old.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Starting with the positives: the staff were lovely, the hotel is in a great spot on the promenade, the breakfast was nice but small, and our bathroom had recently been refurbished.

However, our family room (109) probably hadn't been cleaned since the 80s. The carpet was filthy, the furniture dated and the curtains wouldn't close. Within 30 minutes of running around the room our children's socks were black with dirt from the carpet. Ironically a sign warns of a 'deep cleaning fee' if you smoke in the room - I'd suggest our room hadn't been deep cleaned in the last 20 years.

The Chatsworth generally smelt like an old peoples home, which for an average resident (60+) presumably without a sense of smell, might not have been a problem.

The Saturday night entertainment was an amateur Michael Buble impersonator, who was in fairness pretty good. The problem was that the volume was cranked up to ear splitting levels, presumably for the benefit of the hard of hearing, and without air conditioning, the lounge area was ridiculously hot. Conversation was impossible due to the noise, which went on until 11pm. If someone had told me this was what hell was like, I'd have been first outside the church doors the following Sunday morning.

Our one night of hell in the Chatsworth was rounded off nicely being evacuated at 7:30am, woken up by the hotel fire alarm. Apparently the alarm was due to a technical fault with the alarm system, rather than an actual fire.

I've stayed in a number of hotels over the years and I can categorically say that the £100 I spent for a night in a family room in the Chatsworth was the worst £100 I have ever spent on hotel accommodation. So, unless you are mostly deaf, with no sense of smell, and have a love of 80s decor and furniture I'd avoid the Chatsworth House Hotel like the plague - which is a shame, as the staff we dealt dealt with were really very nice.

The hotel really needs a refurbish and desperately needs a deep clean.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth House Hotel

Property: Chatsworth House Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chatsworth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Victorian hotel situated in the centre of the promenade. The beach is opposite the hotel and the main shopping street is directly behind and only minutes away from the theatre. We have a very limited spaced free car park within the hotel, the majority of parking is on street on the promenade (£1.50 per day low season £3.00 per day high season (correct at time of posting this message)). Badge holders have free unrestricted parking, except in the coach bays. Please feel free to contact the hotel for any further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chatsworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Llandudno
Chatsworth House Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing