We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RISING DAMP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatsworth House Hotel
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is not tired it is asleep and dying. We stayed at the Chatsworth hotel on a National coach holiday. We were allocated room 308 and have never seen anything like it.The room was filthy it must have last been decorated over 20 years ago. The wallpaper was dirty discoloured and peeling. The skirting boards had a build up of dust and dirt. The rest of the woodwork peeled down to the bare wood. Again discoloured. The bed was falling apart. The base down to bare wood and the headboard filthy with greasy headmarks on it. Tiny bathroom. Mould on sealant and tiles.The wash basin which was actually in the bedroom had constantly running taps which would not turn off. Went to reception desk to complain. Given a frosty reception but eventually allocated room 356. This was not muich better than the other but we had to accept it. Bed really hard. Decor, bathroom just as bad as previous room. Is this acceptable in 2013 that people have to put up with these conditions. On their website they are showing photos of their refurbished rooms. These do not represent the majority of rooms in this hotel. The staff were indifferent to the guests and could do with some PR training.The food adequate but plain and not much choice. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 308 or 356
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were greeted to staff members staring through the window grinning and laughing as people arrived. No one said hello at the front desk and in fact carried on their conversation without assisting us. The room was basic with the smallest bathroom I have ever been in! The ladies who served in the breakfast room were very personable and are a credit to this hotel. Some of the other servers need a bit more customer service training. We were often ignored which I really hope doesn't reflect the way they treat their older patrons. The food needs a bit of a rethink. They obviously cater for a mass market but it means that quality suffers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The decor is pure 70s and brilliant if you like retro. if you don't, the brown and orange swirls are more than compensated for by the staff, friendly and accommodating without being obsequious. I was at a convention and my coughing and snoring was keeping my room companion awake. Eventually I was afraid to sleep as well. The manager gave me another room, free of charge, no quibbling. The breakfast was good (veggie) and the pool clean and well heated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank escapecommittee986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a missed opportunity... A booking for over a hundred guests all in one go . No assistance from hotel staff when coaches arrived no real engagement with guests by the staff over the weekend . Bring back school dinners ...it would be a great improvement on the food provided by the hotel.. I can understand catering at a price.. But what price repeat business. . Inspite of being aware of the time scale of events the guests where involved in over the weekend guests had to leave their rooms by ten. The hotel CLOSED the till five o'clock when guests could retrieve their luggage themselves to load the coach themselves , it may be a local custom to close a hotel on a Sunday ...have no regards for your guests feed them portion controlled meals and give the impression we where all in the way .you where left with the thought that if they could just take your money and not let you in they would have been very happy . This may be a family run hotel one can only assume they had gone on holiday to a good hotel lets hope they have had a good experience and bring some bon ami back to a rapidly declining establishment ..rooms good ..staff working well ....management out of touch with customer care ...to much focus on making a profit ..not enough on customer service and interface get those correct and profit will follow . I guess 100 plus potential guest will not be returning and not recommending their experience to future guests ..I look forward to reading trip advisor reports from other guests who where there over the weekend I would not want to be accused of being biased

STAN RUSHTON

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our stay at this hotel was to be our second stay we had stayed there two years ago and we had a very positive memorable stay, the room was good and the food was pretty good, the service was pretty good

When we stayed there in August this year I requested that we were given the use of a ground floor room because I had developed Severe Osteo Arthritis, in my right leg and mobility is a problem. When we booked in, I was given a third floor room and after asking for a downstairs room we were allocated room a room not fit for a person for a paying customer, every thing was wrong. We accepted this room because we felt that there was nothing more suitable. The dining room we were allocated was at the far end of the hotel meaning a long walk via the other guests dining room. The food we were given was average because we had booked with Travel Style and they had negotiated a lower price for their clients, meaning we had a second class service. I would not recommend this Hotel to my friends or anyone else the staff were not interested in my complaints and as they appeared to be under new management I sensed that Travel Style was synonymous with poor service. We will not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not travel with Travel Style, book direct with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaynor1964238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Although the hotel could do with updating - I understand it is in the process of modernisation - we had an enjoyable stay.
We were a party of eight on a National Holidays coach trip.
The rooms were comfortable although we did not get a sea view - you had to pay extra for this.
One downside was my mum's room. Was supposed to be easy access. It was on the ground floor but along a twisty narrow corridor with two steps in the middle.
The food was good though not a big choice. I had to have fish on both days, for the evening meal, as I don't eat red meat and did not fancy the vegetarian meal.
Overall good stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Check under the bed, you're in for a shock!!!! Not been hoovered for years. The place is filthy, the staff don't care!!! Avoid wherever possible!!!!! Just one big dirty hole and back in the 1970s .can't call this a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neilglover555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,265 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth House Hotel

Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £59 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chatsworth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Victorian hotel situated in the centre of the promenade. The beach is opposite the hotel and the main shopping street is directly behind and only minutes away from the theatre. We have a very limited spaced free car park within the hotel, the majority of parking is on street on the promenade (£1.50 per day low season £3.00 per day high season (correct at time of posting this message)). Badge holders have free unrestricted parking, except in the coach bays. Please feel free to contact the hotel for any further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chatsworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Llandudno
Chatsworth House Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing