We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Ash
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$333
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
15
43
28
20
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
43
28
20
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean sheets and towelsbudget hotelquiet at nightwould stay againset us up for the daycentral locationcomfy bedcooked breakfastormepromenade
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at the Grand Ash and were very disappointed this time. We chose to go back there as, albeit very basic, it was always good value for money, not this time. The food portions have shrunk to half of what they were on our other stays there, one night we ordered the desert and were given something not even on the menu but the waitress disappeared quick before we had a chance to say anything. The rooms have been refurbished and the mirrored wardrobe door had a large gap at the top but fitted ok at the bottom (I put that down to them using Bob the Builder!), they now have duvets too but had a small double duvet in a normal double cover so one person had the duvet while the other had a bit of duvet and only cover!. We stayed for 3 nights and the room was'nt cleaned once just the wash basin, they cups were'nt even washed up this time. Also the TV is way too small for the room, last time we stayed there we had a decent size flatscreen TV now its back to the old type 14" TV. We used to love staying at the Grand Ash but will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chucklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments on the Grand Ash Hotel.

I was naturally concerned to read of the unfortunate incidents which lead to your dissatisfaction and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

I have spoken to my manager who informs me that nothing was reported to him about the problems otherwise these could have been recitifies immeadiately

Once again my sincere apologise for any inconvenience and with not meeting your expectations on this occasion. If you are considering staying with us again please contact me on my direct line and I will endeavour to make sure your stay is enjoyable in every respect

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel with an organised coach holiday. Bedroom was small and needed a little TLC, bed clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water for shower. Des and waitresses very friendly and helpful. Food ok, breakfast fine, evening meals just a bit bland. Thought the hotel was good value .for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lollipop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your comments and your review of the Grand Ash Hotel.

At the Grand Ash Hotel as with all of our hotels we pride ourselves on giving our best to all our guests, and should things not be quite right we always try to rectify them as quickly as possible and to the guest’s satisfaction.

Once again many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

when arriving the staff could not find the booking that we had made but luckly they had two rooms available for us .the rooms were very basic and a little tatty (peeling wallpaper,cracked tiles in the bathroom ,rotting window frames) but clean enough .
The hotel is very well situated with plenty of free parking if you can find a space .
The staff were all friendly and efficient and the breakfast had plenty of choice and was really well cooked .all in all we enjoyed our stay and with a lick of paint this hotel would have been perfect

Room Tip: some of the rooms semed to be better decorated than the ones on the top floor where we were situated.luck of the draw i think
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are working hard to rectify any problems and I kno Rob , Des and their team will be trying vey hard

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Grand Ash is in a very convenient position for sea front, shops etc. Our room was quite small but was clean and had everything we needed. Could not fault breakfast or dinner though desserts had room for improvement. I think overall the hotel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at back may be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The worst place you could ever stay in it should be closed down.Mouldy bread, dirty bathrooms, peeling paint and very generally run down. Rooms small and not very nice. Pillows stained and awful from previous guests. You really do not want to stay here as you will wish you had chosen somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you are happy with your room before you accept it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews