We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Ash
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have just returned from this hotel with the 45 people i took with me After reading reviews I was concered about takeing my group here, Well all I can say is yes its a basic hotel , we got me down to earth mangerment, frindly ,clean & good food to me thats whats important entermant was better than 5 star hotels ive stoped in with groups ive run this group for 14teen years i have not 1 complaint of 45 people DES was the most helpfull person you could wont to meet & he was jack of all trades we didnt know how he could do it , rob was a great manger & kerry worked so hard to make sure all was ok, to all the people who MOAN about little things put your hands in your pocket & pay for a 5 star hotel get real this hotel is trying very hard in a bad climet to sevie dont knook it help it We been to posh places that are worse than this WE WILL BE BACK HERE

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your honest comments. It is nice to read the truth about what people see and get. We know we are not the 5 star Hilton or Ritz but you do get honest people, good food and a warm welcome.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

we have just returned after a coach holiday at this hotel. It is a basic budget hotel but clean and well situated for all the amenities etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we can't fault the food at all. The portions were good, there were 3 choices for appetisers, 2 choices for starters, 4 or 5 choices for main meals and again 4 or 5 choices for pudding. Their chef is an asset to them, all the meals were well cooked and delicious. If they were bland we didn't notice but the modern trend is to cook without salt etc. Other people on the coach also made the comment that they couldn't fault anything. Our room was cleaned every day, the cups were washed and towels were changed. I don't know what people expect from a basic budget hotel. If they want posh they should pay for a posh hotel . Will definitely go back again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments, as you say we are not the snob's of the industry but what we do we do well and that is what we are giving is value for money, more than you would get at the Dorchester or Ritz, but eh we are not all millionaires.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at the Grand Ash and were very disappointed this time. We chose to go back there as, albeit very basic, it was always good value for money, not this time. The food portions have shrunk to half of what they were on our other stays there, one night we ordered the desert and were given something not even on the menu but the waitress disappeared quick before we had a chance to say anything. The rooms have been refurbished and the mirrored wardrobe door had a large gap at the top but fitted ok at the bottom (I put that down to them using Bob the Builder!), they now have duvets too but had a small double duvet in a normal double cover so one person had the duvet while the other had a bit of duvet and only cover!. We stayed for 3 nights and the room was'nt cleaned once just the wash basin, they cups were'nt even washed up this time. Also the TV is way too small for the room, last time we stayed there we had a decent size flatscreen TV now its back to the old type 14" TV. We used to love staying at the Grand Ash but will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chucklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments on the Grand Ash Hotel.

I was naturally concerned to read of the unfortunate incidents which lead to your dissatisfaction and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

I have spoken to my manager who informs me that nothing was reported to him about the problems otherwise these could have been recitifies immeadiately

Once again my sincere apologise for any inconvenience and with not meeting your expectations on this occasion. If you are considering staying with us again please contact me on my direct line and I will endeavour to make sure your stay is enjoyable in every respect

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel with an organised coach holiday. Bedroom was small and needed a little TLC, bed clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water for shower. Des and waitresses very friendly and helpful. Food ok, breakfast fine, evening meals just a bit bland. Thought the hotel was good value .for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lollipop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your comments and your review of the Grand Ash Hotel.

At the Grand Ash Hotel as with all of our hotels we pride ourselves on giving our best to all our guests, and should things not be quite right we always try to rectify them as quickly as possible and to the guest’s satisfaction.

Once again many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

when arriving the staff could not find the booking that we had made but luckly they had two rooms available for us .the rooms were very basic and a little tatty (peeling wallpaper,cracked tiles in the bathroom ,rotting window frames) but clean enough .
The hotel is very well situated with plenty of free parking if you can find a space .
The staff were all friendly and efficient and the breakfast had plenty of choice and was really well cooked .all in all we enjoyed our stay and with a lick of paint this hotel would have been perfect

Room Tip: some of the rooms semed to be better decorated than the ones on the top floor where we were situated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are working hard to rectify any problems and I kno Rob , Des and their team will be trying vey hard

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Grand Ash is in a very convenient position for sea front, shops etc. Our room was quite small but was clean and had everything we needed. Could not fault breakfast or dinner though desserts had room for improvement. I think overall the hotel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The worst place you could ever stay in it should be closed down.Mouldy bread, dirty bathrooms, peeling paint and very generally run down. Rooms small and not very nice. Pillows stained and awful from previous guests. You really do not want to stay here as you will wish you had chosen somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you are happy with your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wildings Hotel
Wildings Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
The Marlborough Hotel
The Marlborough Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing