We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shamefull”
Review of The Grand Ash

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Ash
Ranked #60 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“shamefull”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After booking this hotel as a place to rest our heads and enjoy a wedding on the Saturday it was not as it should have been after a fair journey to this hotel we were greeted by two gentlemen on reception and given keys to our room when we entered our room on the second floor I had that horrible feeling of OH MY GOD the room was dull and dismal with a radiator that was fixed to the wall like a 1 in 10 hill the bathroom towel rail was loose and patches of damp sea lent around the bath but OK its a place to rest your head so of we event in to llandudno for a walk and decided we would eat later at the hotel well sorry it gets no better £ 16.99 four course each we both wish we had got a bag of chips the meal was tasteless and bland no other word can or could describe it breakfast was eatable but would have been better cooked fresh all in all we felt let down and was relieved to head to our net hotel in phewelli oh this was an exceptional place and cheaper

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was very sorry to read your comments and to learn that you did not find the Grand Ash to be to your liking. We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    42
    27
    20
    37
See reviews for
28
42
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My single room was probably the worst hotel room I have ever had . Very small and dark with a reject wardrobe from Ikea, with ill fitting doors and a cracked mirror, worn and ill fitting carpet, bed linen that was never meant for the bed it covered and a stained hand towel. I had to climb up a flight of stairs to reach the ensuite that was no better. The twin room my two sons shared was slightly better, but they too were not impressed. There were 2 good points. The old gentleman who seemed to be doing every job in the hotel sole handedly coped very well and we could not fault the breakfast . The rest was rubbish!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room that has been refurbished !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the Grand Ash Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

I really was very sorry to read your comments regarding the overall décor of the Grand Ash, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

On a more positive note, I shall pass on your comments to Des and also to the Chef.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Wakefield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Llandudno at the Grand Ash Hotel. We read many negative comments and some good ones before we went but this is our opinion. No there is no parking but that goes for 80% of hotels in Llandudno. There is plenty of pay and display parking and you only have to pay between 10am and 4pm, there is limited free parking as a lot of the people who work in Llandudno bag these spaces first but you can usually get a space after 5pm and then just leave your car there for the week. Use a bus, a tram a train or even your feet, have a beer in the middle of the day and don't worry about driving - you're on holiday. As for the hotel, we stayed in room 22 and the shower was poor, if you are over 5 feet tall you had to bend to get under it and the taps on the sink didn't match but although tired the room was cleaned every day and we had clean towels. The bedroom had plenty of storage space and the TV had every freeview channel. The breakfast was 4 courses and the evening meal was 5 courses and every meal was superb, the staff were really friendly and Des, bless him was waiter and receptionist as well as assistant manager. We would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Rob, Des and the Hotel Team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Please be assured that your constructive comments have been taken on board and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This room was very sub standard to say the least with loose wires running around the side of the beds.
The furniture was of such poor quality {wobbly, chipped and unsafe} especially the bedside cabinet with the Kettle and tea tray on. The only place it was all fit for was a skip. The whole room was drab and dreary with very little light save for a small amount through the fire exit door that had wired glass which meant you needed a light on all the time. The plumbing noises throughout the night and day left a lot to be desired and hampered your sleep. It is in need of a good quality refurbishment and pretty quick.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was very sorry to read your comments and to learn that you did not find the Grand Ash to be to your liking. We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of how immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Thank you once again for your comments, please be assured that these have been taken on board.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great yarmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

the location is excellent,hotel food and service good but the the hotel itself is in very bad need of a makeover.3 as soon as possible.the hotel itself is avery large and nice building but all the rooms and fittings are in dire need of updating.we changed rooms but the second one was no better than the first. first room was a box room at the back of the hotel second was at front more space but décor no better.the shower units in both rooms were disgusting . the OTEL IS A VERY LARGE AND NICE BUILDING BUT ALL THE ROOMS AND FITTINGS ARE IN DIRE NEED OF UPDATING. WE CHANGED ROOM BUT THE SECOND ONE WAS NO BETTER THAN THE FIRST. FIRST ROOM WAS LIKE A BOX AT THE BACK OF HOTEL,SECOND WAS AT FRONT LARGER BUT STILL NEEDED PAPER AND PAINTING SHOWERS IN BOTH ROOMS DISCUSTING.NO AIR CON AT ALL.

Room Tip: no comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michael y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was very sorry to read your comments and to learn that you did not find the Grand Ash to be to your liking. We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

We pride ourselves on the level of service provided and I was pleased to see that your comments are reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments, please be assured that these have been taken on board.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great yarmouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Reading various negative reviews, I just do not think it is fair. A budget Hotel, yes, dated, yes, but the staff and the quality of food more than compensate for this. The old adage you get for you pay for, well at the Grand Ash I honestly believe you get more than you pay for. I again say honestly I have stayed in much better rated hotels and the food was not on a patch of the Ash.
Rooms small but clean, bedding clean.Coffee tea etc, might be handy if they build a swimming pool, but you cannot have everything.!!!
All in all have no problems in recommending this hotel for an excellent break.
Any Hotel will only work if the staff are interested in what they do, they are!! well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Rob and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Llandudno and were pleased to see that you found this to be the case. We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments and we do hope that you will be able to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our first impressions were good, when booking we asked to see a room and the one we were shown had ample space and nice decor, however the one we were allocated was on the third floor so a much smaller room with a limited view. The bathroom especially could do with an overhaul but it was clean and useable. The communal areas seemed more recently decorated and the bar area is lovely to sit in with large windows.Breakfast was nice, seved quickly and importantly to us, our children were well catered for. Would definately return.

Room Tip: our room on the top floor was really muggy so id advise in hot weather to ask for a lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Rob and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Property: The Grand Ash
Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing