We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff helpful-Hotel shabby-overpriced.”
Review of The Grand Ash

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Ash
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Tired interior, paint peeling, dirty curtains,no hot water between 5/6,kitchen smells throughout restaurant and foyer,remains left in teapot,not the cleanest bathroom i have ever been in, lights over bed not working. Needs refurbishing.Staff very helpful but having to make the best of a bad lot. would not recommend to an enemy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank tmadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

I have just got back from a two day stay at the grand ash hotel me and my husband went with national hoilday the hotel was clean.The bed room was basic the shower was luke warm no hot water only the sink tap gave you hot water but the room was clean. the food was pretty bad on the first night it was luke warm and swimming in grease look like it had been re-heated second night the food was lovely and hot really enjoyed it breakfast was okay but you got a basic cooked breakfast.The entertainment was brilliant at night. The staff were friendly especially peter and angela they talked to the guest and asked regular if every thing was okay which made us feel really welcomed.I would stay at this hotel again because at the end of the day it is only a place to sleep and it is near the shops and it has local bus service to conway.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eagle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

The staff at this hotel soldiered manfully on in difficult conditions. Both rooms I tried were tired with very basic facilities, central heating not working, no spare blankets - brrrrr. Showers held together with masking tape and plumbed incorrectly, select hot if you want it colder. Seemed popular with the older generation, I was about 30 years too early. Many thanks to the coachload of Londoners checking out at 6 am on Thursday - possibly the noisiest group of individuals I've ever experienced - nice work! Breakfast was OK but there will be better hotels than this available.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Wanderer1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We stayed at the Grand ash hotel. It was outstanding, beyond belief. The rooms were to a exellent standard throughout. Clean bedding, tv, bathrooms were nipping clean, and the quality of the food was exellent. There were 8 of us in the party from work on a coperate event and we could not fault it at all. The best thing about this hotel was the decoration and the staff.. We had a full 3 course christmas dinner with all the trimmings including candles on our tables.The place was full of christmas cheer which went on the full stay of our weekend. The staff well brilliant is all I can say.. Fully commited to the guests. If you have the chance to stay here please make sure you go over the Christmas period as not to miss out on the greeting from the festive reindeer on reception.. Will be going back in the new year.
Lisa Thompson Newcastle upon tyne..

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lisashifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Stayed at the Grand Ash recently and found it to be clean and tidy with helpful friendly staff. OK it's not 5 star but if you want that you will have to pay 5 star prices. It's convenient for the town and the sea front and there is a good deal of parking space on the road outside. Breakfast was from 8.30 - 9.15am which wasn't of use to me on the last day, but the staff kindly made me some bacon sandwiches to take with me. At the price I paid which was less than £30 a night for a single room (which in my case turned out to have a single and double bed in it!) it was very good value for money. I would go there again with no worries.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldGolferWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#27 of 60 in Llandudno
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing