We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tilstone Guest House
Ranked #87 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and had a really good time. The location is great, not the closest to the centre of Llandudno, but there is great food available very close by (Mamma Rosa's Italian was great value for money). There is plenty of parking close by, not offroad but the streets are busy enough that you feel safe leaving your car there.
The owners are very friendly, and are always willing to help, the personal touch made the experience staying there that much better. Highly recommend the breakfast option, even if it means starting your day a little later than you might want.
The room was very comfortable, the ensuite was a little smaller than expected but that doesn't detract from comfort.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea-view room, the view in the morning is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBONE511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne J, Owner at Tilstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good hostel. We had the large twin room. Typical Victorian building, but it was a good size. Nice view. We recommend paying the extra £10 per night for the larger rooms, the others would be very small. Impressed with the flowers on the outside. Kept impeccable by our hosts.

Room. Clean, well aired - nicely decorated. No complaints there. Kept spotless by the hostess throughout our stay. En-suite was small, but it had everything in it. However we were slightly worried by the wiring in our room - it did not appear safe with wires coming out of the wall.

I was much appreciative of the free WIFI - big plus for a techy like me. Good selection of books for Mum downstairs.

Breakfast was good, plenty of it. We can recommend the poached eggs. You did have to order it the night before, but that was no problem for us.

Seen some complaints about parking - it does depends on when you arrive. Sunday afternoon the roads were clean as a whistle, but Monday rush-hour you can't find a spot for a couple of streets in either direction.

Only complaint from us - we arrived to find our hostess asleep, and apparently very annoyed at being woken up by guests arriving. Not the best first impression! Our entire stay felt a bit flat and dismissive, like we were just another set of guests and taken for granted. Seen other reviewers say 'nothing is too much trouble for the owners' - not the impression we received. A shame, because based on other reviews, that doesn't appear to be the usual.

Overall, great little place in a (mostly) quiet location. Good, could be made outstanding with a few more touches. Thank you for a superb holiday Llandudno :)

Room Tip: Large rooms are less pokey - paying extra is worth it here. However, huge windows and busy road outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravenesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed her in June during Jubilee week to go hiking in north Wales. The location is great, the room and bed was comfortable, the breakfast was enormous, and the price is very reasonable. The hosts were very friendly and eager to ensure all guests felt "at home". I would definitely stay again on my next trip to Wales as the Tilstone is a wonderul value. Reg K.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for one night, the room was very comfortable although the ensuite was a little small, all immacutely clean. The gardens were beautiful. As said by others parking is on the street we found a spot over the road. A short walk to the promenade and approx 15 min walk into the centre, there is a bus stop outside if you don't want to walk. Paid £60 for a double room, breakfast was lovely although you had to pick it the night before.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debster005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here- must be good to return!
Hosts are fantastic and nothing is too much for them.
Rooms are good and are being upgraded as the owners realised that this was needed.
Our bathroom was tiny, but there was hot water and the shower worked well, so OK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lovely room, clean and tidy. Quiet location with a handy shop over the road. Lots of road parking. Only issue we had was that the toast I had for breakfast was mouldy!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananasrag12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne J, Owner at Tilstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

I hope you had a good stay with us at the Tilstone.
I am really upset about you comment about mouldy bread as I pride myself on my breakfasts.
I dont understand why you didnt mention it to me and give me the opportunity to put the problem right.
Im sorry you felt you had to wait to mention it on a review when you got home.
Any way Im sorry for any problem caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and i stayed at the Tilstone on the 18th and 19th June. We thought the place was lovely, as soon as you walk through the front door it smells really nice. It was really clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plenty, the Tilstone is situated in a quiet residential street with a convenient shop directly opposite. We had no problems parking and the beach was literally a minute walk away. Lynne and Steve are a really friendly couple, We would have stayed longer if only we didn't have to work. We would most certainly recommend the Tilstone and we will be returning.

Room Tip: we stayed in rm1 good size with sea view to left
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalfordToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,688 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vine House
Vine House
#58 of 146 in Llandudno
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astonwood Hotel
Astonwood Hotel
#62 of 146 in Llandudno
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilstone Guest House

Address: 15 Carmen Sylva Road, Llandudno LL30 1EQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £52 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tilstone Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tilstone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilstone Hotel Llandudno
Tilstone Guest House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing