We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The awful food let it down badly”
Review of St. Kilda Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Kilda Hotel
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, half-board early October. Staff were very friendly and the hotel is comfortable.
However, the food at dinner was dreadful and nowhere near the £20/ person extra charged for half-board. One has to choose ones evening meal from a menu presented at breakfast time. This is along similar lines to hospitals and should have told us something. The ingredients were clearly sourced as cheaply as possible and very badly cooked. Perhaps this is because they appear to cater for coach parties.
The breakfasts were fine so one would certainly be OK on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TurbotTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at the St Kilda last week. With a party of 41 people. On arrival we had tea and scones. All the bags were taken to our rooms.
Breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. Staff were extremeley helpful and friendly.
Evening entertainment was also excellent. Would recommend this hotel and would go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shaz070458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

i dont want to be mean as the reception staff etc were really pleasant .

paid 108 per room for myself and my husband to inc half board.
got a budget sea view room. imperial , grand, and osbourne house similar were priced. Was sold the Hb on the phone and told many awards for the food.

Our bathroom was no bigger than a wardrobe, it was built into a corner of the room with a sliding door made out of MDF, hard to use shower, mini sink that you have in a downstair loo and a very tight loo.No where to sit in the room to look at the sea views and limited wardrobe space, certainely no longer than two days.Bed had a material head board (this screams potential bed bugs).

Average age group is in excess of 60 and my room would have not suited them for comfort or accessibility, we were moved next day to a room with a bath, this whilst clean was really dated. white tiles with spirals on.
Flat screens were cheap , ie dixons own brand.
Bathroom products were terrible, i had lived in a cheap ie 20 pn room in llandundo for three months three years ago, whilst working in the area and they used the same caustic products as the St Kilda.

Food was weird, pate good, cheese board goo, mains which was baked ham with salad, mashed potate, carrots and cabbage in maderia ham was terrible,
Breakfast on first morning ie a sat was good , totally different in terms of standard and quality on the sun, we had also gone from butter well presented in a tub to pats of cah and carry butter.
Where these awards had come from, goodness knows, test a resturant , open it to the public and see then how good it is , dont rely on a aged client group.
We didnt bother eating on 2nd night and went to osbourne house , shocked to see nightly rate was the same as the St Kilda. The osbourne is top end boutique with one of the best resturants i have eaten at.

Patio area at hotel gruggy with lots of bird mess on tables - easy to hose down each day.
Eveing entertainment was very old fashioned.
In my opinon this hotel has a very dedicated customer base of the older age, and hense the prices clearly remain for these guests, better the devil you know i suspect is the dedicated customers opinon and feeling safe.
, however at some point this customer base will be gone then how will the st kilda stay ahead.

much improvements or a hefty reduction on room price is needed.

I paid more for this hotel than my recent 3 days in dubai at a five star.

Garage at rear is good but really steep fire exit to access it from the resturant area.

Sorry but it needs to be said.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank leab295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at the St Kilda with my mother first week in august.
We were greeted by a lovely man who could be Harry Hills twin. We were given cups of coffee and hot buttered scones while our baggage was taken up to our room.
We payed extra for a sea view room that had a large bay window that looked onto the prom and sea. It was spaciouse very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom.
The food was excellent with a good choice. Bow who severed us most days, was a lovely and helpfull member of staff. All the staff were friendly and careing. The hotel is well placed for all the local amenities and there is plenty of info through the quiet lounge near the phone.
All i can say is that we have booked to come back for another week next july, staying in the same room. If you want good food and a freindly hotel. This is the place for you!!!
Jane Stafford.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jstaffordmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

been to the st.kilda many times the staff are so friendly nothing is to much trouble.the rooms comfortable and clean .now the food is to die for .we have had a lovely hoilday unfortunately its back to work to save to go back again soon

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed here several times, great value, great service and congrats for winning the awards, well deserved. Don't believe the negative comments.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

From the moment we arrived made to feel so welcome. Scones and tea as we got there and our luggage taken to our rooms. I took a party of 10 and the staff made sure each person was treated like a queen. Good rooms, staff were lovely and always gave us time. The food and service was wonderful and entertainment was great and the night started with cocktails in the bar or a lovely sherry 4 and 5 course meals each night and we even had truffles on the last night. Staff on hand to help with luggage to the mini bus on leaving.already looking for new dates to book but this time a bigger group.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radiostar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGR, Guest Relations Manager at St. Kilda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely review we are very pleased you all enjoyed your stay during one of our Theme Breaks.

Our homemade complimentary scones always go down well with our guests especially after a long journey.

We look forward to seeing all of you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evans Hotel
Evans Hotel
#45 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kilda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kilda Hotel

Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Kilda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
St. Kilda Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Kilda Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing