We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Hotel”
Review of St. Kilda Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Kilda Hotel
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The St Kilda is a very clean hotel. All the staff are very friendly, especially Brian who always has a laugh and a joke with you. The food was good. It was nice to be served breakfast rather than buffet style. The tea and scones on arrival are a nice touch. The entertainment was very good. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be nice here. We had a standard rear double room which was excellent, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BessAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    41
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
35
51
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was the third visit to St Kilda for my husband and myself and we will definitely be going again. The hotel was spotless, the staff were friendly and the food was good. This is a hotel that many guests return to time and time again. Brian is always keen to help and have a laugh and a joke no matter how busy he may be. We are now saving up for another visit.

Room Tip: Sometimes a family room can be allocated to a couple, these are far more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vivien_hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, half-board early October. Staff were very friendly and the hotel is comfortable.
However, the food at dinner was dreadful and nowhere near the £20/ person extra charged for half-board. One has to choose ones evening meal from a menu presented at breakfast time. This is along similar lines to hospitals and should have told us something. The ingredients were clearly sourced as cheaply as possible and very badly cooked. Perhaps this is because they appear to cater for coach parties.
The breakfasts were fine so one would certainly be OK on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurbotTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at the St Kilda last week. With a party of 41 people. On arrival we had tea and scones. All the bags were taken to our rooms.
Breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. Staff were extremeley helpful and friendly.
Evening entertainment was also excellent. Would recommend this hotel and would go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shaz070458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

i dont want to be mean as the reception staff etc were really pleasant .

paid 108 per room for myself and my husband to inc half board.
got a budget sea view room. imperial , grand, and osbourne house similar were priced. Was sold the Hb on the phone and told many awards for the food.

Our bathroom was no bigger than a wardrobe, it was built into a corner of the room with a sliding door made out of MDF, hard to use shower, mini sink that you have in a downstair loo and a very tight loo.No where to sit in the room to look at the sea views and limited wardrobe space, certainely no longer than two days.Bed had a material head board (this screams potential bed bugs).

Average age group is in excess of 60 and my room would have not suited them for comfort or accessibility, we were moved next day to a room with a bath, this whilst clean was really dated. white tiles with spirals on.
Flat screens were cheap , ie dixons own brand.
Bathroom products were terrible, i had lived in a cheap ie 20 pn room in llandundo for three months three years ago, whilst working in the area and they used the same caustic products as the St Kilda.

Food was weird, pate good, cheese board goo, mains which was baked ham with salad, mashed potate, carrots and cabbage in maderia ham was terrible,
Breakfast on first morning ie a sat was good , totally different in terms of standard and quality on the sun, we had also gone from butter well presented in a tub to pats of cah and carry butter.
Where these awards had come from, goodness knows, test a resturant , open it to the public and see then how good it is , dont rely on a aged client group.
We didnt bother eating on 2nd night and went to osbourne house , shocked to see nightly rate was the same as the St Kilda. The osbourne is top end boutique with one of the best resturants i have eaten at.

Patio area at hotel gruggy with lots of bird mess on tables - easy to hose down each day.
Eveing entertainment was very old fashioned.
In my opinon this hotel has a very dedicated customer base of the older age, and hense the prices clearly remain for these guests, better the devil you know i suspect is the dedicated customers opinon and feeling safe.
, however at some point this customer base will be gone then how will the st kilda stay ahead.

much improvements or a hefty reduction on room price is needed.

I paid more for this hotel than my recent 3 days in dubai at a five star.

Garage at rear is good but really steep fire exit to access it from the resturant area.

Sorry but it needs to be said.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank leab295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at the St Kilda with my mother first week in august.
We were greeted by a lovely man who could be Harry Hills twin. We were given cups of coffee and hot buttered scones while our baggage was taken up to our room.
We payed extra for a sea view room that had a large bay window that looked onto the prom and sea. It was spaciouse very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom.
The food was excellent with a good choice. Bow who severed us most days, was a lovely and helpfull member of staff. All the staff were friendly and careing. The hotel is well placed for all the local amenities and there is plenty of info through the quiet lounge near the phone.
All i can say is that we have booked to come back for another week next july, staying in the same room. If you want good food and a freindly hotel. This is the place for you!!!
Jane Stafford.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jstaffordmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

been to the st.kilda many times the staff are so friendly nothing is to much trouble.the rooms comfortable and clean .now the food is to die for .we have had a lovely hoilday unfortunately its back to work to save to go back again soon

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kilda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kilda Hotel

Property: St. Kilda Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Kilda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
St. Kilda Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Kilda Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing