We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant value for money”
Review of St. Kilda Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Kilda Hotel
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed with a group of friend on war years themed weekend which we have been to twice before .the acts never change but would still visit but maybe go out in the evening or use the quiet lounge.we arrived and were greeted as ussual by friendly helpfull reception staff we ordered lunch which was good and not expensive.complimentary tea and scones followed.we had a 1st floor rear room which was a good size and spotlessly clean.meals are good but sometimes felt rushedby the waiting on staff who apart from one waitress were all very good.we had a couple of little extras , a glass of wine with our meal on friday and pre meal sherry on sat, evening and all for less than 100 pounds for 3 nights.it is just a pity that the cost if you visit individually is significantly more than this .if better deals were available we would visit more often, but will definately return in the party deal in the future

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Sorry but this just was not for us. Only wish that we had checked on Trip advisor before we booked. We booked what we thought was a superior sea view room at £80pp DBB. what was "superior" about it we just do not know???? Very basic room outdated. overpriced! little things niggled me for £80 per person you would expect to have biscuits replenished every day on the tea and coffee making facilities. was not happy with the food at all, breakfast was ok nothing to write home about but edible. Evening meal food bland and overcooked and again outdated. ordered the cheeseboard was not happy to have cheese and biscuits brought to me after being passed from table to table,not knowing whose touched what! The whole experience "dreadful" will not be recommending this hotel to friends and family. On the plus side room was clean and tidy. staff friendly. Just very overpriced for what it is. We recommend that you look around for a better deal most infact nearly all hotels on the seafront were a lot cheaper!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently stayed at St.Kilda and found the food good and the service good, unfortunatly we had a problem about the menu on one night which could be easily resolved but the waiter choose to be very rude which spoiled our break and we would think twice about staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clive l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGR, Front Office Manager at St. Kilda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Our management team would like to take this opportunity to offer our sincerest apologies to the reviewer. We strive to give our guests the best possible holiday experience, and pride ourselves on the friendly atmosphere created by our staff. We are deeply sorry to hear that these guests have been disappointed. The matter is being dealt with by the proprietors and the management team - and being treated with the seriousness it deserves.
Furthermore, we have been in touch with the guests who have accepted our apologies and we are very much looking forward to seeing them again in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was a member of a party of 29 friends and this is our tenth annual visit. If you visit the St.Kilda, you are treated to scones and tea/coffee on arrival whilst your cases are taken to your room. This is a traditional, British establishment with high standards of décor and cuisine. It has the 'family feel' that owners Mr & Mrs Jones and staff have inculcated over the years. All holiday breaks are what you make of them. Go in with a positive attitude and you won't be disappointed. The St.Kilda does 'exactly what it says on the tin'. The rooms are comfortably appointed but obviously aren't all the same size. Not everyone can have a sea view, but, at the back, there are stunning vistas of the mountains. If you want a disco every night, perhaps you should have gone to Magaluf. The (free) entertainment most nights is customer friendly and interactive. If it's not to your taste, there's a sumptuously luxurious lounge where you can find quiet time. Llandudno, with its spacious walks, fabulous views, handy shopping facilities and seasonal attractions, benefits from a sheltered microclimate. The St.Kilda, with its central, seafront location and covered parking, is a perfect base for a holiday break right through the year! We've already booked for 2015.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

just returned from a 5day break with 29 friends at the st Kilda hotel
the hotel is very clean but the rooms are very basic
good food and good service in the dining room
the entertainment was excellent the staff could have been more involved with us
but we all enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trefor1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGR, Group Marketing Manager at St. Kilda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we value all feedback and use it to improve.

Pam, Thea, Anna & Violet along with all the staff would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a We'll meet again 3 night break. We complained about the bedroom which we had booked as a sea view and it was very small with a porthole type window and a sloping ceiling.
We were given the option of 2 other rooms and picked the best of a bad lot. It was about 7 ft wide x 16ft long.

The entertainment was in the bar area and extremely crowded and cramped.

The only redeeming feature was that the food was good but could have been hotter.

Do not book room 339 unless you are happy to sleep in an extended broom cupboard.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaylen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Excellent hotel, great staff all very helpful, friendly & efficient. Great location. We were a party of thirteen and booked BBEM;it is not always easy to please everyone but this year we were all happy with the food. I would use this hotel again either personally or when we next hold our Conference in Llandudno.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 321terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kilda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kilda Hotel

Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Kilda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
St. Kilda Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Kilda Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing