We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hilary Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
330
26
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
330
26
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsnorth walesfreeview tvfull welsh breakfastquiet streetfriendly hostsoff road parkinglocation is idealset you up for the dayfabulous staytoastcomfortable staybed and breakfastbreakfast was excellenttown centresea frontcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

A warm welcome, and a response to all our demands concerning the environment, the places to see, and where to have dinner.
We appreciated the notebook written by the landlady: plenty of ideas to pick and information to get.
The room was very confortable, and we liked the every day chocolate in our tray, with the coffee and tea. Spacious bathroom.
We stayed one week and always found something to do,by foot or by car.
Unhappily, we haven't had a sunny weather, and it was sometimes difficult to go out for an entire day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie848689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed at the Hilary Guesthouse in room 7 for two nights and the room was truly beautiful! Your Guesthouse is absolutely delightful Deborah and Colin, a real credit to you both. The welcome was warm and friendly, and the Guesthouse was spotlessly clean, smelling devine - the fresh clean smell apparent as soon as you walked in through the front door! The bed was incredibly comfortable, and I enjoyed a great night's sleep, the Guesthouse being situated in a lovely, quiet area of Llandudno, but surprisingly convenient for access to the beach, shops and great restaurants; all of which were within easy walking distance.

We have all been very pleased with our rooms, and thankyou so very much Colin for the absolutely PERFECT!!!! breakfasts, not quite sure how you managed the most perfect breakfast which tasted exactly the same two days in a row, well done Colin, superb each time!

Thank you again for making our trip extra special, the restaurant recommendations were very helpful and didn't disappoint!, What more can I say but thank you, most pleased we found you to stay with.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We have been to The Hilary guesthouse on a number of occassions now and the welcome, rooms and service is second to none. We were treated like friends of Colin and Deb rather than just visitors to the guesthouse, and this is why we have returned a few times and plan to do so in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy-sarah-luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Immaculate, beautifully maintained guest house with many extra personal touches such as hand-made chocolates, a bedroom tray with all tea bags etc. in ceramic pots, wine glasses and tumblers provided. Very personal service with breakfasts individually cooked and served with a wide choice (though most chose Full Welsh) which was not only well cooked but looked attractive, - much nicer than a hotel self service!
Perfect position for walking to town, North and West shores; car need not be used at all. Excellent, full and personal Information File in each room, backed up by advice from a couple who know the area intimately.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Hilary and to be honest the rooms were of a very high clean standard and the breakfasts were very good as well and especially the fried bread which was outstanding but we feel that it was let down as we are smokers and we couldn't even smoke outside in the garden area and each time we had a cigarette we had to go across the road to put out our cigarettes in the bin as they don't supply ashtrays outside.

We were made to feel like second class guests just because we smoked and we didn't smoke on the premises and we just wanted to sit down on the bench outside to have a smoke but Colin made it quite clear that he didn't allow smoking anywhere outside the property.

We felt that both Colin and Debby changed their attitudes daily as one day they seemed ok but the next day they changed and were a bit distant and we felt this was due to the fact that they didn't like smokers and we both were made to feel like second class guests compared to the other guests as they quite frequently chatted with the other guests but seemed to leave us out in the cold at times.

Its a shame as the rest of the rooms and the breakfasts were very good and one thing which we thought was a good idea was the treasure chest in each room which we never used but which contained some very useful items sometimes forgotten when last minute packing.

If you are a smoker then don't bother with the Hilary but if you aren't a smoker then i reckon you will be given a warm welcome from Debby and Colin and we both felt that Colin is definately the more sociable of the two when it comes to chatting to the guests.

As proprieters they must realise that quite a lot of people smoke and if they don't want smokers staying at the Hilary then they should make it clear on their website when people book so there is no misunderstanding from the start.

Apart from the smoking issue i would have given the Hilary 10/10 but as it stands i am afraid i can only give the Hilary an 8/10 rating which is a shame as they obviously have gone to quite a lot of trouble to create a nice clean Guest House with lovely food as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHilary, Owner at The Hilary Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to leave a review about us.
It clearly states on our website and at The Hilary that we are totally non-smoking and this includes our car park and gardens. We do this as the smell and smoke can, for example, get into the dining room if one sits on the bench outside smoking and we consider this unfair to other guests. We do have regular guests who are smokers so they must have no issue with our policy.
As well as being inconsiderate to fellow guests and passers by dropping cigarette ends is unsightly and a criminal offence and, yes, I will admit to being less than enamoured at having to clear up cigarette ends up several times a day from the pavement outside The Hilary.
We appreciate the positive comments you have left regarding the other aspects of your stay and hope you find accommodation more suitable to your needs in future. I can advise you of places that advertise as having facilities for smokers if this will help you.
Regards
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews