We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Osborne House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osborne House
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We have just returned from the most wonderful nights stay at osbourne house! I cant think of anything bad to say about the place its fantastic! If u like romance,luxury,panoramic sea views and relaxation then this is the place to go.As soon as we walked in it was victorian splendour,A comfotable lounge with huge squashy sofas and a real roaring fire,A fantastic bar,and a gorgeous restaurant.We had a lovely meal in there,very nice menu and reasonable too.The staff are charming and helpful and the suites!...breathtaking.We didnt want to leave the room.We were really pleased that the current owners had obviously gone to great lengths to preserve the victorian charm of the place,with antiques and luxury furnishings and lovely paintings everywhere...we will be going back there again and again..its lovely

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladypManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Osborne House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were getting married in Llandudno. We stayed in Suite 102 (Victoria) and it was stunning and huge (big enough for two!). The room had a lovely comfortable white sofa, large TV, table & chairs near the window which overlooked the sea. The gas fire was a plus however a bit too warm to use.

The king size brass four poster was so comfortable and the Egyptian bed linen was also gorgeous. The bathroom had a lovely old fashioned bath and a shower with rain effect shower head.

The breakfast was ok but we are a little confused as to why you can't have a cooked breakfast on the premises, as the restaurant kitchen is downstairs. However having it served in your suite was just fantastic.

After the wedding we were greeted back at the hotel by staff with champagne and they could not have been nicer. They could not do enough for us. After drinks we had dinner with our guests (20) in the conservatory part of the restaurant, again staff could not do enough for us and every single guest commented on how lovely the service & food was.

Overall this hotel is worth the money you pay for it, the surroundings and service are superb. It is also in Llandudno near the pier, so I am a little confused why it is Conwy!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MCoutts1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Superb place to stay. Food, service & room quality could not be faulted. Breakfast was delicious & the resturant excellent.
Will stay again very soon I hope!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashmount_Haworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2007

I loved this hotel - but why it is placed on the Conwy page when it's actually in Llandudno is baffling. We booked for one night to have a romantic getaway for my birthday. It was a last minute decision to go away and we didn't want to travel too far. I love Llandudno, it is a very pretty Victorian seaside town and great for long walks along the promenade. Previously we have always stayed at The Imperial but the last couple of times it was very disappointing and a friend recommended Osbourne House, so we decided to give it a try. The only room they had available was on the third floor and I was concerned that the ceilings would be low. We arrived late afternoon and were met in the car park (there is a space for each room) by a member of staff. We went into the library to register and he then showed us the drawing room, bar and restaurant and then took us up to our room. It was quite simply gorgeous.

Each room is a suite, beautifully decorated and full of antiques. The big brass bed was huge and very comfortable. Homemade biscuits, fresh coffee and cafetiers, champagne buckets filled with ice and good quality glasswear are just some of the extras that are in every room as standard.

The bathroom was great with huge fluffy towels, roll top bath and walk in shower. The nozzle on my hairdryer didn't fit though. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening. The room is very plush but the food is unpretentious. I had duck spring rolls and salmon and prawn fishcakes and both were excellent, however my husband had bang bang prawns and fish and chips and he said both were disappointing, especially the fish and chips which in a seaside town should have been good.

The hotel does miss a trick in the bar by not serving champagne by the glass, only the bottle. I really wanted a pre dinner glass of champers and then move onto some wine. As they don't do champange by the glass we bought a bottle and didn't want to order any more wine. They would have made more money out of us had we done this. We had coffee in the drawing room after dinner. The room has a very intimate
feel about it and when staying at Osbourne House you feel you are staying at a house party rather than a hotel.

After dinner we returned to our room and had a wonderful nights sleep. Each room has a living flame gas fire and I will return in the
winter to fully appreciate this facility. We decided to have a cooked
breakfast at the sister (and larger hotel) which is just up the hill.
Breakfast was ok but not brilliant and to be honest I am suprised that Osbourne House don't do cooked breakfasts especially as they have the restaurant and only six rooms.

Before we left (we were allowed leave our car in the parking bay until 2pm) we had tea in the drawing room after a long walk and read the Sunday papers. Lots of people were arriving for Sunday lunch and we looked at the menu which looked excellent. Oddly diners were better dressed for Sunday lunch than they were for Saturday dinner.
Osbourne House is a special and elegant place to stay - I loved the feel of the hotel and would recommend it for anyone in need of re-kindling or igniting a romance or just getting away with a loved one for quality time we are all so deprived of these days.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank slj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

•Showing signs of wear & tear – particularly bathrooms (saw this in three of the six rooms they have)
•Good position on the front of Llandudno
•Nice large Bedrooms – cheaper second floor rooms probably the best value
•Lounge/bar area poor for residents as doubles up for non-resident diners, has very limited seating & can get very busy (smoking also allowed – until July at least!)
•Restaurant serves food all day & is good value
•Breakfast is another matter. They have sister hotel (Empire) where you can go for your breakfast (it is about 200 yards up the road) & it is far from satisfactory in relation to the room rate you pay to stay at Osborne. You can get ‘Continental’ served in your room at the Osborne but not at all good & I suspect brought down from The Empire – cold tea & toast & served by a person in an outdoor coat!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel-Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

This is a remarkable house, consisting of a handful of beautifully-furnished, spacious suites. Antiques-filled (along similar lines to Hazlitts in London or One Devonshire in Glasgow), high-ceilinged rooms with a viewof the sea.
The restaurant and lounge are equally beautiful and atmospheric. Food not exactly Michelin-starred, but very nice. If I find myself back in Llandudno there's nowhere else I'd stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

Truly the best hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in! Sumptuous suites (only 6 in the entire hotel) with mod cons and traditional luxury. Their website makes the hotel look good but it's even better in the flesh! A real treat which I cannot fault in any way. Our meal in the restaurant was superb with excellent service. Didn't want our stay to end and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Huntercat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House

Address: Promenade 17 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £145 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Osborne House Hotel Llandudno
Osborne House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing