We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to dine in llandudno!!”
Review of Osborne House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osborne House
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“best place to dine in llandudno!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

we decided to eat here after being tempted by 3 courses for £20.95.
the waitress showed us to a lovely table by the window.
In addition to the set menu we were also served warm bread with a vinagrette dip. delicious!
the 3 course meal itself was divine with plenty of vegetarian and fish options available. by the time it was sweet time we were stuffed but managed to force one down!
the service was very friendly and the waitress really looked after us. the ambience in the hotel was nice too. was that good we're thinking of returning again tomorrow night!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Juliawoolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    44
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
42
229
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have to leave another review on this place just to say thank you again for another fantastic stay. This has been our 8th visit in the last 6 years and we would not choose anywhere else to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries. The ambiance of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the overall feeling of well being as soon as you walk through the door of your fabulous suite (we love 101-Elizabeth) makes this our favourite hotel. We will be back.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Myself and 3 friends booked into the restaurant for a birthday meal for my friends 50th birthday. We called in on the Friday and booked a table and asked if we were ok to drop off decorations for the table and they were more than accommodating. All the food was amazing, the staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a great time can't wait to return. Good customer service combined with good sense of humour and in all a fantastic evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at the Osborne last weekend. An extremely relaxing and enjoyable break. The room was HUGE with a view to die for across the Bay. Eating breakfast was a joy: 'continental' doesn't really cover it : croissants, mushroom pastries, apple pastries, yoghurt, museli, fresh fruit salad, coffee, tea, freshly squeezed orange juice, white and wholemeal toast, and jam and marmalade. We ate one hot breakfast at parent hotel, the Empire, just around the corner, but realised it is so much nicer being brought a vast breakfast on a tray to our room, served by a lovely waiter. And to look out across the sea, watching the world go by, in our pyjamas: perfect! I could not fault the staff, who were all extremely helpful and cheerful. Perhaps the room could do with a little updating (the blackout curtains particulary are showing signs of wear and tear, and a bit of paint needed here and there), but it was extremely comfortable, lavish even, and felt very cosy. Dinner was excellent, very relaxed and tasty food, with a wide choice. Wine was reasonably priced and we were able to take our time, never feeling rushed or hurried along. I loved the Osborne and would happily return. Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Helene - room 103 - HUGE with a fabulous view of the sea and Llandudno Bay. And your own seagull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellorCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Yet another relaxing stay with fabulously attentive service, excellent food and BOGOF wine prior to a theatre visit.
We had a first floor room (101) with the worlds comfiest bed. Opted for continental breakfast with fresh fruit & pastries. I did miss the usual home-made bread but that's just personal choice.
The mushroom pastries are heavenly if devilish!

My only gripe would be to make sure the windows were cleaned as this did spoil the morning view of the bay.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have bay windows to sit & enjoy breakfast & second floor has a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyTofLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Osborne House is definitely a Hotel to be recommended. Large comfy rooms, a view of the sea and excellent service.

We booked dinner bed & breakfast and were very happy to eat there three nights running. .

The restuarant was busy at the weekend with a good feel about it and the wines are well priced

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms havre a better r sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We ate at Osborne House on Monday 6th May (Bank Holiday). We were a party of 4 comprising of 2 adults and 2 teens. From start to finish we had a great time - the food we ate wasn't the best we'd ever had but it certainly wasn't the worst. We actually liked the various 'areas' where you wander through from sitting room to bar/brasserie and into the grandeur of the dining room. As far as I am aware the present owners have modelled the dining room in the fashions of the era in which it was built (around 1850) thus the dark colours and the large paintings represent the original house, which belonged to Andrew Walker (Liverpool Tate Gallery). But enough of the history and onto the food...

Starter:
Seared Scallops in lemon butter with bacon salad (x2) - the scallops were beautifully cooked - the dressing on the salad was too acidic for our taste but we did eat all of our starter.

Main:
Fresh Grilled Fillet of Plaice with garlic butter (x1) - it was good but very greasy, overly so for such a good piece of fish. Also I asked to swap the accompanying potatoes/veg for a salad - this was done but as extra cost, which I think is a bit cheeky.

Deep Fried Fish & Chips in a crisp batter with salt and vinegar, mushy peas (x2) - these had to be the biggest plates of fish and chips. Ever! And for 2 teens who are both built like twiglets, they were simply overfaced with food. Both left around half of their plate untouched but this was the fact that there was too much rather than not liking it.

Bacon Wrapped Chicken Breast on herb risotto, tomato and basil sauce topped with parmesan (x1) - asked for the chicken but salad instead of risotto etc. Again, had to pay extra for the salad despite not having the other accompaniments. The chicken was the worlds smallest piece of chicken which caused us some laughter - but in fairness it was cheeky to bring out something of that size, particularly when the plates of fish and chips were huge.

Desserts:
Trio of Ices (x2) - nothing really to say. Ice cream is ice cream.

Sorbet served in a brandy snap (x1) - 3 flavours of sorbet - it was nice and refreshing, the way sorbet should be. Didn't eat the brandy snap.

Celtic Cheese with homemade Walnut Bread & Chutney (x1) - small portion but well received.

We had no trouble with service however what we found is that the waiting staff did not seem to have particular tables to serve and therefore went around everyone. Because of they came as across as buses; either there were none or three came at once! They were all very friendly and we couldn't actually fault how they dealt with us - they were all an asset to the business, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were all very chatty :-)

I have noticed that it has been mentioned about the kitchen staff coming out into the restaurant. This happened when we were there too, but it seemed they came out to use the phone which was located on the desk where the till is. It didn't bother us at all, perhaps if you have little to talk about with your eating companions it may be something that you would take more notice of, but we didn't. Also the kitchen door does open into the restaurant, but I would have thought that this is as much to give the waiting staff access to the cooked food as it is to keep the kitchen and dining rooms separate. Given that the building is Victorian and listed there are often things that cannot be done to change the layout. This also goes for the disabled access which is through the rear of the building and is clearly stated on the Osborne House webpage.

Our party had great fun here at Osborne House. We would like to go back and eat in the brasserie-style area. The food could definitely be improved on and small things like being unable to change vegetables for a salad - well these are the things that bring down the overall scoring of the place from 'very good' to just 'average'. And to say we spent over £120 on our meal and drinks, small things like that leave us feeling slightly cheated. It wouldn't be our first choice of places to eat but we wouldn't rule it out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_DLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
943 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House

Property: Osborne House
Address: Promenade 17 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Osborne House Hotel Llandudno
Osborne House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing