We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure.”
Review of Osborne House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osborne House
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at Os. and as always, we enjoyed our visit very much.
There is a great welcome from Jo and her staff and help is on hand to transfer luggage etc. to the very comfortable suite overlooking the seafront.
We dined in the restaurant downstairs on two of the three nights where the food and attentive service was most agreeable.
Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry_Horace_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a 3 night stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed .The very large room was nicely decorated with a beautiful view over the bay. We had two evening meals in Osborne House and one in the sister hotel The Empire we enjoyed them all. This was our second visit to the Osborne house and we have had many visits to The Empire Hotel and they never disappoint.Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 59jandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a very disappointing experience. I made a point of pre-booking and explained that it was my mother's 90th birthday so wanted a nice table etc. When we arrived it was obvious that the restaurant staff knew nothing about it. We were plonked at a table in the middle of the room and had to ask to be moved. When my husband went to the toilet, the chef came in and left without washing his hands. When it was pointed out we were told there were washing facilities in the kitchen. My husband ordered lamb shank which was really tough. Everything was heaped up in a bowl (including dauphinoise potatoes which he had said he didn't want. The said they couldn't replace them with something else,so he had to have a side bowl of chips. My risotto was the worst I have tasted - like glue. My mother's new potatoes were swimming in a bowl of melted butter -again a side dish, as there were no vegetables with her fish. The staff were doing their job and that was all. I thought they could at least have wished my mother a happy birthday! The décor of the hotel was lovely but spoilt by the lack of detail to the little things which make customers feel special and also quite frankly to the poor quality of the meal. We had planned a special day, driven for two hours to get there and wish we hadn't bothered!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jenpaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We just want to echo the recent five star reviews about Osborne House. We are just back home from a three night stay which was a wonderful experience in unique surroundings. Couldn't praise the Staff or the quality of food and wine highly enough. Go there and find out for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LT170611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I have been eating at this restaurant for years and it has been one of our favourite. Unfortunately, the quality of the food has declined. On Saturday, we had lunch and we had excellent service from Joe (who is the soul of the place) and the other waiters.

However, the food was terrible; we had fishcakes with a sort of "texmex" sauce which was very spice and unpalatable. The fishcakes were not cooked properly and were mainly made of potatoes and cheese probably. I understand that they have a chef from Texas who probably needs more training. We had a similar bad experience the previous time.

I was going to request a refund but my wife said that we would have to go back to eat if we got any money back. So there, we will not be going back, which is a shame because we love the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have recently had dinner with friends at Osborne House, and would certainly suggest to anyone
visiting the area to book a table..Staff were more than helpful and went out of their way to explain the menu in full. My choice for main course was the very fresh Conwy mussels... not for someone who has a small appetite!! Very tasty. Friends equally a good choice one ordering salmon the other ordering a beef dish...Both agreed the food was exceptional....

Will certainly return when I visit again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank l0l48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In the past we've has decent food & service, but on our last visit the food wasn't up to the Osborne's usual standard, and the service was alright. We went to Osborne House for lunch & for a lunchtime the place WAS busy, but I felt that the little things that have been there in the past was missing this time.
As the majority of the table were drinking some form of alcohol & one of the senior members of the party asked for a couple of jugs of water to be left on the table, to be told that they don't leave jugs of water on the table & that staff would fill the glasses as required - the only time this happened was when we found a member of staff & asked for a top-up.
The standard & quality of food had definitely gone down, there seemed to be very little care with the presentation of the food, the various meats according to party members was overcooked, even the Yorkshire puddings were different, one person had soft ones whilst another had crispy ones. The beef was overcooked whereas in the past it has been cooked beautifully, even the salmon - that too was overcooked as it wasn't soft in the middle & the outside showed signs of being kept too long under the warming lights. The menu said that there was vegetables with one of the meats, but when the main arrived there was NO vegetables so we had to ask for some.
We even had to ask for teaspoons for the very young children in the party for their ice-creams as they were given large dessert spoons!!!!!
I would be very dubious in going to Osborne House in the future.
Finally although it is possible to have a set 3 course menu, there is NO discount for a TWO [2] course menu - you pay the same, my suggestion - HAVE A 3 COURSE MEAL & GET VALUE FOR MONEY.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillsDouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House

Address: Promenade 17 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £145 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Osborne House Hotel Llandudno
Osborne House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing