We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic opulance at its best”
Review of Osborne House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osborne House
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Romantic opulance at its best”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

You seriously can't beat Osbourne House for a luxurious romantic relaxing weekend away WITHOUT the kids. It's top notch in all areas. Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    43
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
41
224
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester , England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This was our first visit to Llandudno and wanted to choose a hotel with character rather than just a chain style hotel. The room was £150.00 for 1 night which seems a bit steep but you honestly do get what you pay for. This is definately a place to stay if you want to impress your other half. We were both very impressed with everything about our stay here.

On street parking is situated directly outside the hotel. There is also parking at the rear of the hotel also. We arrived at approx. 11 am and were fortunate to get a space outside the hotel. Arrive early is our advice.

Our room was not ready until 2.00pm but on entering it was well worth the wait. Although it seems old fashioned this is what actually makes it seem more luxurious.

Location is right on the promenade near the pier. Town centre is directly round the corner.

We did not dine in the restaurant as the menu was a little too fancy for our liking and a bit pricey also.

Breakfast is continental style which is served in your room. Full cooked breakfast is available at the sister hotel the Empire which is just round the corner.
Would definately stay here again and would highly recommend this a perfect place for couples wanting a romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanticCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I am originally from Llandudno and moved away a couple of years ago, i miss it so like to come back a couple of times a year! I have always stayed in Osborne House and absolutely love it! The rooms are beautiful and the biggest we have stayed in. It does beat any 5 star we have previously stayed in. We loved having our breakfast in our room each morning, we loved the fact that we could order the most lovely meals, eat them in our rooms watching the sea out of our window. We both have very stressful jobs so when we go away we literally like to eat, sleep and relax for the whole time we are away, and this is totally possible in the Osborne, as we were literally left alone for the whole time, knowing that if we needed anything, we could just ask!
And then there is the beds, we both had the best nights sleep we had ever had, and now want to know where they buy their bedding from so we can buy it! We will be going back everytime.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samstone34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We paid up on leaving and a few months later my friend's parents were receiving threatening letters from the sister hotel of this one (we had never even set foot in there). Despite knowing we had paid in full prior to leaving we had not, a few months down the line, got the receipts to hand and we had to pay over £300 again to avoid being stitched up in Court.

A real shame as the stay was good at the time but of course we would never ever go back there again now.

If you visit or stay here keep a very close eye on your wallet and make sure they receipt you for every penny you pay. You have been warned!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AtravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Being local, we have often called into Osborne House for lunch, but will not be doing so again in a hurry as we were made to feel less than welcome on our last visit.
It was pouring with rain; there were no parking spaces outside the hotel ,but we managed to find a space in one of the streets behind the hotel. I hasten to add that we did not park in the limited spaces allocated for residents at the back of Osborne House .However, we were opposite the residents entrance, so we walked in that way, through the conservatory, only to be told in no uncertain terms by a very officious young lady that we should not have entered the hotel that way. We explained that we had parked at the back , only to be further reprimanded as she assumed that we had parked in the residents' parking spaces. By this time we were beginning to regret that we had bothered to give them our custom.
We had come specifically for the 'local' plaice , only to find that it was 'unavailable', so we had to settle for a toasted sandwich, which proved to be totally uninspiring and over priced.
Osborne House staff need to remember that local people sustain the business throughout the winter months when the tourists have all departed. Their staff need to remember that they are employed to serve and encourage more custom rather than alienate local people who provide them with business for 12 months of the year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank residencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This was our first visit to Osborne House, we have been happily staying at the sister hotel The Empire for many years, however having the opportunity to "get away" without our teenage boys, we decided to give Osborne House a try. We had been in for coffee previously and were very impressed, but having stayed there we are now even more impressed!

From the moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome by friendly and attentive staff, as we were a little early for check-in we had lunch (which was delicious!), by the time we had finished lunch our room was ready - and wow what a room! beautifully decorated/furnished with every little detail addressed, plus a wonderful view over the bay from our window - we couldn't ask for more.

Continental breakfast was served in our room, which if being really picky hubby would have prefered a full breakfast, however the option was there to go The Empire for this if he really wanted to, but then you weigh up being able to sit in your window eating breakfast in your robe watching the world go by - not a difficult choice really! We ate in the bistro during our 3 night stay, again food excellent, service friendly, attentive but not intrusive.

All in all a wonderful break and we will be visiting again - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janso0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

You cannot be disappointed with this hotel. Rooms fantastic. However i do agree about the staff being slightly snooty. They where very nice to us but where rude to a older couple sat in the window having coffee. The couple in question where dressed casually and had shopping bags with them and the staff seemed to turn there noses up about this. Shame they didn’t recognise them like i did as that old couple where actually Lord and Lady Stafford! whoops! Don't judge a book by it's cover!!
Hope the owners read this as they have obviously invested a lot of time and money into creating this lovely hotel but please don't let stuck up staff ruin what you have created.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank millysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House

Property: Osborne House
Address: Promenade 17 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Osborne House Hotel Llandudno
Osborne House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing