We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL BUT DATED”
Review of Cae Mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cae Mor Hotel
Ranked #53 of 145 Llandudno B&B and Inns
England
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL BUT DATED”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and found the location ideal and no problem parking as it has its own large car park. We were in a superior room which was spacious and clean but dated. The "double" bed turned out be 2 single beds pushed together. The bathroom was super. Really enjoyed the Welsh breakfast but did feel overall it was over priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanniejeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaeMorHotel_30, General Manager at Cae Mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive comments with regards to your stay with us, i would however be interested in hearing from you directly concerning what aspect of your stay made you feel it was overpriced and dated.
I do hope that these 2 points would not prevent you from staying at the Cae Mor again should you be visiting Llandudno.

Once again thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    149
    67
    18
    17
See reviews for
69
244
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here with friends on busy Bank holiday. Lovely hotel right on the promenade. Rooms clean and spacious. Parking no problem which is a big bonus in Llandudno! Very good breakfast and staff pleasant and helpful. Would recommend for visit to the town. Near shops, pier and you are able to walk the length of the prom.

Room Tip: Good for being on the prom and able to park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesta_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaeMorHotel_30, General Manager at Cae Mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us and positive remarks concerning our car parking facilties.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

In Llandudno for show at Venue Cymru on 26 April 2013 and this hotel was next door. Location is right on the seafront which was an added bonus. Although hotel is a bit dated it is very clean, comfortable and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. For a one night stay it was perfect. We were lucky because although the wind was very cold, the sun was shining which afforded us the opportunity to walk along the pier and take in the fantastic scenery around.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view so you can appreciate the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedmondMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaeMorHotel_30, General Manager at Cae Mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us, we do hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here on the weekend of the 6th of April as my birthday treat. They have upgraded our room from standard to deluxe ( and a birthday greeting from the nice lady in reception). The room was spacious, very CLEAN, and the comfiest bed/ beddings that you can sleep on. We had a view of the Venue Cymru on the side but then we can see the Little Orme and the most beautiful sunrise in the morning. The breakfast room was light and if you're early you can have a table facing the sea with a very nice view of the Great Orme. The full Welsh breakfast was very tasty and not greasy at all, and that yoghurt was the yummiest i've ever had. The weather that weekend was just glorious! We had a lovely walk on the promenade all the way to the boardwalk. I would go back to Cae Mor definitely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab_aux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaeMorHotel_30, General Manager at Cae Mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us, i'm pleased to read you had a good nights sleep!!

We do hope to welcome you back to the Cae Mor in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

In town for a conferance at Venue Cymru. The Cae Mor is next door to the venue.
On the sea front ,lovely ocean views. Bedrooms spacious, very clean . Complimentary bottled water and tea & coffee /with biscuits.
En suite clean and spacious..
Food plain but tasty ,ideal for those who dont do "fancy".
Breakfast ,everything you could want, nothing too much trouble for the staff,who are pleasant and eager to please.
Will definately stay here again,

Room Tip: If you want to see a show at the Venue Cymru next door, if booked by the hotel they can get a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I booked 3 rooms arriving on the 3rd of April for 2 nights,myself and my husband our 2 teenage girls and my parents.rooms 19,18 and 21 all on the 3rd floor unfortunatly the lift was only working to the 2nd floor and my father needed an accesible shower and no stairs to climb.I was slightly panicked but the girl on reception was so accomadating she sent us off to look at another room on the 2nd floor which was perfect for my parents and had 2 bathrooms plus a small sitting room 15. the staff could not do enough the manager even tried to jump start our car on friday morning when it wouldnt start even though it was in the middle of serving breakfast.we used the hotel as a base for meeting up with family, the lounge was perfect and very comfortable and warm,yes the rooms had a few creaking floorboards and a rattling window but it added to the character.We travel alot and always book Hilton in uk or Clarion in Ireland I was worried about an independent place,all my worries were unfounded it was professional, personnel and above all very clean. To the managment I would say you have a wonderful team all extremly friendly,carpark was a bonus, breakfast was top standard even with a vegetarian teenager and a gluten intolerant adult to cater for.The pictures of the bedrooms on your own website do not do them justice our room 18 was huge it even had a jacuzzi bath and I was never in such a big bed.only fault I could find was the loo seat although clean was slightly worn which made it look dirty, this comment is not to complain but I believe in giving honest feedback so that people can mantain standards.Keep up the good work we will be back soon,but could you order the wind to be lowered down on the sea front please lol.Sinead from Dublin.

Room Tip: floors on the top floor very impressive room 18 had jacuzzi bath panoramic views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sineadm577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I am currently staying in this hotel, sat in the dark as the staff are cleaning the kitchen and have blown all the power, Sunday evening getting back to the hotel for a rest/lay down for the other half and they decided to start cleaning behind the fridges in the kitchen (below our room) constant banging and clashing so off to complain I go only to be told the chef has told them to clean up the kitchen despite it being on a Sunday afternoon so not a good start, also the kitchen being below our room we have a constant radio blasting out from the staff so I would recommend not staying on the ground floor.
Our room has a wet room but the floor is starting to rot away so its all uneven.
The building is old and the floors from the rooms above creek a bit, though it isn't too much of an issue, on the upside there is a nice big car park to park in.
Breakfast was OK but when the hotel was full they could not keep up with demand and we were waiting 35mins before being asked what we wanted for breakfast.
The staff were friendly but decide to have a chats outside our door room at all times of day, this is due to the dumb waiter and crockery store being in the room next to our room
oh and after 20mins of the lights going off and back on I am happy to say there staying on now! Oh no off they go again! Clearly spoke to soon!
All in all if you are deaf as a doornail then this is the place for you! Oh electric back on... Generally in need of a good overhaul and redecorate - Oh electric off again! - very old fashioned, which we expected, but the pics on their website give it more of an up lift than it actually has..
As I finish this the electric has come back again but who knows how long for..
Good location for town and seafront which is nice when walking the 10 mins in to the centre of town.
I will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedslad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaeMorHotel_30, Manager at Cae Mor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us back in November 2012, this review has only just appeared on Trip advisor hence the reason you have not had any feedback.
I'm sorry to read you encountered some issues during your stay such as the electrical problem; this was caused by the main fuse board for the part of the hotel you were staying in blowing. The reason for the electric going on and off was down to the electritcian who was on site fixing the problem. These kinds of issues are rarely with in our control.
In relation to your comments to do with the chef being told to clean the kitchen, we carry out a deep clean on a Sunday as it's normally our quietest day, we do this to comply with our obligations for health and safety and for this i make no apology other than to say i'm sorry the radio disturbed you and i will speak to our chef about this.
With regards to your other comments to do with the hotel being old fashioned, it has been decorated sympathetically to reflect the Victorian nature of the property and the town.
On a positive note i'm pleased to read you found the location of the hotel and the size of the car park to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cae Mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cae Mor Hotel

Property: Cae Mor Hotel
Address: 6 Penrhyn Crescent | Llandudno. Conwy., Llandudno LL30 1BA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cae Mor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cae Mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cae Mor Llandudno
Cae Mor Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing