We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A review I'm pleased to leave..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cae Mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cae Mor Hotel
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A review I'm pleased to leave..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Where can I start! This is our 3rd time at Cae Mor and definitely not the last. This is ulitmately a 4 star hotel.. why it's only a 3 star I have no idea! Rooms: Spotlessly clean and very well presented and set out. Beds: very comfortable and the bedding is always fresh and smart. Car Parking: about 16 sensibly sized spaces including several disabled bays. Now for the good bit if that wasn't enough. Food: breakfasts are to die for, good variety and spot on, plenty to keep you going all day or certainly until you evening meal which is as before excellent cuisine! Thanks again Cae Mor, room 4 is beautiful, my wife and I attended the theatre next door. A great place to relax down fully.. :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    135
    63
    14
    16
See reviews for
61
212
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
walsall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have wanted to stay at this hotel for some time, having had to cancel a booking in August 2012, due to illness and finding the hotel fully booked for Spring Bank holiday 2013, so we decided to forego our usual New Year break in one of the excellent "Forestdale Hotels" chain as we have done over the last ten years and try the Cae Mor. Its excellent position on sea front and parking facilities were a bonus, however our first impression was not good. Entering the hotel from the car park entrance the first thing to greet us - a black leather chair with a huge slash across the seat. Not good. The only place for this item should be the skip, and the carpet has definitely seen better days. Our bedroom - room 6 was good, and the standard of cleanliness was excellent except for the window frames, both here and in the lounge areas. These badly need some maintenance as a matter of urgency. The hospitality trays were good, but the room needs some re-organisation, in as much as re-siting the television on the wall above the mirror. It is impossible to use the dressing table if the television is switched on. Unfortunately the bathroom is much too small and badly designed. It is impossible not to get the floor wet when trying to manoeuvre yourself out of the bath. We feel the only solution is to remove the bath and make a walk-in shower. The food is good, but our first meal took an hour to arrive and came on cold plates which made the food barely warm, not a good start. However, New Years Eve Dinner was very good. The food was excellent, the service was quick and the three youngsters waiting-on were first class. The only fly in the ointment for the evening came at 7-45 when a party of six arrived in the basement restaurant the worse for drink that early in the evening and their antics spoiled what could have been a very good evening. Three quarters of the guests left the room for their bedrooms, the bar or the lounge, ourselves amongst them, only returning just before midnight. Would I stay at the Cae Mor again - yes, but it does need a little TLC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylocketWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed for the first time at the Cae Mor after seeing it on our many previous visits to Llandudno. A little gem of a hotel!!! We stayed for a 2 night break and would certainly return.

The staff were excellent, the food was excellent and the general all round service was excellent.

We stayed in room 4 - see a previous comment has said the bathroom was old and tired - it is a very old building and I hope that I am still in that sort of condition when I reach its age??? The creaking floorboards and odd sounds are called character, that's what it is all about. If you want clean lines, straight walls and no creaks then I suggest you go to a Travelodge or Premier Inn(bit of free advertising for them there). Had a decent sea view and our little well behaved cocker spaniel certainly loved her stay - thanks for the breakfast sausage!! No doubt we will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in November to go to the Venue which is next door, it was also located very near to the shops and a good positition on the seafront. The hotel was very nice and the decor lovely. Our room was a little small but was clean and had everything you could want. The staff were pleasent and breakfast was good but we had to wait a while for it, which was a bit of a let down seeing that it was mid week and the hotel was not busy. The hotel has its own car park which is ideal.. If we visit Llandudno again we would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 4, whilst the room was very good and the bed large and comfy, the bathroom was very disappointing , at least 20 years out of date, and this was one of their superior rooms !! On saying that,the staff and manager were top notch .the breakfast was top class to, had plenty .

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a pre theatre meal at this hotel although we were not staying at hotel. We just called in and asked if it would be possible to book a table on the off chance. Very good meal and service every table was occupied so we were lucky to get in. Would definitely eat there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jip808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for one night, following a show at Venue Cymru. The room was a 'superior' double and was large, with a beautiful sea view. There was bountiful storage space, plenty of mittors both in the room and in the en suite. Tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and biscuits were in plentiful supply - far more than in the chain hotels.

The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive and breakfast was excellent. We would definitely go again andbalready are thinking about a three night stay early next year

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
1.1 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cae Mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cae Mor Hotel

Property: Cae Mor Hotel
Address: 6 Penrhyn Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1BA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#32 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cae Mor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cae Mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cae Mor Llandudno
Cae Mor Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing