We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely dreadful- do not go near!!!!”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we stayed monday to friday at the beginning of January and this has to be by far the worst hotel we have stayed in.As other visitors have stated it is shabby but far worse than this was the quality of food.Comparable to hospital food it was either undercooked,overcooked or swimming in garlic.Our room was freezing with the radiator barely warm.We were told this was as warm as it got and was given a portable heater which didnt help. On the third day it packed in completely and on the final day it was mended and the room was warm as toast.(it should have been like this in the first place but we were fobbed off twice by staff!)The bathroom was so small we physically had to back into it and couldnt get into the shower as it was so small.(I am not a large person). We complained to the manager about all these issues whos response was ' the small profit they made from shearings reflected in the service offered'- and that we needed to complain direct to shearings. I sent a letter to shearings and received a fob off letter back saying food was individual taste etc.I was so disgusted I phoned them and left a message twice for a manager to ring me where I was promised faithfully this would happen. Two weeks later I am still waiting. This company isnt interested once they have your money so please dont make the mistake we made. Ironically my mother visited this hotel last year and the food/ser vice was brilliant. Both have clearly deteriorated.

Room Tip: dont bother!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Hello angela B, very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that it was not a good experience for you. We do our best to offer very well priced holidays with packages that offer a lot of value. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed in room 125. Shower leathal, turn it cooler and the water came out in dribble. Supposedly fixed but no improvement. Food good for what you pay. Staff obliging . Rather annoying not to be let into room until 3.00p.m on arrival day. Take some thin clothes, temperature in hotel too hot.
Overall for what you pay it is good value. Unfortunately owing to the arrangements at Normanton, with not enough seats for passengers and the two hour wait each way we shall not be travelling with Shearings again.

Room Tip: 125 not very good, at back, no outlook and dark. Bathroom badly designed, no room to stand at basin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Hi Ann R, I am sorry you were caused issue with the shower in your room and the wait until 3 pm on arrival day for the room to be ready, it sounds like the rest of your experiences in the hotel were good. Coach travel isn't for everyone perhaps you could try one of our hotel breaks and make your own way to the hotel as an alternative? Many thanks for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

totally run down establisment megre food portions paid for all inclusive which turned out to be 4 drinks per day only via a stamped card you could only use these on the appropriate day we left on Sunday 26th Feb with 4 vouchers unused and unable to use how Sherings can call this all inclusive is behond me!
however the staff were exellent

Dr G.L.Waters

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leighandtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Hi leighandtrev, firstly thank you for scoring the hotel so highly for service and cleanliness and for commenting that the staff were excellent this is good to hear. I am sorry to hear however that you didn't appreciate the meals and the changes to the Inclusive Holiday Package, regarding the meals please tell the waiting staff if you are particularly hungry as I am sure chef can manage some extra, the changes to the Inclusive package have happened as a result of feedback from a customer survey the new voucher system offers more choice and increased flexibility as you can use it at any time of day. I would have hoped you would of found it still good value for money, as a three night hotel break (half board with entertainment, wine with dinner and the daily drinks voucher) was just £119 per person that weekend. Best of luck with your future travels maybe we'll see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

went on an inclusive weekend with national holidays
got off to a bad start, we arrived at 2.50 pm to be told that we could not have our room keys until 3.00pm. and were made to wait until 3.00pm, a coach full of guests with luggage herded into a small reception area. Do they not realise that some of us had been travelling since 7.30am that morning !
The room was ok but but very dark.
Water had to be run for ages before it got hot and we assumed that this was because we were on the fourth floor however people staying on lower floors were having the same problem.
The only heating in the bathroom was an electric towel rail that did not work.
Only thing good about the hotel was the food, plenty of choice and well cooked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leedsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Hi leedsjune, I do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and I am pleased to see you scored us highly for cleanliness, service location and value for money I do hope that you enjoyed your stay despite the areas you found disappointing. On Mondays and Fridays we depart the entire hotel up to 114 rooms, a lot of the rooms we do not get access to until the 10 a.m. departure time. We are aware that a lot of our guests have long trips when they arrive and we do our best to ensure arrivals are as smooth as possible. We are always grateful to guests for being patient with us and each other on the arrival day. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in, first we had to upgrade at a price of £18.50 each per night which put an extra £111.00 on our so called cheap stay, the room they first put us in was on the back of the hotel with a flat roof outside the window which had around 50 seagulls squawking on it and overlooked the fire escape, the place hotel was in need of a good overall, it was tired and dated with wallpaper hanging off due to the damp and mould, it was fairly clean but as the saying goes " you can't polish a t---" . Drinks were extortionate. The free bar sounds great but you can only get one drink at a time as you have to take your glass back to get it refilled and the queing is terrible especially when it gets to near the 10.30 deadline, they just stop serving bang on time wether you have been in the queue for 20 minutes or not the food was just about edible, though we only managed 2 out of the 3 nights and had to go out on our last night, sounded good on the menu but a bit of gristly stew with 4 potato croquettes is not my idea of dining out, Also you will look out of place if you are under 70. Llandudno was a lovely place though and had some beautiful places to look at.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lukasjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Hi lukasjo, sorry you haven't enjoyed your stay and that the meals were not to your liking. Your comments regarding damp and mould are misrepresentative of the hotel in general. The bar prices are comparative to pubs and bars but we cannot compete with social clubs and the likes of Weatherspoons. We have to be responsible giving away alcohol as we want to create an environment safe for all guests and staff free of the threat of upset caused by excessive drinking, If guests take more than one drink at a time I and the bar staff will have no control over guest's behaviour we are governed by licensing law. One thing we do when it gets close to 10.30 is talk to the guests in the queue to confirm who will be the last person served. The changes to the drinks system on the Inclusive tour recently introduced have resolved the problems you have raised in your review. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Did a 5 day break at this hotel with Shearings Coach Holidays,Found it to be very clean, though rather shabby,The staff were lovely very helpful.and the food was very good.An important point to look out for, the drinks in this hotel are very expencive.It cost £3.90 for a pint of diet coke,not a full pint at that.Its going to be more expensive still now that Shearings have altered their drinks package,As from Monday all of their hotels offering all inclusive drinks packages are only going to give 4 vouchers per day per customer We wont be going on a Shearings holiday again if that the case.we couldnt afford their bar prices..LLandudno its self is a lovely resort All the staff in the shops are very obliging we found this especialy so with the staff in the Greggs shop on the high street.. the Great Orme Railway is now closed until the Spring we believe.Thats worth a trip when its opened.As senior citizens from England you cannot use your bus passes in Wales. but you can buy a daily card for £3.50 we believe,And can use it anywhere in Wales as many times a day as you want which is good value as we had a ride out to Conway and it cost us £4.40 return from LLandudno

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitemolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Hi whitemolen really glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for placing comments on trip advisor, it is good to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to keep our bar prices competitive with pubs and bars and you will find our pricing comparative. Very good point you have raised about the changes to drinks policy on the Inclusive Tours. It is Wednesday of the first week of running the tour when I am writing this and aside from the initial reaction to the change the new system is working well, guests enjoy the flexibility of the new scheme where you can have your drinks any time during the day, the inclusion of tea and coffee is also successful. Even with two staff on both bars, queuing was an issue under the old scheme but this is much reduced now, anyone thinking of coming or who has already booked and is wondering what to expect should be reassured. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday with Shearings at this hotel. We are writing this review taking into account the very low cost of this holiday. We do not understand how Shearings offer this holiday at the price we paid for 4 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal with free drinks from 7.30 - 10.30 and wine with dinner, plus entertainment every night and trips around the area. We were welcomed by Naomi on reception who was very helpful throughout our stay. The only room available was a seaview at extra cost. It is definitely worth upgrading to have a view of the bay. The room was kept very clean by Zsuzsanna. It was of a good size with a king size bed and lovely and warm. The shower and facilities were excellent.
We were in awe of our waitress, Kate's, ability to serve numerous tables with such efficiency and friendliness. The food was acceptable with plenty of choice. Any special requests were accommodated by the chef.
The entertainment provided by the resident entertainers was funny and enjoyable. The cabaret night starring Clive Cope was very funny.
Because we could only book a Southern coach we drove to the hotel but took advantage of the trips offered during our stay. We particularly enjoyed the full day trip to Snowdonia National Park et al with Brian who was very knowledgeable about the area.
We understand refurbishment is taking place constantly in keeping with the character of the hotel.
Thank you so much for such a wonderful break with very friendly staff and clientelle.
Joan and Geoff

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Hello joan h, thank you for your review. It is so nice for me to be able to feed back to individual members of staff that guests in the hotel have enjoyed their stay and given them recognition on such a public forum. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 59 in Llandudno
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#20 of 59 in Llandudno
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 59 in Llandudno
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#29 of 59 in Llandudno
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: £79 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing