We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 day break”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Clevedon, s.w. UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4 day break”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Travelling from Clevedon, Sth West of UK. Quite a long journey, but using Shearings Coaches found them quite comfortable with suitable stops. Our first time in Llandudno, very impressed with the town and local area. Weather a bit inclement, but we didn't go there for the weather. Hotel: we had a small room at the top, but was comfortable and clean. Food: very acceptable even for one vegetarian, nothing was a problem. staff: seemed quite rushed, but very helpful and efficient. Amenities: All inclusive drinks from 7.30[pm to 10.30pm but when we got there it had changed. It was a card that allowed you 4 drinks to be signed for. Unfortunately we weren't told, but all worked out in the end. Cost: very reasonable and quite enjoyable. One plus, the indoor pool, liking swimming we used it everry day, always clean and never busy. All in all a good 4 day break. Shearing a very good company to use. Visit Wetherspoons a feally interesting theatre styled restaurant and excellent value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Try to stay on 1st or 2nd floor. Top floor ok but not for people with walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atalaya_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi Atalaya_UK, thank you for your review, it really is good to see some positive reviews for the hotel and the staff. Your review reads that you had an excellent holiday and you were well looked after so I hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    304
    192
    71
    56
See reviews for
125
395
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed recently at the County Hotel and a fortnight later at the Marine Hotel Llandudno, both Shearings hotels. We like the Drive and Stay facility that Shearing offers because it gives the flexibility to explore the area as much or as little as you please. Both hotels are on the seafront in good positions facing the sea. The Marine Hotel is nearer the centre of town within easy walking distance of the shops The County Hotel is further out but we find car parking easier there in streets near the hotel. Both hotels are equidistant from the theatre Venue Cymru a five or 6 minute brisk walk.
On balance we found that the menu at the Marine Hotel had more variety and flair and that the quantities were more satisfying. On the other hand the entertainment at the County Hotel was excellent including a Tribute Night. The young man who impersonated Elvis and sang his songs in our view was brilliant. The County Hotel has a bigger dance floor and there were more opportunities for folk like us, to dance Latin American and Ballroom dances. Staff in both hotels are super and the accommodation overall is good in both. Llandudno has a lot to offer. It well deserves its title the jewel of North Wales resorts. Its architecture, arrangement and setting ooze quality. Though very much in the twenty first century it nevertheless projects the atmosphere and gaiety of seaside holidays of yesteryear. The only cloud on the horizon to spoil the excellence of the resort of Llandudno would be the development of housing on Bodafon Fields which separate it from the Little Orme.

Room Tip: Check the deals book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leon194z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi Leon194z, really glad you enjoyed your stay in both of our hotels. There is always a little competition between us and the County Hotel as we are in the same resort and I appreciate the comments you have made about the standard of food at the Marine. The Head Chef smiled when I showed him your review. That said we both have our selling points and we try hard to please. Thank you for your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We visited this hotel with a group of friends, we have stayed at many Bay hotels and this is the worst one up to yet. Some of the staff were very pleasant but there were some that had no time for you at all.Food were shall we start, it was either over cooked or they run out what was on the menu, and did not offer any alternative.I can not understand why one table could have sliced potato's , when they run out they given us frozen little potato ball or crouquette potato's , we did not have a fresh potato or veg the whole time we were there. The bathrooms are not up to standard ours had a dreadful odour and very small space.rooms nead to be cleaned up and decorated. Pool the changing rooms very poor the mens toilet was disgusting and shower I am suprised that the environment people have'nt closed that area down it is a health risk.It is a place that we will not ever go back to. What is Sheerings doing ? do they go round and inspect these hotels?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shebob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi shebob82, I am sorry you did not find us up to standard on your visit, we do our best to ensure there is plenty of choice on the menu but I acknowledge that on occasion we do run out of some items when they are that much more popular than normal. It must be said however, that we do serve fresh vegetables regularly each and every week. Regarding the rooms there is an ongoing programme of refurbishment and a number of bedrooms and bathrooms are due to be completed in the next few months. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is very well situated, providing lovely views of the sea from room 320 - and conveniently close to the shops in Llandudno.
Overall the food was good. Waiter service. Breakfast - porridge, selection of cereals, full English fry, poached or scrambled egg, toast, fruit juice, and coffe or tea. Evening meal was a varied and good choice daily, and with a glass of wine.
Entertainment was enjoyable each evening. Bingo and a quiz, hosted by the talented duo, Sheila and John. Sheila is a good singer!
The room was fine. We had to take into consideration that we were on an inclusive 5 day trip with Shearings at a very reasonable price. Plenty of hot water. Hot radiators, Small TV with 4 or 5 channels. Decor OK and overall quite acceptable.
4 drink tokens are included with our holiday package - daily - which I thought was a good idea as the tokens can be used any time of the day for coffee, soft or alchoholic drinks. It was nice to be able to have early morning papers to read in the lounge as well!
There is an excellent clean, warm swimming pool available from 8.00am to 6.00pm daily. Either take a bath towel from your room or a towel can be hired for £1.00 - £1.00 returnable deposit.
We found the staff at the hotel to be both polite and efficient.
There are many good and interesting trips available from Llandudno,
To sum up our stay at the Marine Hotel - an enjoyable stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FarmerExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hi FarmerExeter, looks like you really enjoyed your stay with us which is excellent. Thank you very much for your post. It is good to read that the new voucher system on the inclusive breaks is being well received. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we stayed monday to friday at the beginning of January and this has to be by far the worst hotel we have stayed in.As other visitors have stated it is shabby but far worse than this was the quality of food.Comparable to hospital food it was either undercooked,overcooked or swimming in garlic.Our room was freezing with the radiator barely warm.We were told this was as warm as it got and was given a portable heater which didnt help. On the third day it packed in completely and on the final day it was mended and the room was warm as toast.(it should have been like this in the first place but we were fobbed off twice by staff!)The bathroom was so small we physically had to back into it and couldnt get into the shower as it was so small.(I am not a large person). We complained to the manager about all these issues whos response was ' the small profit they made from shearings reflected in the service offered'- and that we needed to complain direct to shearings. I sent a letter to shearings and received a fob off letter back saying food was individual taste etc.I was so disgusted I phoned them and left a message twice for a manager to ring me where I was promised faithfully this would happen. Two weeks later I am still waiting. This company isnt interested once they have your money so please dont make the mistake we made. Ironically my mother visited this hotel last year and the food/ser vice was brilliant. Both have clearly deteriorated.

Room Tip: dont bother!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hello angela B, very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that it was not a good experience for you. We do our best to offer very well priced holidays with packages that offer a lot of value. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed in room 125. Shower leathal, turn it cooler and the water came out in dribble. Supposedly fixed but no improvement. Food good for what you pay. Staff obliging . Rather annoying not to be let into room until 3.00p.m on arrival day. Take some thin clothes, temperature in hotel too hot.
Overall for what you pay it is good value. Unfortunately owing to the arrangements at Normanton, with not enough seats for passengers and the two hour wait each way we shall not be travelling with Shearings again.

Room Tip: 125 not very good, at back, no outlook and dark. Bathroom badly designed, no room to stand at basin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hi Ann R, I am sorry you were caused issue with the shower in your room and the wait until 3 pm on arrival day for the room to be ready, it sounds like the rest of your experiences in the hotel were good. Coach travel isn't for everyone perhaps you could try one of our hotel breaks and make your own way to the hotel as an alternative? Many thanks for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

totally run down establisment megre food portions paid for all inclusive which turned out to be 4 drinks per day only via a stamped card you could only use these on the appropriate day we left on Sunday 26th Feb with 4 vouchers unused and unable to use how Sherings can call this all inclusive is behond me!
however the staff were exellent

Dr G.L.Waters

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leighandtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hi leighandtrev, firstly thank you for scoring the hotel so highly for service and cleanliness and for commenting that the staff were excellent this is good to hear. I am sorry to hear however that you didn't appreciate the meals and the changes to the Inclusive Holiday Package, regarding the meals please tell the waiting staff if you are particularly hungry as I am sure chef can manage some extra, the changes to the Inclusive package have happened as a result of feedback from a customer survey the new voucher system offers more choice and increased flexibility as you can use it at any time of day. I would have hoped you would of found it still good value for money, as a three night hotel break (half board with entertainment, wine with dinner and the daily drinks voucher) was just £119 per person that weekend. Best of luck with your future travels maybe we'll see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing