We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Can-y-Bae(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelbourne Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Tynedale Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Kilda Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Oasis(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swn Y Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
167
343
204
74
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
343
204
74
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewself driveshearings hotelsswimming poolshearings holidaysea frontdining roomevening mealcoach driverserved hotturkey and tinselsuperior roommeal timesflat screen tvplenty of hot watersingle rooman enjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have just returned from a weekend break with National Holidays at the Marine Hotel. After reading some of the reviews I didn't now what to expect. Unfortunately, I found them correct.
On entering the hotel I was met by a smell - not too sure what it was- but it permeated through out the hotel, not pleasant.
The room,although clean enough, was tired. A shower curtain filled the gap in the shower cubicle where the shower door was missing. The two button flush on the toilet had a button missing and the hair dryer did not work.
Other than that the staff were friendly and helpful, the food - not great - but OK and the entertainment, John and Sheila, were good with their music, singing and quiz.
An enjoyable weekend but I would not stay at the Marine Hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Hi Bonnie693, I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and found the hotel clean and friendly. I can only apologise for the hair drier not working, I would have hoped the staff exchanged it for a working item should you have reported it. We are having rooms refurbished shortly which will improve the facilities we provide, so I would hope you would consider us again in the future as you did enjoy your holiday with us. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Travelling from Clevedon, Sth West of UK. Quite a long journey, but using Shearings Coaches found them quite comfortable with suitable stops. Our first time in Llandudno, very impressed with the town and local area. Weather a bit inclement, but we didn't go there for the weather. Hotel: we had a small room at the top, but was comfortable and clean. Food: very acceptable even for one vegetarian, nothing was a problem. staff: seemed quite rushed, but very helpful and efficient. Amenities: All inclusive drinks from 7.30[pm to 10.30pm but when we got there it had changed. It was a card that allowed you 4 drinks to be signed for. Unfortunately we weren't told, but all worked out in the end. Cost: very reasonable and quite enjoyable. One plus, the indoor pool, liking swimming we used it everry day, always clean and never busy. All in all a good 4 day break. Shearing a very good company to use. Visit Wetherspoons a feally interesting theatre styled restaurant and excellent value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Try to stay on 1st or 2nd floor. Top floor ok but not for people with walking difficulties.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atalaya_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Hi Atalaya_UK, thank you for your review, it really is good to see some positive reviews for the hotel and the staff. Your review reads that you had an excellent holiday and you were well looked after so I hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed recently at the County Hotel and a fortnight later at the Marine Hotel Llandudno, both Shearings hotels. We like the Drive and Stay facility that Shearing offers because it gives the flexibility to explore the area as much or as little as you please. Both hotels are on the seafront in good positions facing the sea. The Marine Hotel is nearer the centre of town within easy walking distance of the shops The County Hotel is further out but we find car parking easier there in streets near the hotel. Both hotels are equidistant from the theatre Venue Cymru a five or 6 minute brisk walk.
On balance we found that the menu at the Marine Hotel had more variety and flair and that the quantities were more satisfying. On the other hand the entertainment at the County Hotel was excellent including a Tribute Night. The young man who impersonated Elvis and sang his songs in our view was brilliant. The County Hotel has a bigger dance floor and there were more opportunities for folk like us, to dance Latin American and Ballroom dances. Staff in both hotels are super and the accommodation overall is good in both. Llandudno has a lot to offer. It well deserves its title the jewel of North Wales resorts. Its architecture, arrangement and setting ooze quality. Though very much in the twenty first century it nevertheless projects the atmosphere and gaiety of seaside holidays of yesteryear. The only cloud on the horizon to spoil the excellence of the resort of Llandudno would be the development of housing on Bodafon Fields which separate it from the Little Orme.

Room Tip: Check the deals book early
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leon194z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Hi Leon194z, really glad you enjoyed your stay in both of our hotels. There is always a little competition between us and the County Hotel as we are in the same resort and I appreciate the comments you have made about the standard of food at the Marine. The Head Chef smiled when I showed him your review. That said we both have our selling points and we try hard to please. Thank you for your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We visited this hotel with a group of friends, we have stayed at many Bay hotels and this is the worst one up to yet. Some of the staff were very pleasant but there were some that had no time for you at all.Food were shall we start, it was either over cooked or they run out what was on the menu, and did not offer any alternative.I can not understand why one table could have sliced potato's , when they run out they given us frozen little potato ball or crouquette potato's , we did not have a fresh potato or veg the whole time we were there. The bathrooms are not up to standard ours had a dreadful odour and very small space.rooms nead to be cleaned up and decorated. Pool the changing rooms very poor the mens toilet was disgusting and shower I am suprised that the environment people have'nt closed that area down it is a health risk.It is a place that we will not ever go back to. What is Sheerings doing ? do they go round and inspect these hotels?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shebob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Hi shebob82, I am sorry you did not find us up to standard on your visit, we do our best to ensure there is plenty of choice on the menu but I acknowledge that on occasion we do run out of some items when they are that much more popular than normal. It must be said however, that we do serve fresh vegetables regularly each and every week. Regarding the rooms there is an ongoing programme of refurbishment and a number of bedrooms and bathrooms are due to be completed in the next few months. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is very well situated, providing lovely views of the sea from room 320 - and conveniently close to the shops in Llandudno.
Overall the food was good. Waiter service. Breakfast - porridge, selection of cereals, full English fry, poached or scrambled egg, toast, fruit juice, and coffe or tea. Evening meal was a varied and good choice daily, and with a glass of wine.
Entertainment was enjoyable each evening. Bingo and a quiz, hosted by the talented duo, Sheila and John. Sheila is a good singer!
The room was fine. We had to take into consideration that we were on an inclusive 5 day trip with Shearings at a very reasonable price. Plenty of hot water. Hot radiators, Small TV with 4 or 5 channels. Decor OK and overall quite acceptable.
4 drink tokens are included with our holiday package - daily - which I thought was a good idea as the tokens can be used any time of the day for coffee, soft or alchoholic drinks. It was nice to be able to have early morning papers to read in the lounge as well!
There is an excellent clean, warm swimming pool available from 8.00am to 6.00pm daily. Either take a bath towel from your room or a towel can be hired for £1.00 - £1.00 returnable deposit.
We found the staff at the hotel to be both polite and efficient.
There are many good and interesting trips available from Llandudno,
To sum up our stay at the Marine Hotel - an enjoyable stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FarmerExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Hi FarmerExeter, looks like you really enjoyed your stay with us which is excellent. Thank you very much for your post. It is good to read that the new voucher system on the inclusive breaks is being well received. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews