We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Go”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Hotel is dated and tired, the carpets upstairs have Hazzard Tape over the joins, the wallpaper peeling off the walls, the Room was dirty and dated, the toilet bowl was stained yellow, the drawer of the unit had a handle missing. The Hotels Disabled Lift from the Prom to the front door has still not been fixed, again Hazzard Tape around the lift to warn of it not working, No Disabled Access, no ramp and worst of all no help offered by anyone from the Hotel to help me carry the wheelchair up the front steps. There is a sign that indicates that there is Disabled Access but there is not. True we did not pay 5 Star prices, but I did expect basic cleanliness. The food, well were do I start???? one day the menu offered Cumberland Sausage, I was first to be served by the waiter, he went into the kitchen and came back to announce that the sausage on the menu was a mistake, OK fair enough mistakes happen, I was offered Chicken Casserole which I ordered, when it came to my table it was three chicken drumsticks with gravy over it!!!!! Best part of the Holiday?? coming home !!!! I wonder when the Disabled Lift was last serviced?? I stayed there about 5 years ago and it was out of order then!!!! just another obeservation, my Wife is reliant on her wheelchair, yes I have mentioned how I carried around the Hotel but, after an evening stroll we headed back to our room, the only way to get to the Lift was through the Ballroom over the dance floor were folks were dancing the night away, not too good for them or us.
I will never stay in that Hotel again

Room Tip: floor one is over the entertainment downstairs.... beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidUK_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi DavidUK_UK, You appear to have had a dreadful time for which I am sorry. Did you speak with the special helpdesk at the time of making your booking? this department specialises in addressing the needs of guests when visiting the hotels, they would have informed you of any access issues before you go on your holiday, they provide us at the hotel with more information on your needs so we can better allocate rooms before you arrive and they keep you updated on changes to the hotel that occur after you have booked. Did you raise any issues with us about your other complaints whilst you were here? I am sure we would have done everything we could to have resolved your issues. I was on shift the night they served the chicken casserole and it tasted lovely, some casseroles do include meat cooked on the bone. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

just back from the marine hotel. travelled with shearings for 4 nights. no stops apart from motorway services. hotel has funny smell. food disgusting. couldn't eat the cheap frozen battered haddock offered on the first night. had better food in hospital. ate out for 2 evening meals and 1 breakfast. rooms shown on internet as standard are in fact premier. the resident entertainment is garbage. comedian on wed was ok. the whole place wants pulling down and rebuilding. i don't think anyone on our coach from normanton had a good word to say about the place. would never go back or recommend it to anyone. paid over £360 per person and some people in hotel booked last minute for £199.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi julie b, I am sorry you found nothing good to say about the hotel, thankfully we do please a large number of guests. Regarding the cost of your holiday I can only suggest to all consumers to look around for the best deal you can get at the time you make your purchase. Everything has become very competitive at the moment and the special offers are out there. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Food, service, room and entertainment were very good and value for money. The weather wasn't but that's not their fault. Plenty of things to do during the day with lots of leaflets to give you information and Llandudno itself is a nice place with a big promenade to stroll along but not much of a beach but that's not what we were looking for. Food was plenty enough for us and well cooked. The room was comfortable if a little small and the shower could have been a big bigger and it was kept well clean. The evenings entertainment was excellant, you didn't need to go out to find a show as the best show was at the hotel and didn't cost anything.
The only down point was that all the postcards we gave to reception to post on never arrived, whoever took them obviously didn't put them in the post box.
Would definitly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The room is only where you sleep at night so any room is good. We didn't have any problems with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hello Malcolm N, No doubt that you enjoyed your stay which is excellent and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Look forward to your return. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Marine has long past its best years. It was built over a hundred years ago, and shows it.
There is a tiny car park at the rear which is completely inadequate to absorb the amount of cars, another reflection of the days when few people owned their own vehicle.
The rooms are desperately in need of modernisation, in fact, total refurbishment.
It is however in a nice aspect on the promenade, and a couple of minutes from the centre of this pleasant seaside town. The best that be said about the food is passable. The rates are reasonable though, so its a good stay for a weekiend provided you accept that you're getting what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller538_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi traveller538_12, I acknowledge your comments regarding the hotel being ready for refurbishment but there's life in the old girl yet. It is good to see you have given us a pretty good score for value so thank you for that. Car parking at all the hotels on the sea front can be said to be a issue, however we do offer a reserved parking scheme for those who want to organise this at the time of booking. Generally we do not have an issue with car parking as long as guests accept they will not be able to park at the front door. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful, Hotel decor very shabby. especially as the so called " ballroom". which was basically a corridor with seating that would be more suited to a canteen. Hotel entertainment would be more suited for an old peoples home. all quizzes and Bingo. Bedroom was clean and comfy but room and telly could do with updating. Food was Ok , but basic. vegetables were bland and overcooked.The front of the hotel was off putting. what with the well worn old stone steps. and the rusty out of order disabled chair lift , wasnt an impressive entrance. but it was in a good central position. , no chance of parking spaces. we went by coach .

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you can afford to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaymalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi kaymalc, for the most part it sounds like you enjoyed your holiday and I appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We do our best to ensure that the meals and entertainment we provide meet with everyone's approval but I accept that this is not always possible. Parking is not normally an issue and we do offer reserved parking that can be organised at the time of booking for anyone who does have concerns. Thank you for taking the time to post your views. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

first the parking if you are going i think it would be best to book a parking place with the hotel we did not do this but we where lucky to get the last space at there overflow car park a few hotels down but we left the car there for the whole 3 days as i don't think we would have got another space near the hotel. yes this hotel needs lot's of money spending on the building interior having said that the lounges, dining rooms where fine the bedroom we had on the 4th floor ( we asked for a high floor ) was small but had a lovely new bathroom was clean had clean towels every day and a great view of the sea, the food, the breakfast was good juice, cerial, fruit to help yourself too all very nice than the waiting staff brought you tea or coffee toast there is a seletion of jams etc to choose from and you can then choose full english breakfast, kippers,rolls and preserves, the dinner is 3 course with a choice of 4 mains and 4 choices for desert the portions are not large but with 3 course it really is enough, we had a waiter called Ivor he was very helpfull and very polite an asset to the hotel staff. the pool is great very warm but the changing rooms do need some attention to the cleaning.we did check out the after dinner on the day before we needed to for personal reasons nothing to do with hotel, so we had 3 days 2 nights could have been 3 nights and we paid 188 pound for 2 people half board booking through shearings holidays great value will be going back.

Room Tip: good views at front of hotel get high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patmersyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Hi patmersyside, Thank you for posting your review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to Ivan; it is nice to see the individual members of staff getting mentions. Many thanks. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I decided to have a quick break, that did not cost a lot. We had never been to Llandudno, and chose the Marine Hotal because if overlooked the sea and was central. We paid extra for the sea view and we were not disappointed. Marcus the manager could not do enough for us, and we were even greeted by him on arrival. Reception staff were aware of our requirements, and had been fully briefed. We had no concerns with the cleanliness of the room. and the bathroom had clearly been recently refurbished. The food was fine with three courses and coffee for dinner and full cooked breakfast, with porridge or kippers what more could you want. Restaurant staff were efficient and helpful. Llandudno was delightful, the area was clean and the shops were good, the flat promanade was great for that evening stroll. We used the car during the day and toured the area - an excellent 3 day break for not a lot of money.

Room Tip: Recommend paying for the sea view - and you have to accept that there will be seagulls at the sea si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dobiedurham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Hi DobieDurham, Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting your review. Hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: £77 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing