We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Marine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
172
346
205
75
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
346
205
75
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewself driveshearings hotelsswimming poolshearings holidaysea frontdining roomevening mealcoach driverserved hotturkey and tinselsuperior roommeal timesflat screen tvplenty of hot watersingle rooman enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Fabulous short stay. Staff were very helpful and always wore a smile. Meal times were excellent with dishes to suit all tastes. Waiters were friendly and eager to please. This is a hotel that seems to be able to cater for all. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Htimsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Hi Htimsh, Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and are coming back. Thank you for your review. See you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We had a lovely long week-end at the Marine, our room was a bit shabby needs refurbishing, our bathroom was fine , both were clean. The food was very good and the staff were excellent.
There was entertainment each night , that was really good.
a great location on the prom, lovely sitting in the lounge ,looking at the sea and watching the the people walking on the beach. All in all we had a lovely time , with nice friendly staff , would visit again.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view , as we were in the back of the hotel so a nice view would have been good
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Beryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Hi Beryl M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. Good to see you have rated the staff so highly as they do work hard. Look forward to seeing you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights mid August. We booked a sea view and treated ourselves to a superior room. On arrival we discovered we had been given a premier room on the first floor - what a fabulous room - four poster bed (which unfortunately I found difficult to get into only being 5ft 1" -bit too high off the floor!),separate sitting room area with sofa down a couple of steps with square bay window and 2 side windows giving wonderful views . The bathroon had a bath with separate shower cubicle ( so little room in the cubicle that if you dropped your soap you had to open the door to retrieve it as there was no room to bend down - my husband found that out) The decor was very good; TV excellent, chocolates and bottles of water much appreciated. All the staff are very polite and helpful, quick service in the dining room. No problems parking on the prom between 4pm and 10am. Felt I had to write as so many people moan these days; if they want 5* service they should pay for.
Look forward to our visit next year
Sue A

Room Tip: Sea view worth paying extra for.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Hi Sue A, Many thanks for posting your review, giving the hotel such a glowing report and praising the staff; I am really glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

this shearings hotel could do with money spending on it,the outside is shabby,the room we had was shabby and most of the furniture was shabby.We paid extra for a sea view room,so at least they could have done was to wash them so we had a proper view.Creaky floor boards,iffy carpet and the shower was only of any use if you were under five foot tall and a very old t.v.Its the pleasant staff and the excellent food that keep this place going..Llandudno is a lovely,lovely place . Plenty to see .i.e the great orme with the tram to the top...lots of small railways to travel on for a couple of hours,small cafe`s ,shops ,sightseeing bus ,that was good value.A really nice 4 days away,good company on the coach,lots of laughs , grumpy driver.. Would certainly go back to llandudno ,but to a different hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tommoCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Hi tommoCleveland, really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for praising the staff and meals. We are a big hotel and we do our best to continually up date our facilities. We had a number of rooms refurbished earlier this year and I have recently been asked to list rooms for next years round of refurbishments. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is the Fourth year we have stayed with our large private group at the Marine, they gave us sole use of the Prince Albert dining room and a rather past it’s sell by date room near the swimming pool to use in the evening. Despite its condition it suited us as it was away from the other guests and our group tend to sing a lot.
The food was of a reasonable standard but the portions seemed to have been reduced this year. It was nice to note that the kitchens had received a 5 (top marks) for hygiene from the local council. Excellent staff.
By chance we stayed in a room we had used before which was on the Vaughan street side of the building with just about a sea view. Since our last stay the room had be “refurbished” painted in the standard Shearing’s colours of cream and dark brown, there were new beds and the standard thin white duvets with dark blue throws and cushions. Spare blankets and pillows were in the wardrobe. There was a welcome tray with tea, coffee, milk and sugar Towels and soap were provided with a plastic disposable beaker. The en-suite was toilet basin and shower my wife who has mobility problems had no problems with the shower. There had been a hole between our bathroom and the next rooms one, the handyman must have just discovered expanding foam and had not been informed how much it expands or that after it has set it can be cut and trimmed hence the big balloons of foam around the pipes.
The entertainment was the same as in previous years (average) but as our group provided our own entertainment this did not bother us. Drinks in the bar are expensive.
The location of the hotel in the centre of the promenade on the corner of Vaughan Street must be one of the best in Llandudno, close to all the attractions, shops and churches. A 200 yard stroll along Vaughan Streets brings you to Mostyn Street turn left for the coach station and the new shopping development with shops such as Debenhams and Asda, turn right to the traditional shopping centre with shops such as M&S, WH Smiths etc and churches where they hold excellent concerts throughout the season.
As I said this is a superb located hotel, however I am afraid I could not recommend it to wheelchair users or those with mobility problems. The steps to the main entrance have VERY deep risers, the sign on this entrance points to disabled access from the promenade entrance, however the wheelchair lift is out of order and has been for four years as the average age of the normal Shearing’s coach holiday is 75 I would have thought the rectification of this problem would have been treated as urgent. Last year the staff were telling guests they were waiting for the engineer this year they can not get planning permission to replace it with a ramp, I find this strange as all the other hotels on the promenade have ramps. If you arrive by car please be aware that you will need to pre book your space on the car park, this costs £5.00 per day as at other Shearing’s hotels.
Overall we enjoyed our stay apart from the difficulties my wife had due to the access problems and for this reason only we would not have stayed here except we wanted to be with the rest of our group we did not want to stay away from the rest of our group so had to put up with the problem access. I feel sorry for the staff on reception they bare the brunt of the complaints regarding the lack of disabled facilities and the matter is out of their hands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Hello radi0ham, Thank you for posting your review and I am glad to see that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. Nice to see that you have scored the staff, cleanliness and value for money so highly and thank you for pointing out the 5 star award from the local EHO for kitchen hygiene. Previously we held the gold award (the old top score) since 2009, primarily due to having the same head chef and very few changes to the kitchen crew over that time (They have also won two company awards over the last three years for the same thing). Hopefully it will not be too much longer before the access issue is addressed. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews