We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine for older people”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The meals were excellent - small, but well presented and an interesting menu. Room spacious, clean and comfortable, but the window did not open and although I had a bath there was no shower attachment. Sea view made up for that. The swimming pool was an assett, the corridors had chipped and ageing paintwork which made it feel tired and old. The entertainment was old-fashioned and 'corny'.
This hotel is ideal for older people - warm, comfortable and conveniently placed for shops, seafront, tourist bus (which I thoroughly recommend, excellent commentry)
overall, you get what you pay for and it was good value for money.

Room Tip: don't expect 4 star luxury,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldhopperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hi worldhopperUk, thank you for such a good write up and for scoring us so highly for service and cleanliness. I would hope that a hotel that is warm, comfortable and conveniently located would not just appeal to the older people. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Food was appalling and totally inedible...apart from toast at breakfast, wine was awful too. Staff friendly and mostly eastern European. Room was dreadful, tacky and not all that clean. Like a dark rabbit Warren on 2nd floor where we stayed. Evening entertainment was funny but very old fashioned. Will never go back! Overpriced and awful!!! Paid for parking space which was at another hotel down the road. Bed was rock hard and couldn't even turn round in bathroom it was so small.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hi jane l, I am sorry you did not find the hotel to your liking but I do not agree with your comments regarding the meals we serve being awful. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

As a party of 4 people, we had a self-drive holiday based at the Marine Hotel in Llandudno.This hotel is a 'Bay' hotel, & the holidays are run by Shearings Group. We had a long weekend ( Friday to Monday), & although the weather was not the best,we enjoyed the facilities of the hotel.I used the swimming pool a couple of times, & the pool was lovely & a real asset when the weather deteriorated, The quality of the food was very good, being hot & of good quality. My wife & I paid extra for a sea view, & we found this a good option as our room was much larger than our friends' room which was a 'standard' room. They had no real view, but as they were late in booking, they couldn't get a sea view room. Value for money, this hotel is excellent compared to other hotels in the same area of Llandudno

Room Tip: A sea view room is much better, especially if the weather makes you stay inside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hi Glyn W, Thank you for taking the time to make a post. It is good to read that you and your friends enjoyed your holiday with us. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

After initial checking in problems which were resolved a few hours later we went to our room which was at the front of the hotel on the top floor. Initially it looked very nice but then we found the toilet was dirty and a mouldy shower cubicle. The water pressure is extremely poor and we struggled to get any water from the shower having to resort to washing in the sink. We had a fabulous view of the bay from our window. Usually when we stay in 3 star hotels the bed is often pushed up against the wall on one side however we were pleased to find a spacious room which also had good quality tea & coffee facilities. Our carpet was badly stained in places. The bed was extremely firm (which we like) however it is the noisiest bed I have ever slept in.
We had excellent service from our waitress for the first 2 days (I think her name is Egle) and she managed her guests dining requirements with absolute efficiency and friendliness. This experience sadly did not continue for our remaining 2 days when she wasn't in. The food portions are not large (although fine for us) however the quality of the food is very good.
We declined to use the entertainment facilities as we didn't like the room. The bar adjacent to the reception is far too small for purpose when the hotel is busy however the staff are friendly.
The hotel is situated in a good location for all facilities however the disabled ramp was under repair whilst we were there so anyone who would have difficulty with 4 very deep steps should make enquiries before they arrive. You have to walk through the centre of the cabaret room when you want to go to your room (and actually cross the small dance floor) which is not good at all when it is full and the act is on. There are no complimentary toiletires in your room upon arrival-you have to go to reception and ask for them.In summary I'd say that we had an 'ok' weekend but we are unlikely to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hi SharonStockport, I am sorry you did not find us completely to your liking but thank you for your positive comments. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked this hotel through Caledonian Travel, it was a cabaret week but we never stayed in as the "cabaret room" was in the shape of a T and it smelt very musty and was too hot to sit in, you even have to walk pass the cabaret at the bottom of the T if you wanted to go to your hotel room! The room itself was satisfactory if a little small.

My husband chose the Chef's specials and was very disappointed, I thought the meals were okay.

Would have to say we loved LLandudno and we will definately go back there but NOT to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flutterCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hi flutterCarlisle, I am sorry you did not stay for the entertainment, the room is T shaped but the entertainers work hard to address all guests who come to watch the show. I'm glad that you found your meals acceptable, as your husband did not enjoy the chef's special I am sure we could have offered an alternative. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A really enjoyable stay. Excellent location right on the sea front. The food was very good and rooms small and rather dated but clean. The entertainment was very good , especially Sheila the female vocalist. I enjoyed having the pool to myself !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hi Susan Q, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for scoring us so highly.Hopefully you will come back and see us again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely stay at the hotel. Great location right on the beach front, friendly staff, the food, rooms. entertainment was average but ok for a 2 night stay, Friday night entertainment was husband and wife and they were good fun, Not sure a could have stayed longer than that though. Hotel could do with being modernised especially the restaurant it looks tired. Lots to do and see around the area and if your in a car lots of other sights to visit in conwy and other places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 120871Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hi 120871Nicola, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for praising the staff. We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment with lots planned for the future. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 59 in Llandudno
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#30 of 59 in Llandudno
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: £83 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing