We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location Great Staff”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location Great Staff”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is right on the front with a good views if you get a room at the front. With only a very short walk to the good shopping area.
We had a problem with our hot water and they tried to resolve this but after raising this 3 times with the reception they moved us to another room,,,,upgrading us to a Premier room which was very much appreciated considering how little we had paid for the break in the first place,
The pool is ok but worth taking a robe with you to go there and back in and getting changed in your room as not great changing facilities,,,but pool ok for blowing away the cobwebs
The hotel was warm, a little too warm for me but as we were expecting it to be as these hotels are mostly used by older guests they keep it warm for them,,,,,so just kept the window open in the room.
The food was ok with a choice of meals and meal times, with a vegetarian option
The hotel could do with a bit of tlc..but who of us wouldn't if were that old, worked as hard as that for the very reasonable amount of money paid for a stay there
Can't say about the entertainment as we did not see it,but speaking to other people who had, they seemed to enjoy it.
For those of you wondering yes the bingo that the hotel legally has to put on if more than half of the guests are female and aged over 65 As per the new EU ruling is played each evening.
There is a lovely bar area with a real fire if you want to spend a quiet evening
We Stayed at this hotel on a National Coaches trip....as usual we were the youngest on the trip but we usually are,,,,,just a week away before Xmas away from all the Christmas madness. This turned out to be a. " Turkey & Tinsel " break. Where you get Xmas Eve, Xmas Day. Boxing Day & New Years Eve. All in 4 days,,,just take it all as a bit of fun. But it's not forced on you if you don't want to be part of it.
This hotel is aimed at an older clientele but that's not saying this is a bad thing it's just something to be aware of. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to all the staff.

Room Tip: If you are able to it would be worth getting a premier room,,,,,Fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Aliloveholidays, sounds like you enjoyed your holiday and had good service from us which is brilliant. Many thanks for your post and maybe we will see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    304
    192
    71
    56
See reviews for
125
395
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This must be the coldest hotel we have ever stayed at, from the bedroom to the bar even the ballroom. As for the hot water it was very hit and miss, it comes to something when you have to boil a kettle to have a hot wash, also the wash basin was little more than a hand basin not suitable for a bathroom. As for the food it was very poor quality, one starter consisted of a few lettuce leaves two slices of boiled egg and a sprinkle of crutons, the food was either over cooked or almost raw, to their credit the staff were all excellant, very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi DAVID L, firstly thank you for praising the staff so highly but I am saddened to hear that you were not comfortable in your room and that you did not enjoy your meals. If guests have issue such as being cold and we are told, we do take steps to remedy the situation. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I stay at the Marine around 3 times a year, the last time being on 4th November 2013 for 4 nights. We make our own way up to Llandudno from Machynlleth regularly, because we just love this resort.

So why do we choose to keep going back to this particular Hotel then? This is easy...

1. The hotel is ideally situated right on the lovely promenade close to all the excellent shops and facilities.
2. The staff are all very friendly starting with the Manager Marcus, and associate Kelly, right down to everyone employed at this hotel. I think that the management obviously recruit with this friendly quality in mind.
3. We have always been happy with our room, though there is a refurbishment program going on for some rooms, which is making them even better.
4. We always enjoy our food of which there is plenty of variety and nicely served by lovely waiter/waitresses. I have coeliac disease which means that all my food MUST be Gluten Free. No problem for this hotel who always cater for me rather admirably in that respect.
For your further information, there are two very nice dining rooms.
5. Though my Husband and I aren't fussy on the Bingo, once that is over then there is usually some quite good entertainment on to either just watch, or perhaps have a dance if you wish.
6. At the front of the hotel, overlooking the promenade and sea, there is a lovely relaxing lounge area for just chilling out, having a drink of whatever, and perhaps have a snack while just watching the world go by.

For what most people pay for a Shearings holiday at The Marine, then I defy you find better value. Speaking to other guests who my Husband and I have met during our stays, many people have stayed at the Marine regularly lots more times than even we do, which speaks for itself really.

And no, my Husband and I do not have any Family or personal friends working at this establishment, or any other Shearings hotel if it comes to that! I have just given an honest assessment of our experience at the Marine Hotel, Llandudno. No more, no less.

Christina Thain

Room Tip: A sea view room is worth the extra, but if not then telephone in and request a room off the side str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi Mrs Thain, Thank you for yet another good review. I am glad that we are continuing to ensure you enjoy your visits to us. Dave told me you enjoyed the mince pies too. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a Shearings Hotel, and we booked one of their value weekends, B&B, Evening meal plus entertainment each evening, we were a party of 9 ex work colleagues and spouses, the evening entertainment is targeted at shall I say the more mature person i.e. bingo and a quiz with a comedy twist not to be taken seriously, but good fun especially if as us in a small party.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, one of our party was unable to use any stairs and as some of the rooms involve 1/2 dozen steps that cannot be avoided, although they very busy the staff rearranged a room, so that she had no stairs to contend with, we stayed in one of the updated rooms, which are have new furnishing a brighter décor than some of the older rooms, the food was without doubt well presented and very tasty, my veggy options were excellent.. All the staff were welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble for them, I would highly recommend anybody planning a short break in Llandudno to visit the Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12Dave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi 12Dave3, I am really pleased you and your group enjoyed your reunion with us. It is very good to read that all the staff were so helpful towards you, that a room issue was resolved and that your dietary requirements were met. Many thanks for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have to agree with everything Postcard77 has said about this shocking hotel. The room we were given was very shabby and the bathroom smelt of urine. The Manager did his best to make it smell better with toilet cleaner and air freshener but succeeded in making the smell worse. We were offered a double standard as an alternative, but two ladies travelling together do not want to share a double bed. We had to stand to the side of the wash basin to have a wash and clean our teeth, there was no window or fan and no hot water for nearly two days. The standard of the food was ok, but very rarely did we manage to get what we wanted as even when we went into dinner at 6.30 (as soon as the dining room opened) the popular choices of food disappeared very quickly. We even witnessed one waitress removing an ice cream from one guest as she had given him the wrong dessert (he had started eating it) and try to recycle it to a guest on our table! Overall, an experience not to be repeated. On a positive note, Llandudno is lovely. I have written and emailed Shearings and they havent had the courtesy to reply to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lindy_broughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi lindy_broughton, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday. The water problems started on the Tuesday afternoon and were mostly resolved late on the Tuesday night. One evening is not two days. I spoke with you in the lounge bar on the Tuesday evening when you explained the issues you were having in the restaurant. Consequently I spoke with the restaurant manager who has informed me there were no further issues during the rest of your stay. Also we do not recycle meals from table to table. Customer care department are aware of your complaint and I have confirmed with them that you have now received their response. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was the organiser for a group of 56 people who stayed here whilst attending an event at the nearby Venue Cymru. Everything went well with the trip - fantastic service on reception from Hayley, Martin, the manager and in the dining room from Dave. The rooms were clean and tidy albeit slightly on the small side. Not all rooms had showers which was a surprise but we managed! The food was good - not "haute cuisine" just good food served quickly and hot and not over cooked either! For what we paid, this was just the job! As a group, we'd use the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sound2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Sound2007, I am really glad your group enjoyed their stay with us and that you felt well looked after. Your group had an excellent result at the competition and it was good to hear you all practice. Thank you for your post and I look forward to your return. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel. we traveled independently on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. On arrival our car parking space was ready and we were able to park up very easily and quickly, which is a must for Llandudno as parking can be a problem. We were able to check in at 3 pm. Our room was a superior with seaview. It was very clean and all furniture of a good standard, the bed was very comfortable with lovely clean sheets and duvet etc. The bathroom was large with a lovely shower and always plenty of hot water, we also had complimentary soap, shampoo, shower cap, shoe shine etc etc, and large fluffy white towels. Flat screen tv and plenty of items on the hospitality tray.

The hotel is really trying to upgrade some areas for example the front was having a new ramp for people in wheelchairs and scooters to use, but time is an issue when any business is having work completed and people should try and be a little patient. the hotel and its public areas we found very comfortable, with plenty of seating and relaxing places. The pool was fantastic we spent sometime in there and enjoyed it very much.

the restaurant was bright and airy with very hard working staff. Who were pleasant and cheerful and nothing was to much trouble, our waitress was Suzanna who was very attentive and cheerful at all mealtimes. the potions were not huge, but with 3 courses they were filling, and were cooked, very well and there was a lot of choice. we enjoyed the meals very much that we had.


All of the staff were excellent they could not do enough for you and were very friendly and chatty. they were helpful and cheerful from the reception staff to the bar staff, always smiling.

The hotel has a happy feel and vibe about it, yes some areas need upgrading but as I have mentioned before it takes time and they are getting round to some of them. We will be returning to this hotel next year for another break. From a very happy customer.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior room, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi kiki01, Thank you for such a good write up. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward to a repeat visit. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing