We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damp & leaking roof.”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
bridgwater
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Damp & leaking roof.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Room 219 you open the bashed door,and smell damp straight away.Look to the ceiling and you see why,damp patches from rain coming in the roof.In the bathroom a crack in the sink 1ft 6ins long black as it looked like it had been there a while.On the third night no hot water.and rain dripping into the room.By this time we had to complain about the drip in the room,as it was right above the television.We did not complain before as we were along with friends,but there room 220 was not much better.We stayed out of our room for as long as we could,making us very tired.Glad to get home.Have written to Shearings,but have not heard nothing yet not even a phone call.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rodney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi rodney s, I am sorry you had issues during your stay. I worked the arrivals on 30 December and was on shift the morning of 31 December and have no record of the issues you have raised. Alternative rooms were available. Customer care have received your e-mails and have forwarded them to me to assist in their response, so you will be hearing from them shortly. Again I apologise for the issues you experienced. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    304
    192
    71
    56
See reviews for
125
395
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

stayed here as a couple for two nights on the 28th and 29th of dec our room was on the second floor with a great sea view the bedroom was nice and warm and very clean we went on a band b basis and breakfast was very good we realy enjoyed our stay and are looking to stay here again in the near future the hotel is in a great centeral position and the staff friendly and polite

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plum4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi plum4_12, Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel staff looked after you. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a new year break at the marina hotel. We had a great time, the food was good the service in the restaurant was on the whole good with only one minor hic up. Kelly on reception is one of the most pleasing receptionist we have met. Our room was a up graded room and was of a reasonable good standard. the entertainment led by Sheila and John is brilliant one of the best we have experienced in a Shearing hotel, all other hotels should go and see how to entertaining guests of all ages should be done. Overall a good New Year Break The manager is available at all times. Enjoyed the indoor swimming pool plus their is now a ramp at the front for the least able. Visiting again in March

Room Tip: Room 214 is large and has duel aspect views over all of the sea front plus it is near to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbda105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi johnbda105, Glad you had a good new year and are looking forward to returning in March. I passed your comments on to Kelly and she was very happy. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Overall our stay at the Hotel was pleasant but the bathroom was far to small every time we went to the toilet we were banged by the toilet roll turning round to sit on the loo was difficult for my husband who has balance problems there was no way either of us could use over bath shower. The water was either too hot or too cold. The dinning room was difficult to get around for my husband but once seated most of the food was good to excellent the dinning room manager did his best to sort out the problem of our cold meal on the first night. Loved the bar with the log fire the entertainment seemed well patronised. The positioning of the hotel was ideal, and the staff were really friendly. Would like to go again in the summer if we can get a better bath room. We had not been to Llandudno for some years and were very impressed with it. Need to speak to Shearings about the unsuitability of the drop and pick up point they used this time.

Room Tip: Check about bathrooms if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersjoy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi travelersjoy_11, Looks like you enjoyed your stay with us, which is good, with the exception of your bathroom and table in the dining room. I understand the difficulties that can be caused by even a minor ailment. As your husband has balance problems I would strongly recommend that you speak with our special help desk for any future bookings. Their role is to liaise with the hotel to organise a suitable room for you, before you travel. They also keep you informed of any changes that will affect your booking. The more information you give them the better. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here on a 5 day coach break in November and we were very impressed with condition of the hotel and the quality of the food.
Meals were not large but extremely tasty and the menu showed good imagination. Although the portions were not large we never left the dining room feeling hungry.
We made use of the indoor pool which was really warm (31oC one day)
Lovely sea front location and very close to the town centre.
Would happily go again and special thanks to our Spanish waitress.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edsveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Edsveta, Many thanks for the review it is good to read that you had a good holiday and that you are happy to return. I will pass your comments to Maria in the restaurant as I am sure she will appreciate the recognition. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the front and very near to the shops.There now is a ramp for disabled.Food was ok drinks are priced Same as my local pub.Swimming pool very good.my wife and I traveled with Shearings was extremely good value for the money we paid.only thing not good was the room 220 as it was very cold,dispietthe two radiatores on full I realise it is only single glazed but I found others were warm.we used the 2 extra blankets in room next day asked for another so were ok ish .entertainment good also trips.We will definately return hopefully when a little warmer.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank VINNYSWINDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Vinnyswindon, I am glad you enjoyed your holiday although I am sorry to read that you were not very warm during your stay even with a second heater provided. That said it is good that you are definitely planning to return. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ludlow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

we had a turkey and tinsel weekend but felt let down the entertainment was poor no one seemed to be in charge the bar shut at 11.30 but when I spoke to them and said I would review on tripadvisor our friend heard two staff saying does she think we care not the attitude to have plus food ok our young waitress WAS EFFICENT AND POLITe on table 23 but on the last morning the restaurant manager was reprimanding her but it started in the dinning room then could still be heard behind the sreen not good practise

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi mazer, I can only apologise for the inappropriate comments made to you by the bar staff on the Sunday evening. I read your comment card and have addressed the staff member concerned for being flippant. The weekend you stayed with us, Maria was your waitress and is one of the better restaurant team members. On the Monday morning she was being coached by the restaurant manager not reprimanded as she is just starting to assist in the running of the restaurant. Thank you for your comments and I hope you consider us for future holidays. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing