We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Driving to the Marine Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Driving to the Marine Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We drove to the Marine Hotel, paying £5 / day for parking. What I was not told is that there is no lift from the car park to reception, and there are two car parks - we had the one at the rear of the Shelbourne Hotel - 100 yds down the road.
Reception staff and porters happy to carry bags up the narrow stairs from the car park and escort us to our room.
The room (241) is 'miles' from reception, but newly refurbished and bright. The bathroom is cramped and lacks space around the WC which makes it unsuitable for 'large' people. A hook on the inside of the bathroon door would be useful! The TV reception was poor at times.
Food is O/K - we decided not to have sausages for breakfast - on the first morning they appeared undercooked and are the shortest sausages I have ever seen.
Following evening meal you have to walk to the ballroom for tea or coffee - the young lady serving the drinks told me in no uncertain terms I should tell her not to put milk in tea or coffee - clearly she had not been taught to ask -"Black or white".
Good location but not up to the same standards as the 'County'.

Room Tip: Always book a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi John J, I am sorry the room and car park location were not to your liking. To meet guest needs we bought a lease on the 2nd car park to be able to offer more car parking. Regarding the TV reception difficulties were experience with the high winds recently. The other niggles you have raised could have been addressed whilst you were here as we do our best to meet guest needs and it works best when you talk to us. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    299
    190
    71
    53
See reviews for
122
388
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We thought the hotel was clean the rooms are lovely especially the family room and the luxury upgrade rooms.friendly staff , good food, great location,lots to see and do in the area, a trip to great orme is a must. definatly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llandudn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi llandudno, Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for such a positive post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a three day break at the Marina self drive.We splashed out and got an upgrade room 111 lovely room very spacious and a view of the bay. after coming in the back way where we had to park a very pleasant surprise greeted us on entering the main part of the hotel. Light bright and airy especially the dining room and no smells from the kitchen. The hotel was in th.e middle of an upgrade. The meals agiain a very pleasant surprise. Beautifully cooked and presented by the young but exceedingly pleasant staff. It was a pleasure to eat there. a big thank you to the chiefs.the entertainment was ok.You got the obligatory bingo and quizzes which you could either participate in or not. Free drinks in moderation on Saturday night what more could you ask for. Yes we will be going again .

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a premier room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maggie01Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi maggie01Lancashire, A lovely review thank you very much. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking to return. Your comments will be passed on to the hotel’s staff. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from a four day stay at this hotel. The food is very good and likewise the staff. I cannot believe that the photographs shown on this site are still the same. Obviously the company do not take any notice at all of guests concerns. I did complain to reception that there was not a coat hook on either of the doors and the receptionist informed me that guests were always complaining about this and in fact guests often brought their own coat hooks with them. I enjoyed my stay and the swimming pool. There was only a very small shelf in the bathroom which meant that toiletries had to go on the floor. The tiny shower room did not even have a soap dish in the cubicle. These may sound like petty complaints, however it is just common sense. If I go again I will take a coat hook with me oh yes and we paid extra £20 for a sea view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldenoldie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Goldenoldie79, Sounds like you enjoyed your stay but I do not consider the issues you have raised as petty complaints. I will of course be investigating the comments made by the reception staff. Please come again and rest assured you do not need to bring your own hook for the bathroom door. If a hook is missing we will install one for you. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

this is the second stay at this hotel for me. A very welcoming and comfortable place
to stay. My friend and I requested a room with access to the lift, as we both have knee
problems. We stayed on the 2nd floor with close access to the lift, great! The food was
both varied and enjoyable, the waitress Suzanna was both efficient and friendly,
couldn't ask for better. We would definately come and stay here again. We came away
with our batteries charged with a smile on our faces!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor, both quiet and accessible for the lift..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Jean F, Good to see you left feeling refreshed and smiling, so I hope we will see you again. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haleowen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

just returned from this as a self-drive couple. We are glad they updating rooms - but in GREY.............not very cheerful. ensuite only just holds 1 thin person.......
menues varied but bland and not much of it. waiter tried his best but a bit comical as had to order cheeses by colour, i.e. blue, white or orange !!!
entertainment............ Sheila and john worked hard but a whole night of quizzes was over the top................as this was our 4th time here, we felt the standard was going down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dot b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi dot b, I am sorry you feel the standard is going down as we are all working hard to improve all areas of the hotel. Yes some of the walls are painted grey but the bedrooms have lovely raspberry or purple furnishings to accent the rooms, keeping them looking vibrant. Marcus Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

been to this hotel a couple of times and always come a way smiling , yes the update was needed and its getting one ,will see it my self in two weeks cant wait food always good and the staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi kath s, good to read you are looking forward to coming back and I am sure you will leave smiling again. Thank you for the post, Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing