We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“victorian Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
frodsham uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“victorian Weekend”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Three us us stayed at Marine hotel for the towns Victorian weekend.
The hotel is starting to look better with the refurbishment programme.We really enjoyed our stay.
The seaview rooms were excellent,well decorated and colourful.Resturant food was very good with a fair choice.Special thanks to Susannze (not sure about spelling),who was very efficient and friendly,she went out of her way to serve us quickly on the Sunday,as we had to get to the theatre
by 19-30.
Overall a very pleasant weekend,will be back again

Room Tip: A sea view room makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunnerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi gunnerjohn, The Victorian Extravaganza is a very busy weekend for the town and an excellent event to attend. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the progress we have made with the refurbishment works at the hotel. I will make sure Zsuzsanna knows about your positive comments. Hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    303
    191
    71
    56
See reviews for
123
392
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for long weekend on self drive basis with coach party of 27 older people from a club. The bedding is immaculate and everyone had good comfortable beds, the entertainment is good particularly on the Friday. Food is also good with a choice for each course, and staff are accomodating if there is something you cant eat. The dining room staff are very efficient and helpful and made sure all guests were well caterd for.
Have to say this hotel is well worth a visit for anyone visiting the area. Marcus and his staff also went the extra mile when one gentleman in our party had to go to hospital, transporting his belongings and ensuring that everything was well, and offering any assistance that would be needed.
Thanks to Marcus, Hayley, phil and the other staff for ensuring we had a great holiday, we will definately be back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50pclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi 50pclub, Thank you for your post. It is good to read everyone enjoyed their stay with us. I hope that the member of your party who went to hospital is well on the way to recovery and will be fit to travel with you all again. Looking forward to seeing you again, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We love our Shearings hols. As we are now retired but very active we are visiting as many seaside towns as we can, the ones we have heard of but never seen and Shearings suits us perfectly. Our twin room, No 311 was comfortable and very clean, no frills with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and a sea view (must admit outside window could do with a clean). The dining room was very pleasant and as always the food was excellent (wish we could resist the Full English!!). Our trips included Anglesey, Snowdonia National Park, Beaumaris and Llanberis Railway and Slate Museum all of which we thoroughly enjoyed particularly as the weather wasn't too good. Due to other commitments we actually had 3 drivers who added the fun element to our trips. Must mention the Staff at Marine Hotel, very helpful and hard working.
The one downside is the Stretton Interchange. This is the second time we have used this interchange and had long delays on both occasions. It seems also that once through the dreaded M6, the Feeder drivers are not too conversant with the B'ham and Solihull areas which means further delays and getting home as late as 9.00pm. Next is Gairloch in May and The Isle of Wight (for a second time) in August. Roll on May.

Room Tip: If you have a special requirement, ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaznChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi BaznChaz, I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels facilities and that you found the staff so accommodating. I am sure you will enjoy your holidays later in the year and maybe a repeat visit to Llandudno at some point. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've just spent a 4 night break at this hotel. The room was nice and clean with modern TV and furniture, The staff were very helpful and friendly. I was served in the dining room by Peter. He was very efficient and friendly. The reception staff were all friendly, helpful, and informative, in particular, Agi, who was on the reception one minute, in the bar the next, then even in the dining room - now that's what I call multi-tasking! I locked myself out of my room on the first day, and without any hesitation she came up with the spare key to let me back in. She was brilliant. As was Kelly, who again was eager to help all of the time.
The bar area was always busy and comfortable. The food quality was very good, but the breakfast was a bit on the light side, but Dinner was plentiful with a good choice on the menu.
I will definitely be going back next year.
I drove myself and had to pay for trips that were only included if I went on a shearings coach, but they were cheap enough at only £9 per trip.
Thank you everyone at the Marine and see you next year!!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms don't disappoint. They give a great view of the whole bay and both Ormes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TH652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi TH652014, Thank you for such a good review. It is great that you enjoyed your holiday with us and are planning on coming back next year. Take care, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend away, our room was clean tidy and we could see the sea. All the staff were polite and had a smile on their face, the meals were good and our waiter Jesus was just so efficient ,we never waited longer than a minute for anything! The hotel is in a brilliant location for getting to the shops and the sea. I loved sitting in the bar window watching the world go by. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Julie H, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would definitely come back to us. I will let Jesus know you gave him a rave review. Thank you for your review, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Four o f us went by Car and fortunately paid extra for a Car Parking space(Although very cramped) and an upgraded room. The room overlooked the sea ,was clean ,spacious ,and the Seagulls even provided some entertainment as they tried to get through the window.
Catering for a full house over a limited time span is not easy and the meals on offer were fairly varied and perfectly acceptable..
Our waiter Jesus was splendid, very pleasant, and efficient particularly toward my wife whose diet has to be monitored.
All the staff we encountered were a credit to the Hotel, and we would not have any reservations about making a return visit.

Our first visit to the area has been a wonderful experience.

Stuart P

Hinckley
Leics

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Stuart P, It is good to read that you enjoyed the hotels facilities and the service provided. I will pass your comments on to Jesus. Hope to see you again and thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walney island
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

just got back today after long weekend in this hotel very friendly hotel great staff and guests .food good rooms ok only downfall was our room had a sloping floor every time we went to the bathroom we felt like we had had too many drinks and we had no view just a slate roof blocking the window other then that room was bright and very clean so was the bathroom nice clean hotel and very friendly staff .would go again it was right on the sea front and near the town centre and the beach.

Room Tip: don't get 106 that has no view at all just a slate roof to look at.i would pay the extra next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi billabon, It is good to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would visit us again. I understand what you say regarding the view from your window. To be assured of a good view, we do offer Sea view and standard plus rooms you might like to consider for next time. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing