We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff service”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here with my husband for our first wedding anniversary last weekend and was very impressed. We paid for a room upgrade and were very impressed by the cleanliness, sea view and level of finish. Ok the floor was a bit creaky, but the hotel is 180 - odd years old, likewise, the main enterance door banged and vibrated through our room (109)- but it did become white noise after a while. We did run out of hot water on the sunday morning - my advice is shower early! But the most rememberable thing was the staff service - nothing was too much trouble, we arrived after a nightmare journey, and they kept the resturant open so we could have our meal, even though service had just finished. Our waiter, although struggling with the language barrier a little, was always attentive and friendly. Similarly the reception staff - always helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful first anniversary there and will certainly be returning. Thank you.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade if you can - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redw00ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi redw00ds, Thank you for your post and I am glad your first anniversary was a success, may you have many more. Thank you for also praising the hotels staff. We look forward to your return. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    304
    192
    71
    56
See reviews for
125
395
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here on Monday To Friday on a self drive package I have nothing bad to say really the staff genuinely do try to make everyone welcome. The food I thought was very good and well presented. Its another Victorian sea side Hotel so maintenance is always going to be an issue, there was problems with the hot water but it was sorted fairly quickly, you could be forgiven for thinking you were drunk as it has very a uneven creaky floor but that's all part of it being a very old Hotel. My room 317 was quite spacious and had recently been refitted, so no problem there however the old sash window did not open and I don't think it had been opened for some time I think its important to be able to open windows so rooms can be nicely aired, it could be a major problem to someone on a turkey tinsel week when they have been eating brussels sprouts or cabbage . The Hotel doe's have free wi fi in the public areas this isn't mentioned on the hotel website so you will be able to check your email and do a bit of surfing if that's your thing . So if your looking for a sea side break in a fairly central position then you should certainly consider this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mansfieldlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Mansfieldlad, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the issue with the window I fully agree with potential problem you describe. I have checked the window and found it now working. Disaster averted. Thank you for your post and recommendation. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We [my wife and I] have just returned from this Shearings owned hotel, on the whole the hotel was very good good but the BIG problem we encountered was the lack of hot water in the room[321], we spent 4 days [Fri - Mon] on a self-drive break and only on the Friday evening and Monday morning did we have enough hot water for both of us to enjoy a hot shower, at best one of us had a tepid shower whilst the other had cold showers, and this on the hottest weekend of the year so far.We complained to the duty manager on the Sunday morning who had the maintenance man look at the problem while we where out for the day. On Sunday evening still no hot water. A further complaint following cold showers we were offered the use of another room for a shower, this after the duty manager came up to the room to see the problem for himself. After running both Bath and Basin hot taps for 5 minutes he did manage to get hot water through the system but could not understand why it was only our room as no-one else had complained!!! On checkout on Monday morning another couple were asking for a room change as they could not get hot water to either Bath, Shower or Basin, Beware the cold showers.

This apart the rest of the hotel cannot be faulted, the food was excellent and our waitress for the weekend Katrina was very good, efficient and friendly. The room was very clean and modern. The public areas are clean and tidy. The staff are very helpful and knowledgable about the local area. The location cannot be faulted, slap bang in the middle of the promenade, handy for shops and bars.

Room Tip: Request one with good supply of hot water. On a lighter note a sea view makes for a better outlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normski214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi Normanski214, Your second paragraph reads much better than the first so I believe you enjoyed your holiday aside from the issue with hot water. I can only say we are an old hotel with quirky pluming, but hot water was there eventually. We are investigating this situation to ensure it is corrected. Thank you for your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We ( man 72, wife 71, friend 69) stayed at this Shearings hotel on May 9/10/11 which is up to the usual Shearings standards, rooms clean and food good (in fact it was far better than some we have visited as it at least had some evening entertainment).
We opted for the sea view and overlooked the promenade.
We drove ourselves and paid for the car park, which I would recommend as street parking is limited, however the access to the hotel from the car park is via a steep flight of stairs, not recommended with suit cases, a porter is available if you can get him. (try not to arrive at the same time as the coach if you want him!)
Bring plenty of cash if you like a drink, pint and half of lager £5.55, gin and tonic £4.25 and a bottle of wine is £16+.
Most of the staff were helpful and very friendly, you always get the odd one who is having a bad day.
We hired mobility scooter for our stay as we are not very good walkers, but I understand the hotel can only accommodate 4 at any one time so if you have this problem book early.
Would recommend the hotel but not sure about the resort which has limited facilities in the immediate area, plenty to see if you want to wander afield.
Have a nice holiday if you visit this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi Allan H, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the car parking beneficial. It is true we cannot compete on bar prices with social clubs but our pricing is not so different to the local pubs and bars. Thank you for recommending the Marine and your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fab location for shops, bars, restaurants & sea front. We stayed in rooms 107&105 & they were very quiet, not sea view but never the less very comfortable! One room was a twin with an ensuit bath/shower, hand basin & wc! Not very big but very clean & more than adequate! The room was very big with adequate wardrobe space & two single beds also a flat screen tv & tea & coffee making facilities. Rooms cleaned daily with clean towels too! Room 107 was a single room which was very Simular but had a walk in shower & single bed! Hotel was very clean & staff very helpful especially our waiter Andraeous! I think that was his name! Nothing was too much trouble fir him. Our couch driver Lee was brilliant & so knowledgable also such a good help with our Dad whom has mobility problems! Food was fab & good choices at dinner! Breakfast a little limited though. My only critasism would be the bar! Very expensive & only draught coke! I personally would prefer bottles or cans so didn't drink much there because of this! Entertainment was very good too. Very well organised by all involved so thank you all so much for a lovely stay & hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: Sea view would be amazing but our rooms were fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi Audrey T, Thank you for the review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be letting Andrius know he had praise from you as it is good to see the staff getting some appreciation. I do hope you get the opportunity to return. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My sister and I visited the Marine Hotel with Shearings. We have nothing but praise for the whole experience. The drivers were pleasant and helpful, the hotel itself was good with excellent, polite staff whether it was on Reception or in the Dining Room. The food was excellent and it was extremely good value. I cannot praise Shearings Coaches enough. I have been to their Bay Sandown Hotel on the Isle of Wight and that too was excellent.

My family would definitely travel with them again and if I didn't have to spend a lorra lorra money to visit my daughter and grandchildren in Minnesota I could have paid for 3 more of these excellent breaks. Still I may be able to manage another one later in the year.

Room Tip: Our room is evidently on the list to be renovated but still, there was very little to complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sisters208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Sisters208, great to read such high praise for the hotel and staff. Thank you for your post. Which of the many Bay Hotels will you visit later in the year I wonder? Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend on a Shearings coach holiday.We arrived at about 12.30 and as you cannot have your room until 15.00 we went down to the high street which is only 75yds from the side entrance to the hotel.My wife really enjoyed looking in the shops.
The hotel is situated right on the front and has a lovely outlook over the promenade and the Great Orme.Our room was number108 on the side of the hotel but near the front.It had a window that was floor to ceiling and most of that wall .We could see out to the promenade and the sea and down to the high street.The bathroom was a large size with a bath and shower in it A couple of the floorboards were creaky but as we were over the dining room we did not disturb anyone.We really liked the room.
Staff throughout the hotel were polite and very helpfull especially the reception staff and the dining room staff.Food was good in the dining room and the bar but we found the service for food in the bar a little slow.
We loved Llandudno and will definately go back to the Marine hotel when we do.
Part of the holiday included a trip to Blaneau Ffestiniog.There is an option to travel on a train to Portmadoc.This cost us £10.00 each but it was well worth the money,the scenery was fabulous.The only small disappointment for us is that you cannot use your English bus pass in Wales

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 362david201130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi 362david201130, It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by Reception and Restaurant staff. It is true, officially English bus passes are not valid in Wales but if you have one, bring it and try it. Sometimes the bus drivers let you use them. Thank you for your post and I hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing