We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional seaside hotel !”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spent a week in this hotel with my 89 year old dad.... we were very pleased with the location, right on the prom and near the town ...lovely position.
Rooms smallish but neat clean and comfortable. Dining room bright and cheery. Have noticed other comments about the food and frankly feel slightly frustrated - as we had glorious hot well cooked and appetising food whilst we were there... our waitress (Andrea) was efficient and friendly... in fact on two occasions dad had another bowl of soup as he found it so nice. Breakfast was huge and varied and dinner was always three courses with coffee / tea served in the ballroom afterwards. We have absolutely no complaints about the food in fact it was always served on such hot plates ... we were warned not too touch!

Reception people always friendly and helpful - selling postcards and stamps too!
My slight gripe would be the lack of wi-fi in the hotel .. only in the reception and ground floor areas but even that failed on our last couple of days . Feel the hotel should update their equipment to make sure it covers the whole hotel and signal remains strong.

Definitely a place we shall return too again - it was dads second trip anyhow as he came about three years ago with his nephew and family. Thank you Shearings and all the staff at the Marine... Very enjoyable visit!

Room Tip: We were in single rooms on the first floor and experienced no problems. Cannot say about the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vivaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hi Vivaylesbury It's really good to read that both you and your dad enjoyed your holiday with us. The Wifi has been fixed with a new router being fitted. Thank you for your strong support and hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just back from a long weekend here as part of a coach trip. I can't believe some of the recent reviews complaining about quality of rooms and cleanliness - they must have been staying in a different hotel from me! I had a single room which was freshly decorated, well furnished and spotlessly clean - and I mean CLEAN, I could see my reflection in the plughole! All staff were very friendly and welcoming, doing everything they could to ensure we all had an enjoyable stay. Dinner was what I would expect at this type of hotel, every night had a choice of 3 starters, 5 mains and 3 desserts. I enjoyed everything I had. The only thing I'd like to see improved is the breakfast (I really didn't like the scrambled egg, and that's a very simple thing to make). If you're looking for luxury rooms and michelin star dining then perhaps a hotel as part of a coach tour is not for you! I think some people need to readjust their expectations. I thought this hotel was excellent value for money, I'd highly recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hi Fiona2326 thank you for your post it is great to read that we ticked all your boxes and I will speak with chef to see if he can tweak the scrambled egg should you come back to us. Thanks again, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Booked a 3 night stay independent of coach travel. Had great difficulty getting the car close to the hotel to enable dropping off our luggage(the car park was not available -full).Then was greeted by the door being locked ,at 16.00hrs!- was eventually taken pity on by a fellow guest who saw our predicament from the window and opened the door for us. Our bed room was adequate,but was not improved by a minute showeroom impossible to find a spot to lay out shaving equipment etc. The food was OK though not over generous in portion size,and imagination.

We have stayed at several other hotels owned by this company and have been completely satisfied, this establishment obviously needs some management attention, quickly.!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room,or pray!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hi Peter Y I'm sorry you found the Marine lacking. The doors are not normally locked at 16.00hrs and there are door bells present at every entrance. Assistance with luggage is readily available to expedite the unloading of vehicles on arrival. The menu items we offer are the same as at other Bay hotels and if we are aware we are happy to provide any guest with larger portions at meal times. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on the seafront and just round the corner from the shops. Our room was small (as was the wardrobe) but bright and clean and appeared to have been recently refurbished. The bathroom was fine but a hook on the back of the door and shelf in the shower would be welcome additions. The ceiling light did not work but was promptly replaced on reporting to reception. The hotel staff are all friendly, helpful and polite and do a great job. The lack of a view from the window was not a problem as we spent little time in the room. The swimming pool looked OK but was closed. It was raining in during Monday's stormy weather so that may have been the reason. There are two restaurants and we ate in the Prince Albert at the front of the hotel. It was a nice bright dining room and waiter service was very good. Breakfast was adequate and evening meals were very good. I am a vegetarian and found the meals tasty and varied but think that the Chef's Special should be vegetarian several times in the week to give vegetarians a choice. After all non vegetarians have a choice of 3 dishes every evening. We liked the variety of fresh vegetables served with meals and there was a good choice of desserts too. The hotel has WIFI access via The Cloud in the bar area but it was hit and miss and went down during our stay. I think WIFI in bedrooms would be more useful than TVs. I would return to this hotel and would rate it the best for cleanliness, food and staff of all the Shearings hoteld we have stayed in to date. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dizzy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Dizzy06 thank you for such a positive review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. The Wifi is back up and running and the pool was reopened after the CCTV was fixed. I will discuss with chef your suggestion to make the Chef's Special vegetarian occasionally during the week, as there are tasty vegetarian dishes that might have wide appeal. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We booked 5 day holiday with Shearings, where do we start! First the food was disgusting,hotel room, there was dust on walls above headboards and behind the curtains on the wooden window frame was thick of brown dust which means to me it had not seen any duster or polish for years! Alot of tea or coffee stains on side of the base of the bed, badly stained carpets which looked like it had been down since place had been built! The lift was a pain always having a long wait for it, rooms was not spacious enough we inquired about upgrade but nothing available, room was dark and gloomy and depressing,the hotel did ruin our holiday, plenty of shops to walk round but not enough seaside gift shops to my opinion the pier was the high light of the week! floors so uneven,and the floor so creeky which is probably understandable to how old the building is,they should pay more attention to rooms as well as they do in lounge as we saw a member of staff on hands and knees spraying polish on the step in lounge and cleaning it well! we shall not be returning to the bay marine, been on Shearings holidays before and this is the worst hotel we ever been too!

Room Tip: Would not advise any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Nicholas J I am quite shocked by your post especially considering how many good posts the hotel has received this year. Unfortunately Trip Advisor is very anonymous and I cannot trace the room you occupied from your review. I can only comment that the hotel has had major refurbishment works completed last year and this year to improve the standard of accommodation we offer. I would be happy to discuss your stay if you were to call me at the hotel. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend at Marine Hotel Llandudno This was our first trip to Wales and what a lovely place Llandudno is . It was a lovely clean resort with lots to do and see and has a beautiful Promenade. It has lots of shops and lovely places to eat which was just as well as the food at Marine Hotel was terrible. We have used Shearings Hotel for over 18 years and the food has got steadily worse it was so bad ghat we have psid for Bed Breakfast and Evening Meal but ate out every night The soup tasted like water with no taste at all and the main course was the cheapest of ingredients you can buy . Im afraid this will be the last time we use a Shearings Hotel It was such a shame as the rest of the Hotel was ok and Llandudno is z beautiful place which we will return to at a different hotel we also paid Shearings for Car parking at five pounds per day as my parents were with us and mum uses a wheelchair when we asked where we parked the car we were told to go round the back of ghe hotel and keep walking until we came to the Shellbourne Hotel and park there when we could have parked on ghe street for free Just not good enough

Room Tip: None We paid extra for sea view and the window was tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MARGARET MARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Margaret Mary C I am disappointed that you found the meals we serve so unappetising. I have checked and can find no record of any complaint regarding food from any guests who have stayed recently. I would have liked to have had the opportunity to try to resolve your complaints whilst you were here. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bay Marine Hotel and had a lovely time. The staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly Andrea (who waited on us). The room was just right for us. There was a good selection on offer for breakfast and dinner. Being a vegequarian, it was nice to have both a vegetarian dish and a fish/seafood dish on the menu each night; and a full vegetarian breakfast in the morning. I can't comment on the entertainment because it wasn't really our thing, except that for the second year running, we seemed to have managed to get a room directly above said entertainment. Wi-fi was limited to the lounge area but that was okay; and it would have been nice to have a swim before breakfast (the swimming pool was available from 8 am while breakfast finished serving at 9 am).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Sam S good to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the service you received from the staff, Andrea in particular. If you travel again to any Bay hotel it is now possible to book specific rooms for your stay. Ring the hotel direct to book or to get advice on specific rooms to meet your needs and you can avoid being directly over the entertainment. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#29 of 60 in Llandudno
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: £56 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing