We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveller rating
187
370
220
78
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
370
220
78
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view shearings hotels self drive swimming pool shearings holiday dining room sea front evening meal coach driver served hot meal times bar prices turkey and tinsel superior room flat screen tv plenty of hot water single room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 922 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Clean hotel. Comfortable bed.
Food very good value for what we paid for the four days. Good selection at Dinner hot and tasty.
Breakfast buffet style agsin hot and tasty.... shame croissants are only served at Christmas........
Staff smart and professional
Thank you

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sunloverhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi sunloverhampshire, Thank you for your post, I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Great to read you found the staff smart and professional. Hope to see you again, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

A group of 9 of us, family trip, food and waiter service was good, rooms basic, not soundproofed, could hear everything in the next room, the resident entertainer steve, completely ruined the entire stay, apart from being talentless, he was the rudest, most arrogant, obnoxious, cocky host ive ever known, he could barely disguise his lack of interest in the customers, he utterly humiliated me over a quiz question in front of over 150 people, he spoke to customers as if they were dirt on the bottom of his shoe, he stood in reception and used the most foul language to describe his employers, in front of our 88 year old aunt, we heard him do this on three separate occasions, and so many guests heard him too and lots of people were complaining amongst each other about him and his attitude towards paying customers. He should be sacked on the spot, one poor man collapsed during bingo and he made an audible tut over the microphone, didn't move from his chair and then went to carry on with bingo while the poor man was still lying on the floor, it was up to our table to help the poor man, if it wasn't for the fact we would have been kicked out, I would have punched his lights out, He is not, nor ever will be an entertainer, his singing was that awful my ears were almost bleeding, because of him we will NEVER visit this hotel again and will make sure my 1000 twitter followers know this too. If his employers had heard him calling them out the way he did they would have handed him his p45 there and then. DISGRACEFUL

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navigator10825427116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Hi Navigator10825427116, thank you for taking the time to post. All feedback received is treated very seriously as it greatly affects the success of the business. I appreciate receiving both negative as well as positive comments and I am pleased that hotel and service you received were good. I have investigated the issues you have raised in your post with the entertainer and find them to be largely inaccurate. The investigation included conversation with the entertainer, his agency, the Deputy Manager who went to the assistance of the man who fell and the bar staff on shift that evening. Thank you again for taking the time to post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here on the 27th ..We came for the fireworks they were cancelled due to weather but as we had paid for our hotel thought we would stay and make the most of it ..Our room was a £109 box room that had odd furniture and an ensuite that smelt of a cat litter tray. Huge crack in the celing in the room Dirty stained curtains a window that would not close broken hairdryer and none working phone. They came to look at the phone 10 mins before we left the following morning . Pool changing rooms were filthy advertised as recently refurbished obviously missed our room ..On the plus side nice friendly staff .Not a place i will be returning to in the future though ..

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Hi Michelle G, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that there were issues with the room. I believe I have found your booking and identified the room you stayed in. I can only apologise for the issues not being resolved immediately as I believe you were only here the one night. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the staff. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

As a group of friends we booked this hotel, lovely large rooms, plenty of room to lounge about, and fairly recent upgrade. Breakfast was buffet style and was one of the best we've ever had in hotels, unfortunately that can't be said for the evening meal, which was dire at best, one friend commented that it was worse than nursing home food, bland and child size portions. The entertainment...if thats what it was supposed to be wasn't much better, if the 'host' had stuck to singing it would have been acceptable, he seemed to be there under sufferance, and not enjoying his job and making sure none of the guests did either. Private parking was worth every penny, took the stress out of going out! Staff were friendly and polite and really went out of there way to help, but nothing could help the evening dinner!! Would go back....but only on B&B.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Farsleyflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Hi Farsleyflyers, thank you for your post and the feed back. It is great to read that the staff were really good and that you like the rooms and the breakfast. I can only apologise for the entertainment not being to your liking and assure you the entertainer is not here 'under sufferance'. I am concerned that you did not like the evening meals. We do monitor meals, listening to guest comments as well as watching what comes back off the plates as a means of judging portion size and quality. I can only suggest that if you stay with us again that you raise issue whilst you are here so that we can improve on what you receive. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

The room that we were allocated was very basic, but was clean. The house keeping staff attended the room every day to change towels, empty the bin and top up the in room hospitality tray with tea and coffee. The staggered dinner times worked very well and the menu was good. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and the waiting staff were polite and very good (especially the eastern europeans). There was bingo and entertainment in the evening, but on the down side the bar prices were top end. The weekend break with Shearings was on the whole value for money.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barryaylward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Hi barryaylward1, great to read that you enjoyed your holiday and found it to be value for money. Also glad you liked the dining arrangements. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews