We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity - disappointing experience!”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Had a five day stay with my husband at the Marine Hotel; luckily, we don't need a wheelchair lift as it STILL isn't fixed (see previous tripadvisor reviews) but many of the guests did need that facility.

Booked a premier room which was pleasant, but, unless the standard rooms are rotten, wasn't worth £100 each extra for 4 nights.

Kate, our waitress, was lovely and very efficient. The food, however, was generally poor, and the vegetarian options were unappetising.

Bar prices were high, and the bar staff often appeared to wish they were somewhere else - so did we!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandma-Grandpa6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Bay Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

Arrived at the hotel to find the car park miniscule and full, parked in front of the boiler house and unloaded. We had to move the car on Day two and parked it against the side wall, not in a bay but they said it was ok. No apparant lift up from rear car park so lugged cases and bags up the stairs. Hotel dated but ok, had booked a premier room with a sea view which we got, only one window opened, no heating in room or working heated towel rail in bathroom and bathroom spotlight out. This was reported but never replaced.
First night meal acceptable but service very slow and veggies cooked beyond their best, nice atmosphere in the dining room though. Following breakfast they ran out of bread rolls, took a walk around Llandudno really did not want to move the car as there would have been nowhere to park it again. Street parking comes in at £3.00 per day. Day two of food was slightly better, and waitress service was excellent provided by Adrienne.
Day three risked taking the car off the car park and headed down the coast, parked back against a wall when we returned.
Entertainment basic - resident duo and some sort of magic act. Swimming pool nice but changing facilities appalling, no lock on the toilet door in the ladies and hadn't been for some time as it had oxidised, not particulary nice.
Overall a very expensive break in a very basic hotel, not the relaxing bank holiday break we were hoping for. Not worth the money paid and will be contacting Shearrings with my thoughts.
They did have an overflow carpark up the block of about ten spaces, but this hotel and the County hotel (other Bay hotel) had very poor parking)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This is a tired hotel, but the staff are friendly and helpful. The food on arrival was very disappointing - cold and unappetising. It did improve slightly over the holiday, but needs some imagination. The wines are expensive and poor choices. Our main complaint was with Shearings - the 'shed' they transport you to before boarding another coach and the waiting around. The little trains trip was a joke. We had coffee one morning in the St George hotel and (I know it must be more expensive)but what a pleasure. However the Marine hotel is in a very good position for all the amenities, so that must be a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hingeandbracket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

my husband and i stayed at this hotel for a weekend with caledonia travel .the room was clean and fresh ,a bit old fashion in bedrooms ,the food was top class and the waitress kate was very quick and helpful the entertainment was ok but could have been better .it was our first time inn wales and we will be back would recomend this hotel to any one who wants a nice weekend away ======betty bagan aug 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug170945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Food awfull. Bathroom - lost for words. Never again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The Marine Hotel is superbly located for beach, shops, pubs etc. Although the decor etc is all a bit sad the food has improved since our last stay and the dining room service was exceptional. As always with a Shearings Hotel the bar was expensive so we had a few minutes walk to the local Wetherspoons. At £45 per night dinner, bed and breakfast it is very good value. The bedroom was fair to middling but the shower room was pretty dire.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keswickman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Mother and Mother in Law on a 5 day stay. Room with sea view was comfortable and clean. Hotel was good and the staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the food was very poor. A surprise as other comments on this site give the food a good rating. They enjoyed Llandudno and will go back but not to this hotel. A shame because only the food was a let down.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: £80 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing