We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful - good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful - good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Having stayed at several Shearings Bay Hotels we knew what to expect and this is hotel is fairly typical - an old building, in need of refurbishment. However, the room - although small and with a tiny bathroom - was warm and reasonably clean. The staff were very helpful. The food (the normal Shearings menu) was not very good; we have had the same menu cooked and presented much better. The food was of a lowly standard. The location is very good - right on the seafront - ideal for walks on the prom and also close for the shops. The evening entertainment was OK but we felt that more effort could have been made to get people to join in. The visiting cabaret mid-week (an old-style comic) was very funny.
With these Shearings Bay Hotels you get what you pay for so, as long as you are happy with cheap and cheerful, they are good value for money, especially if you come on a Shearings Coach Tour as the outings are very good and this is a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Over all it sounds like you enjoyed your holiday and clearly considered it good value for money which is good. Obviousely we want to do better and I am greatful for your comments on where you believe we can improve. It is recognised that the hotel is in need of some refurbishment and there are plans in place that we hope will be fully implemented later in the year. I am really excited at the prospect as I want my customers to have a great holiday when staying here.

We do our best with the presentation of food we serve but this is a difficult area to please everyone all the time. We are always happy to listen to suggestions on how we can improve our service. In addition to our standard rooms, we are able to offer upgrades to bigger more luxurious rooms. There is a charge but it is well worth it, just enquire when booking or if they are available on arrival. You are clearly a seasoned Shearings Holidays traveller so we will no doubt see you again. Give us a call later in the year and we can update you on any changes. Many thanks, Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    299
    190
    71
    53
See reviews for
122
388
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
e midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband & I spent a long weekend for our ruby wedding anniversary last week. In fact we were probably next door to the previous reviewer as our comments are very similar. It is a rabbit warren of a hotel with very narrow corridors and in need of extensive decoration. The carpet in our bedroom was unclean and the curtain pelmet had not seen a vacuum nozzle for many a long month. The food portions are a bit on the small side but that said with 3 courses we never went hungry. The staff are friendly & efficient and we were delighted with the flowers in our room for our anniversary. To be honest it was a very good deal. We paid £38.50 per day each for dinner,bed & breakfast which is very good value for money. Give the Marine a try and make your own mind up.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbeeEMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Glad to see you enjoyed your holiday - a special one at that. We are looking to continually maintain the hotels fixtures and fittings, finding a time that suits the demands of the business is the tricky bit but we are due to be refurbished later this year. Regular checks on cleanliness are made but clearly we need to try harder to achieve a more consistent standard, so thank you for bring that to my attention. At such good value, we look forward to seeing you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

The check in was good and luggage was delivered to our room for us which was good.
We had a seaview which was on 2nd floor. The room was at the end of a winding corridor and it took us some time to figure out the the fire exit was through a bedroom and the key was in a glass case outside the door. We were not happy with this arrangement.
The room was pleasantly decorated but the carpet was filthy. Wallpaper in the corridors was peeling off and the hotel corridors need to be re-decorated as they were a mess and very out dated.
Food was average but plentiful, and service quite efficent.
The drinks were a little higher priced than average,especially the beers and cider.
They did however do an offer on some shorts.
The staff on the whole were pleasant and efficent but even though the location is better than its sister hotel The County I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loracWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Over all it does sound like you enjoyed your holiday with us which is great. We are a large hotel - 114 selling bedrooms - so the corridors can go on. We do work hard to maintain the fabric of the building and clean the bedrooms to a desirable standard; we perhaps need to improve on the consistency we achieve, so thank you for bringing this to my attention. We are due for refurbishment later in the year which will make a huge difference to our operation and your holiday enjoyment. It sounds like you come to Llandudno regularly, I hope you will think again about coming back to the Marine and if you do, give me a ring and I can help look after you. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

A tired hotel in need of refurbishment run by management in need of ideas. Situated in good location and looks good from outside. Inside the decor is tacky and old. Our room on the 3rd floor was squalid, small and musty. The hotel was almost empty - why were we is such a poor room when there was better ones available. We paid 10 pound per night extra for a larger room. It was better but why have to pay extra for a decent room.
Food not bad but portions very small and you will not be offered a coffee top up or anything else extra. The sliced toast was so thin I wasn't sure if I should eat it or shave with it.
We went for a weekend cabaret special. The regular act were straight from the 1950's and the star turn on Saturday night didn't bother to turn up.
My advice - only use this hotel if you get a very good price and even then dont expect too much............

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geronimo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
I am sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel but thank you for taking the time to make your views and thoughts known. We do appreciate receiving any feedback - good or bad- as it is only by receiving this that we can hope to improve our services.

I am sorry you did not like the first room allocated. It is true we had very low occupancy that week end so other rooms were available, however, I need to allocate rooms according to what people have booked as there may be a specific reason why someone has booked that room type. I hope you were well treated when we organised the room move with you.

It does not sound like you enjoyed your holiday with us and there were a number of issues that caused this. It is difficult to please everyone all the time and what is good for one person is not for another; I am sure that we could have resolved some of the issues for you - meal portions and extra coffee are easy fixes.

Should you decide to give us another chance, as we do offer very good rates throughout the year as mentioned by other reviewers, please call me before you travel and I can help look after your booking. You may not be fully aware that we offer varying standards of rooms at different rates to suit you. Thank you for your comments. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Visited this Hotel as an independent guest and paid to upgrade to a premier room as the allocated room was situated on the main staircase with a rather musty smell. Alternative rooms were apparently not readily available. Even the first premier offer had a bathroom with a distinct putrid smell. The food had to be taken in the ordinary restaurant and was a fixed menu with some options not available. The swimming pool was good but the changing rooms poor with showers not working. The location was good with sea views from several rooms. The service was very poor we asked for toiletries to be replenished and this took most of the day despite several requests.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
I am disappointed that you did not find the service or facilities we provide to be to your liking. We do have two restaurants but there is no difference between them; it is our intention to provide the same level of service to all the guests who stay with us. We aim to ensure that all the fixtures and fittngs in the hotel are maintained and functional. I am not aware of any issues with the showers but will certainly investigate this now that you have brought the matter to my attention. I can only appologise for the toiletries not being replenished in your room quickly enough; this task is completed when the room attendants service the room. Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, U.K
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We had a superior sea view room which we have had before-Large, airy, warm...Food was fine, restaurant staff friendly, reception staff very helpful-especially when we rang beforehand to request specific room if possible....which we did get. My gripe last visit was the high cost of drinks and this visit Shearings put on a totally 'Free Bar' on Saturday night which went down well! On previous visits, on arrival, we found a free Sunday lunch had been included-so some nice surprises.Yes, it does need some decorative updating, it is a creaky old building but position is great near the shops and as a base for going walking in Snowdonia...(We don't need disabled access but we were made aware when booking that their disabled outside lift would not be working).. We will certainly be going back-excellent value for money, thanks!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelagh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Hi Shelagh23, apologies for not posting a reply sooner, but it was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the upgraded room. Your review reads as though you come to us regularly which is great. Hopefully you will be coming again. Thank you for posting your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in... The food was inedible... hotel throw back from 80's... bar man the rudest man I have ever come across...
Disabled access none existant as wheelchair lift out of order.... Swimming pool closed... Reception staff waste of time but friendly...
Only good thing restaurant staff worked tiredlessly and very very polite and helpful...
This was my 40th Birthday celebration with my mother father 18yr old daughter aunt and uncle... Diagnosed with MS for my 30th birthday thought we'd make my 40th a little special with my loved ones... What a mistake that was... Avoid this hotel....

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellnfarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Please accept my apologies that your 40th birthday celebrations did not turn out to be as enjoyable as you had hoped. I do remember the situation at the bar and am very sorry that this mix up upset you and your party.

Every effort is made to maintain high standards across the hotel and there are plans to refurbish the hotel later this year. When a property and its facilities e.g. lifts are in constant use, repairs can sometimes become necessary - we will always try to get these completed as quickly as possible to avoid inconvenience to our customers. The swimming pool was closed for just a week in February but was available at all other times except for a few hours as hoc for routine maintenance.

We are still waiting for planning permission approval from the local council to get a ramp installed. Once in place we hope that this will make our hotel much more accessible to our customers.

Thank you for the comments you have made - we do appreciate any feedback - good or bad - as it is only by receiving this that we can hope to improve and maintain services.

Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing