We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Somerset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Somerset Hotel
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Tired, old fashioned and in need of total refurbishment to bring it up to current expectations. Our room was small - sink was in bedroom with very small almost unusable wobbly shelf above for toiletries - shower was very basic over bath - shower curtain was mouldy - bathroom tiles chipped etc. But provides all the basic requirements and is well situated.

Room Tip: Don't have room over ballroom (quite a lot of them) - you will have to listen to "entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a sea view room which was ideal. Parking at rear is available but fills up quickly and is tight.
The hotel is ideally situated for the promenade which is flat and well maintained.
The hotel itself is fine and merits its 3 star status. Breakfast was spot on with a good choice of items. The room was clean and if I was to criticise it was the fact the basin was in the room and not within the bathroom. However this is minor . Overall value for money. The hotel had lovely lounge rooms which overlook the promenade and has a superb patio area with umberellas and tables to enjoy watching the world go by and most enjoyable if accompanied with a drink from the bar.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc_bento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the Somerset Hotel from 6 / 07 / 13 till 10 / 07 /13 . The bedroom was very small with a tiny bathroom minus a wash up basin. This was located in the bedroom. Breakfast was reasonable served by the hardworking and busy staff . Evening meal was terrible and not appetising . This has been our worst experience ever of staying at an hotel which was far from cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ieuan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Having just returned from a short break with my family and 10 year old grandson I found the hotel very dated, the bedrooms were also dated and in need of a refurb. The sink being outside the bathroom was a big no no room 605. The hotel didn't advise that it took pets (well not that we could find) so again not great especially when my daughter has a fur allergy. The reception staff could be friendlier, the bar prices are ridiculous. All in all a miserable hotel that we shall never visit agin.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a nice hotel with wonderful views over the bay. It is very clean and has the advantage of having its' own car park.
The reception staff are very pleasant but lacking in customer service. The night port is very friendly and helpful.
The front door is locked at 11pm. This is probably because the average aid of the guests is 75 and all are in bed by then. You aren't allowed a key and have to knock to get in if you are late back!

We went for a walk before breakfast and saw the golden oldies queing before 8am for breakfast.

Although friendly the staff in the dining room were very stressed and the staff couldn't find a table with our name on and several others couldn't find a table with their names on so we and others were ushered into the coach party dining room where we were eventually seated.

The breakfast is good and piping hot and we were served by a very pleasant young man.

When we handed our key back neither of the two ladies behind the reception desk bothered to ask us if we had enjoyed our stay, which is a pity because apart from the confusion at breakfast we had a lovely time.

Although our room was at the back it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyq1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Only stayed one night as part of a weekend explore of the (beautiful) area.

Booking the last room of a type, on the day of travel - its expected to end up with no view, low floor, near the stairs. While this was as expected, it was clean, comfortable and most importantly had comprehensive brew-making facilities.

Location couldn't be much better, and the lounge areas, while not modern and edgy, fit well with the vibe of the town and are welcoming.

-Generally I felt very at home from the minute of arrival. The lady who greeted us in reception was genuinely and memorably lovely, I'd poach her for my company in a second!

Sadly we didn't get a chance to try the food, but it did at least look like good value.

An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Be careful when making a telephone reservation.Iwas quoted for a a double room,but when I arrived at the Hotel I had only been allocated a single room with a single bed for me, my wife and 15 month old baby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank quizman165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Address: St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £54 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hotel is an attractive seafront property on Llandudno's beautiful seafront with views of the pier and the Great Orme. The Somerset Hotel, joined the Daish's family in 2015 and is our first venture into Wales. It's perfect for singles, couples and friends alike. And with nightly performances in the bar - you'll always be entertained. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With the beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Llandudno town centre and great facilities. And from 2017 it's exclusively for adults, so you can be sure of a relaxing break when you choose the Somerset Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing