We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somersethotelood”
Review of Somerset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Somerset Hotel
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 31 August 2013

waslh basi n in b betteredroom not in bathroom seating in dining room no organization lift too small for size of hotel good entertainment when on food not bad not very friendly staff would not reccomend

Room Tip: ask for a big room with seaview and walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 548Jennifer_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a Premier Seafront room- nice and clean. Hotel in perfect location.
Room-Mattress very hard, drink making facilities good, needs decor refurb, not up to Premier status.
Meals- sat at diff table every day- not good -like a game of hide & seek at mealtimes. Food ok. Staff friendly but easily confused.
Entertainment- non existent! Bank holiday weekend & no music/artist, VERY boring evening not even background music! All other hotels were having great fun - we just went to bed in the end.
Chef went home one eve & left gas on. 6 of us complained about smell of gas. Staff eventually found the prob & switched it off. 2 hours later still smelt gas - told staff - she was very rude to us.
When we checked out staff were pleasant but we were not even asked if we had enjoyed our stay - that says it all to me - they weren't bothered.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Car park tricky.breakfast dry no beans or tomato juice etc.bathroom not big enough for sink that was in bedroom.no entertainment sat or sun ! returned after checking out to have cup of tea before travelling home (2.10 ) to be told we stop serving drinks at 2.00 ! what sort of hotel doesnt serve tea and coffee anytime ?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I booked 2 double rooms for my wife and myself, and a double room for my brother-law who is slightly disabled and his wife. The booking was by phone and I asked for the 2 rooms with a sea view, and above the entrance. When we arrived, we were given 2 rooms directly above the ballroom, so that we were disturbed by the entertainment, which was not our cup of tea anyway.The dining room for the coach parties was large and roomy, but the the dining room for individual booking guests was confined and had too many tables in it. The lift was a real outdated one as it was small and had two gates to it, which if any one left these open ( which often happened ) you could not use it, and no member of staff ever checked this. The morning reception staff were a lot to be desired, but generally the rest of the staff were not too bad.The beds in both our rooms were hard, and to get a good nights sleep was out of the question.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Staff ok, food and room likewise but yet another hotel in a long line of ones that need major reinvestment
It's so sad to see the decline of these once majestic sea-front properties, however, we want everything at "bargain" prices so we end up getting what we pay for.
Sad, not really the owners fault, they can only work with the budget they have but eventually the capital investment needed will cripple this type of place and they, and the resorts they are in, will be flattened and replaced with what?

Room Tip: You will struggle for entertainment in Llandudno at night. Sunday night, mid August - nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmiles8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked a family room for one nights stay. Hotel location could not have been better, car park at rear of hotel is OK but a bit 'tight' in places.
Would have loved a sea-view room on the front of the hotel, but unfortunately our room was at the rear of the hotel on the top floor. Lift was TINY, if fact no way a family could fit it with baggage.
Room was adequate and comfy although fixtures and fittings were typical 'flat-pack' standard and not very modern. the whole look of the public areas of the hotel had been designed with their target clientelle in mind (most of guests at the hotels were of the older generation) but we didn't feel out of place even with 2 younger children in tow and were made to feel very welcome.
To sum the Somerset hotel up... You get exactly what you would expect from a family run hotel on the front in Llandudno... There will be better but there certainly will be a lot worst.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluerick2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Tired, old fashioned and in need of total refurbishment to bring it up to current expectations. Our room was small - sink was in bedroom with very small almost unusable wobbly shelf above for toiletries - shower was very basic over bath - shower curtain was mouldy - bathroom tiles chipped etc. But provides all the basic requirements and is well situated.

Room Tip: Don't have room over ballroom (quite a lot of them) - you will have to listen to "entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
928 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Address: St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £47 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hotel is an attractive seafront property on Llandudno's beautiful seafront with views of the pier and the Great Orme. The Somerset Hotel, joined the Daish's family in 2015 and is our first venture into Wales. It's perfect for singles, couples and friends alike. And with nightly performances in the bar - you'll always be entertained. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With the beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Llandudno town centre and great facilities. And from 2017 it's exclusively for adults, so you can be sure of a relaxing break when you choose the Somerset Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing