We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location,But”
Review of Somerset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Somerset Hotel
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location,But”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here Oct,2013,our 2nd,stay this year but after this stay it will be our last, Given a double this time that would be better as a single no hot water, only warm, poor shower someone managed to sqeeze a toilet in between the bath and wash basin, Stayed two nights, second morning breakfast was a joke,forty five minutes left of service no glasses for fruit juice, no dishes for cereals or fruit,had to wait when they finally came they were hot not very good for cold fruit asked for more coffee after a long wait was told they had forgot ,our previous stay, we could not fault but sadly this stay was our last.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    157
    128
    40
    21
See reviews for
85
237
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I was put up here for 2 nights for my trade union conference, and had an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was included in the price, and there was a good selection of cereal and hot food. Although the furniture in my room was old, it was in good condition and spotless, and I had 2 good nights sleep. The only thing that let the room down for me was the bathroom; a tiny shower head, the angle of which was hard to adjust, mould behind the bath taps, and a ripped plastic shower curtain. All the staff I encountered were friendly, and there is a decent sized car park at the back. Maybe not the place for a romantic getaway, but spot on for my needs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank the_mashtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here for a few nights mid week, the rooms are clean but a little old fashioned for my taste, food good and well cooked. Staff on reception during the day not so welcoming but made up by the night staff and bar staff who were extremely friendly tues and Wednesday, good entertainment Tuesday night in all a good stay as the location is great for prom, over looking the sea and shops right behind the even have a car park a little tight at times but overall good. Would recommend and would return

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at the Somerset Hotel in September 2013, it was very clean with friendly helpful staff. The location could not be better, right on the promenade with fantastic views across the bay. The hotel had a small and somewhat tight car park but this was a bonus as parking in Llandudno can be difficult and costly. The breakfast was the only thing that was not as expected, small portions and cheap produce it would seem. Everything else was great. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms oofer fantastic views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tulsablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Somerset in September 2013 as a follow up to our Golden anniversary in August. We were generally very pleased with the facilities and the fact that we were given a front sea-facing room.Hotel was very clean although a little dated. Food was generally good and well cooked and overall we enjoyed our stay at the Somerset Hotel.
We travelled to the hotel with Barnes Coaches of Swindon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent particularly on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuddlycirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

i booked this hotel last minute and then read reviews on tripadvisor and thought i had made a big mistake.but found out i had not.the hotel was very good.all staff friendly .sea view room.good food.entertainment 3 out of 4 nights excellent central location.would certainly go again.

Room Tip: request a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 390Alan_W_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My Mum (in her seventies) stayed here for a holiday with four Grandchildren aged 20, 18, 13 & 5. A tall order in anyones book. The family room was on the third floor and at the front of the hotel (great to have a sea view) and well equipped. The twin was at the rear of the hotel but was still a bright and comfortable room. The breakfast was freshly made and tasty. I stayed over for one night and was happy with the accommodation and service. All in all, very happy with the hotel, booked through Bookings.com and would return. :-) The location is excellent and the resort has a lot to offer all ages and tastes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanadale91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Property: Somerset Hotel
Address: St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hotel is an attractive seafront property on Llandudno's beautiful seafront with views of the pier and the Great Orme. The Somerset Hotel, joined the Daish's family in 2015 and is our first venture into Wales. It's perfect for singles, couples and friends alike. And with nightly performances in the bar - you'll always be entertained. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With the beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Llandudno town centre and great facilities. And from 2017 it's exclusively for adults, so you can be sure of a relaxing break when you choose the Somerset Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing