We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Somerset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Somerset Hotel
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A large, clean establishment that seems to cater to the older age group. We had a rear facing room and my friend was horrified to find that there was plastic sheeting on her mattress! It looks as thought it is in a time warp with furnishings from the 1970s. The breakfast poached eggs tasted of nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank cjwales1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose the Somerset because it had a ramp, but it was too steep to push a wheelchair up easily. The bedroom furniture was marked and needed refinishing, the beds were too hard to sleep on and the bathroom not easily used by a disabled person. During our stay of 6 nights we were moved to 4 different tables in the dining room and on the last day we not allocated a table at all. breakfast was poor. Without a doubt this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Disabled room number 400 not to be recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Come back from a lovely weekend at the Somerset in Llandudno. The hotel was clean, comfortable bed, staff were incredibly friendly especially our room maid and the breakfast was lovely. I even got a couple of extra sausages when I asked, for my dog who had turned his nose up at his dog food. He was very happy. Refreshing to find that I also managed to get a good nights sleep, the entertainment at the Somerset finishes at a reasonably hour. Not a murmur from me or my dog. Very happy. Definitely will stay again

Room Tip: sea view - away from the lifts and the late night revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAREN123Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having looked at all the reviews it was decided on the toss of a coin to stay here. I can honestly say I am glad we did stay. The hotel is very large and we had a room with a sea view overlooking the lovely bay of Llandudno. There is a large car park at the rear which I found by looking on google maps before we went. The main thing for us is that they are pet friendly as we took our German Shepherd with us, they made him welcome. Having seen reviews about the food we kept and open mind, although we only had breakfast. Again the food was excellent and the staff were friendly too. Overall we were pleasantly surprised and as the hotel is in an ideal location to the town and pier etc we will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Reception area very clean and tidy, staff efficient and very friendly. My wife and I have been to the hotel a few times, nice to see that the staff remembered us, Room very clean and tidy, plenty of towels in the bathroom. Room decor clean, fresh looking , bed very comfortable.
Had an evening meal and breakfast, dining room staff also very friendly, efficient and there was no wait for the food to be served. Plenty of choice and the food well cooked.
Well worth the money, will be going back again to the same hotel later on this year
One slightly disappointing issue....lift very small and dated, we used the stairs instead. Was no great problem to us but it might be to some.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room, probably will have to pay more but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a very nice room with wonderful view of the pier and sea front. Our twin room was spacious (one double, one single bed) and we had a huge bath with a really good shower over it; there were plenty of toiletries and beautiful towels every day. It was all very clean. Loads of storage space. Easy-to-control radiator was great as we got drenched one day and had to dry out all our clothes. Very handy for town, pier, prom etc. Wouldn't be very good if you were disabled or unsteady on your feet as there were lots of steps and the lift was tiny and really ancient. We only had breakfast in the hotel, and it was a nice breakfast with good service, but the tables were very close together. The car park is a bit small and tricky to manoeuvre, but at least it has a car park. However, if you are lucky enough to catch a space, it is much easier to park on the promenade (free 4pm - 10am). If we were going back to Llandudno, I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wizzydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, we had a sea front room but because the windows are the old sash type there is no double glazing, the shower cubicle is designed for a child of about 5 because it is tiny, everything about this hotel is old and dated. The toast in the morning for breakfast was cold and hard, the lift is about a hundred years old. The whole building needs some money spending on it. Definitely will not be coming back here....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#42 of 59 in Llandudno
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 59 in Llandudno
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Address: St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hotel is an attractive seafront property on Llandudno's beautiful seafront with views of the pier and the Great Orme. The Somerset Hotel, joined the Daish's family in 2015 and is our first venture into Wales. It's perfect for singles, couples and friends alike. And with nightly performances in the bar - you'll always be entertained. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With the beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Llandudno town centre and great facilities. And from 2017 it's exclusively for adults, so you can be sure of a relaxing break when you choose the Somerset Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing