We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerset _ on the seafront”
Review of Somerset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Somerset Hotel
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
nottinghamL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Somerset _ on the seafront”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week at end of July, with wife, pooch and for 5 nights our grandson (not booked in) Hotel easy to find, parking at rear, a little tight, but a bit of manovering never hurt anyone. Checkin easy, staff very polite and helful.
Room on second floor, more than adaquate, always clean to high standard, despite the best efforts of grandson.
Breakfast, again the staff were excellant, in particular young lady who appeared to be in charge, always helping with grandson. Food was good, plenty of choice. Didnt have evening meals, but plenty of people were eating in, didn't hear any complaints.
sure the
place needs some cash spending on it, to bring it into the 21st century, but that dosen't take away the good efforts of the staff, who worked hard to please the guests. Plenty of relaxing areas, bar well stocked, didnt watch the entertainment but the oldies appeared to be enjoying it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stuhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    162
    133
    42
    22
See reviews for
88
252
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had 5 days in this Hotel organised by Gibbons Coach Holidays.....
Hotel was centrally situated on the Seafront...
Room was Great even though it was on the top floor....
Staff were friendly and Efficient....
Food was good with very fast service....
Entertainment very good with plenty of variety to please most people...
Nice break and would return.....
Very good Pub / Restaurant around the corner called the Carlton

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hot-Blast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

just returned from a weekend at this hotel and after reading a lot of the past reviews we were wondering what to expect. We had a very enjoyable stay - the hotel bedroom on the first floor had been refurbished( even though the wash-basin was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom) and was a really nice room comfortable beds and very clean white sheets with duvet covers to match the curtains. We went on a bed and breakfast deal and enjoyed a good cooked breakfast. We found the staff to be very friendly especially the reception. Plenty of seating in the lounges but did not like the idea of the dogs staying there and were allowed to sit on these chairs/settees - good thing was they were not allowed in the dining rooms. Would recommend this hotel - excellent position right on sea front.

Room Tip: possibly try to get a front bedroom although having not stayed in the rear rooms can't really co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 736david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Its situation overlooking the promenade and within a short walk of the town centre makes it very convenient, but it doesn’t have any great distinguishing features to set it aside from other hotels. The price is reasonable for a budget standard hotel with breakfast included.

I had a room on the 3rd floor with a nice sea view. There’s a lift that holds 4 people at a squeeze but you still need to climb the last few stairs to the landing where the rooms are situated. The room was rather cramped and dated, with an en-suite bath/shower and toilet, and a separate washbasin in the room. The bed was comfortable, but as it was warm it was necessary to leave the windows open at night so there was some noise disturbance from people sitting on the patio below as well as from passers–by.

There are separate breakfast rooms for coach parties and for other guests and there’s entertainment in the downstairs lounge most evenings. The staff were friendly enough, although the breakfast service seemed a bit disorganised.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A large, clean establishment that seems to cater to the older age group. We had a rear facing room and my friend was horrified to find that there was plastic sheeting on her mattress! It looks as thought it is in a time warp with furnishings from the 1970s. The breakfast poached eggs tasted of nothing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cjwales1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose the Somerset because it had a ramp, but it was too steep to push a wheelchair up easily. The bedroom furniture was marked and needed refinishing, the beds were too hard to sleep on and the bathroom not easily used by a disabled person. During our stay of 6 nights we were moved to 4 different tables in the dining room and on the last day we not allocated a table at all. breakfast was poor. Without a doubt this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Disabled room number 400 not to be recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HALIFAX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Come back from a lovely weekend at the Somerset in Llandudno. The hotel was clean, comfortable bed, staff were incredibly friendly especially our room maid and the breakfast was lovely. I even got a couple of extra sausages when I asked, for my dog who had turned his nose up at his dog food. He was very happy. Refreshing to find that I also managed to get a good nights sleep, the entertainment at the Somerset finishes at a reasonably hour. Not a murmur from me or my dog. Very happy. Definitely will stay again

Room Tip: sea view - away from the lifts and the late night revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAREN123Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Property: Somerset Hotel
Address: St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hotel is an attractive seafront property on Llandudno's beautiful seafront with views of the pier and the Great Orme. The Somerset Hotel, joined the Daish's family in 2015 and is our first venture into Wales. It's perfect for singles, couples and friends alike. And with nightly performances in the bar - you'll always be entertained. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With the beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Llandudno town centre and great facilities. And from 2017 it's exclusively for adults, so you can be sure of a relaxing break when you choose the Somerset Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing