We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent hosts”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent hosts”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Anyone wanting a good quality small, friendly and comfortable hotel on Llandudno's more peaceful (and I think more scenic) West Shore will be hard pushed to do better than the Clontarf. The bustling centre of town is only a couple of minutes drive away so you really can have the best of both worlds.
Joni and Mark went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Unlike one of the previous reviewers, we found the heating in our room very satisfactory even though the outside temperature never went over single figures while we were there.
Llandudno is a terrific base to explore the delights of North Wales and staying at the Clontarf made the experience even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treworga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    75
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
532
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2011

What a wonderful hotel, This will be our 3rd visit and once again thoroughly enjoyed our stay with beautifully decorated spacious bedrooms and luxurious bathrooms. The hotel is a stones throw away from the beach, and a perfect location for exploring all that North Wales has to offer. As ever Joni and Mark cannot do enough for you to make your stay a magical one, from the amazing breakfasts, to the helpful hints on where to visit within the local area, nothing seems to much trouble. We will definitley be back for another relaxing stay and cannot recommend this hotel enough. The only down side was that we had to go home!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minijones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billinge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Luxury hotel with the added touch of very friendly staff. Owners Joni and Mark made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed two nights and would of loved to stay for longer.
Location is minutes from the beach and you can step out of the hotel and across the road is a walk around Great Orme with fabulous cliff top views.
Our room was beautifully decorated as was the whole hotel.
We had one evening meal which was yummy.
I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The Clontarf is a few minutes from the centre of town so offers easy parking and a quiet neighbourhood. The hosts are welcoming and keen to make you stay as pleasant as possible. The decor throughout is interesting and reflects the hard work of the hosts in creating something a little different. We had a large luxury room with a super bed. The big problem was the heating which was not very efficent even after complaining of being cold. Breakfast and dinner was good with quick service and tasty food.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed for long weekend and can say it was a really lovely small and friendly hotel, the bedroom was wonderful and at breakfast you had a good choice of food to pick from and if you have an evening meal you will not be disappointed. Mark and Joni make you very welcome and we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Parking is really good too as no restrictions and it is only a 10 minute walk into Llandudno town centre, ideal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas9104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

An enjoyable weekend, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and well equipped - the beds very comfortable. We had the optional evening meals which were home cooked and very tasty.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wedge158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Top stay, had a superb room with room a high spec bathroom. Very good bathroom and ace breakfast. Would stay again DEFO! Thanks Mark & Joni.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing