We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Second time we have stayed at The Clontarf Hotel, Mark Joni and the staff work so hard to make this hotel special. The food is delicious , nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are very clean with lovely comfy beds. We hope to stay there again soon .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollywalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

It was my first trip to Llandudno and I dont know how the standard of alternative accommodation in the area compares, but with the quality and hospitality shown at The Clontarf, I wouldn't bother looking. It would I believe, take some beating. I'm only sorry it was a one night business trip and not a few days R&R.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMILES439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had a wonderful 2-night break at the Clontarf. The rooms are luxurious; the food delicious; and the standard of customer service faultless.

It is clear Joni and Mark put their heart and soul in to their business and it shows in every detail. This was our first visit but the volume of repeat business we saw during our stay speaks for itself. The hotel offers outstanding value for money right down to the bar tariff.

Thanks to everyone at the Clontarf for such a wonderful time!

Annette and Robert

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnetteGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

It was a treat to stay here. The rooms are lovely and really clean, the owners were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Clontarf to catch up with each other and catch some sea air too. The Clontarf is in a great location providing you with the West Shore on your doorstep and a nice gentle stroll to the more well-known promenade - weather permitting that is. We tackled said stroll in a blustery down-pour, which was fun! There are also two other fabulous walks straight from the door - one round the (bottom of) the Great Orme and one to Conwy.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Clontarf. The owners Joni and Mark couldn't be more helpful. They are both really friendly and genuine with it - as are the other staff too. In fact all the guests were friendly as well - it's that kind of place!

The rooms are all very well appointed with flat screen TVs, a good tea-tray, and fabulous en-suites with L'Occitane toiletries. And they are reasonably priced too. The lounge and dining room are both lovely and the food and service surpass expectations.

What's really refreshing about the Clontarf - which of course is down to the owners - is flexibility. Another friend decided to join us for a night and Joni and Mark allocated one of their large luxury doubles for single occupancy as it was the only room left. Not many other places would be so accommodating.

Hats off to Joni and Mark!

...Well maybe you should keep your hat on if it's raining....

Room Tip: Enchanted is enchanting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Affable_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel is clean, tastefull, breakfast is very good with lots to choose or indeed you can enjoy all that ison offer, great location, very peacefull, the hosts are very welcoming and helpfull

Room Tip: the provence room is small but very clean and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastMidlandsHartleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was our second visit to the Clontarf and it certainly lived up to our expectations from last year. Lovely rooms; menu and food are excellent. Joni, Mark and staff are really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a good location for us in a quiet road near to the West Shore. We had no problems parking the car. We're looking forward to our next visit to the Clontarf.

Tony and Marie
Warrington

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyandmarie140711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing