We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

As most others have said, this is a great place to stay if you are headed to Llandudno. It's on the less busy side of the city, but still just a short walk to the beach. Our room was large, clean but cozy. The bathroom was very modern and had a nice soaking tub. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and prepared as requested. There is plenty of free parking on the quiet street adjacent to the hotel. We found Llandudno to be an excellent base from which to explore Northern Wales. Our stay at the Clontarf was a plus to our time in this part of Great Britain.

Room Tip: If you can walk up several fights of stairs the room at the top facing the ocean is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a wonderful stay we were greeted by the owners who were very welcoming and shown to our room. A lovely room at the top of the building with a sleigh bed, an amazing shower, beautiful toiletries and the whole room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely.
Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibdabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel is in a quiet part of Llandudno and has plenty of free parking outside. On arrival Mark made us fell very welcome. The room that we choose was the smallest room and was OK for a short stay. When we return, however, we will pay the extra for a larger room.
The hotel is in an excellent decorative state, especially surprisingly as we visited at the end of the season.
The price of wine and drinks is very reasonable for a hotel.
We ate in the hotel for our first night as we did not want to search for a restaurant. The choice of food was good and the quality excellent. A 3 course suburb meal for £15 is great value. The menu varies each day as Mark & Joni provide a specials menu. The food was so good that we decided to eat in every day.
The atmosphere in the restaurant is very good and most guests talk to each other.
I would definitely visit this hotel again.

Mark & Joni are excellent hosts

Room Tip: Choose a larger room. The mountain view rooms have a better view than the sea viw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpletravelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

A fantastic small hotel with outstanding rooms and hosts. A very warm welcome awaited us by the staff & Mark. Lots of useful information about the area. An excellent breakfast with lots of choice was served to us by Joni. I don't think anyone would be disappointed with a stay at this hotel. It is excellent value for money

Room Tip: All 9 rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Just returned from our minibreak honeymoon (or minimoon) to Llandudno. On arrival, hotel is literally a stones throw from the beach, nice and quiet area looking onto the orme. Mark and Joni, the owners are a lovely couple. Make you feel welcome, chatty and if they can help you in any way they will. Also the waiter for the evening meal (who's name I didn't catch) is outstanding. Very polite, helpful and welcoming. An attribute that seems to be lost nowadays. Food is great and reasonably priced. Rooms are clean and well furnished. Decor in the place as a whole is very contemporary and tasteful. All in all we're planning a return at a later date, and would recommend to anyone. Definitely a hidden gem. Thanks Mark and Joni for a great mini break. Just what we needed!

Martyn and Nicola

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemoon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed recently for 3 nights in the Peony room. The room was well decorated and the bed provided the best nights sleep for ages. The ensuite contained a really powerful shower.
There was an excellent choice at breakfast which was efficiently served by Joni. The Clontarf is excellent value considering all the facilities provided. Mark and Joni are the perfect hosts, providing a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. If we are in Llandudno again we will stay at The Clontarf Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I had a lovely stay at the Clontarf Hotel and our Jack Russell, Peanut was made more than welcome.. We stayed in The Encharnted room, which was very comfortable with everything that you would need, including an i pod dock. We were served an excellent breakfast (there was even a sausage for Peanut, which she had in the room) and an very nice dinner in the evening which was great value for money. It is a great place to stay and we are much looking forward to our next visit. Joni and Mark are lovely people and made all three of us very welcome

Room Tip: going by comments made by other guests, all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thewrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoniStubbs-Thrush, Owner at The Clontarf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you very for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you all had a great stay with us, including Peanut! We are dog friendly and bieng a small hotel we consider all our guests comfort during their stays. So, with that in mind we allow one dog in the hotel at any one time, so we would always ask that guests who would like to bring their pampered pooch to call us in advance to check availability. Thank you, for staying with us. Joni & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
497 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £47 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing